We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“budapest getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The Sarah Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sarah Living Room
The Belle Living Room Sarah's balcony bistro for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
The Sarah Living Room
The Belle Living Room
Sarah's balcony bistro for two
Into the Sarah side of the apartment...
Sarah's Entry hall, Living room on right, wc ahead, bath left (unseen) , spa bag & umbrellas hanging
Walking into the Sarah living room
....
the Sarah kitchen from the living room
Sarah's Living room
...
...
...
...
...
...
....
...
2nd Kitchen
2nd Kitchen
Sarah's kitchen island
Looking to living room from the dining/reading/computer nook; bedroom up stairs on left
...
Sarah's reading corner
Sarah's Computer corner
Dining/reading nook (photo makes it look larger than it is, a cozy and comfy space)
...
Steps to the Sarah bedroom
...
The tiny Sarah bedroom, upstairs
Sarah's Bedroom
...
...
Sarah, the apartment's namesake
...
Sarah's Bathroom, shower on right
2nd Bathroom
....
2nd Bathroom
Sarah's bathroom vanity
Sarah's WC
Toilet
...
WC and Bathroom are off the entry vestibule ....
Door between Sarah and Belle opens off the Sarah dining area into Belle's living room.
Entry to the Belle side
Belle's Living Room, bedroom, and Kitchen, entering from Sarah (the two can be separated or joined)
Belle's Living Room and Kitchen, high-ceilinged loft bedroom upstairs
Living Room from the bedroom
...
Belle's Kitchen
...
The Belle dining area (dining table expands to seat 6)
Living Room and Kitchen
Belle's Kitchen
the kitchens are fully equipped...
Looking up into the Belle loft bedroom
Belle's bedroom (queen bed); small desk with computer and printer at left and offscreen
The Master Bedroom 2
looking down from Belle's bedroom
Belle's Bathroom
...
...
...
...
Belle and Sarah each have full-sized washers and dryers
Vestibule
Belle's front entry hall; Belle can also be joined to a 3rd apartment or bedroom -- Liesel
Belle's and Liesel's entry Terrace
Belle's Entrance (Liesel's entrance door is off, on right, Sarah's is at far end in distance)
Street
Szervita ter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
laura r
1 review
“budapest getaway”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We loved staying at Sarah. Not only was it pristine, the bed was absolutely magnificent to crash on after a long day of touring the beautiful city of Budapest. The apartment is centrally located and has an abundance of eating and shopping choices a short stroll away. Breakfast on the patio was delightful even in the month of March .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Budapest stay!”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our family of four (children ages 10 and 11) recently stayed in the Sarah, Belle, and Liesel/Pierre apartments with another family of five and were beyond impressed. Having all three apartment gave us all plenty of private space for the nine of us but nice areas to mingle and enjoy each other's company. The space could even be big enough for 3 families to fit. The amenities provided were way above what we expected and every detail was taken care of. We had wine, cheese, eggs, fruit, bread and desserts upon arrival. Internet, calls back to the US, comfortable beds and linens, plush towels, bath towels for the spa, umbrellas, games for the children, books of all kinds...the list goes on! The apartments are all welcoming and comfortable and make you feel at home and John, the owner, was available when we had any questions or needs. Location is right by a pleasant shopping and eating area and 5 mins to a metro but very quiet. We easily walked to most of the main sites. Long term parking is right across the street and places for money exchange around the corner. These properties are well worth every penny you will spend. John, thank you so much for making our stay perfect!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJ A
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Awesome Apartments in the heart of Budapest”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

These 3 separate by connectable one bedroom apartments are the perfect size and location for 3 couples or 4-5 friends with great privacy. Every amenity you would need is available free of additional charge, i.e. wifi, tv cable, free phone calls home to the US, chargers/adaptors, even contact lens solution, soap, shampoo, etc. The owner is extremely responsive to every question/need even though he lives in NYC. He does have 2 local contacts in Budapest that that help check in and even provide taxi ride to airport.
Everything you need! Even a bottle of wine, bread, cheese, eggs, and salami when you arrive on your first day, no additional charge. Not a big expense but an awesome touch!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindySTam...
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Beautiful apartments with every detail handled so that you feel at home in Budapest”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I stayed in Sarah, and my sister in Belle, for 4 nights. We wished that we had planned to stay longer. Everything exceeded our expectations – location, cleanliness, kitchen supplies and food/wine treats provided, electronics, etc. The reason that this is such a great place to stay is directly related to the hosts John Farrago and his wife Jeanne and the support network they have in place to manage the apartments and guests’ transportation in Budapest. They provide worry-free, beautiful accommodations that allow you to feel like a local.

I will not try to elaborate on all of the many amenities provided, as I am sure that John has included most of them in his published descriptions. If you have any questions, he is quick to provide a response. He will treat you like a friend staying in his vacation house, and as an added bonus, he will try to educate you about the history and culture of Hungary. I only say “try” because I did not finish all of my “assigned” reading before the trip. (Once you make your reservation, John will forward you all kinds of relevant information including reading lists, viewing lists, upcoming events, recommended restaurants, local entertainment, etc.)

I hope that we will be able to return to Budapest within in the next few years, and we already know that we want to stay in Sarah/Belle at that time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the architectural style of the apartments
Liked least: having so many locks to unlock and lock back when leaving and returning to the apt.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved Our Stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

John's recommendations made all the difference. From the taxi service from the train station to the outstanding restaurant recommendations, we knew we were in good hands. John stocked the apartment with extensive maps, directions and information on local sites.

We were met at the apartment by Ilona who gave us the keys and the lay of the land.

A fresh loaf of bread, local cheeses and a bottle of wine welcomed us as well as fresh eggs, coffee and a milk frother in a well appointed kitchen.

John's attention to detail borders on anal, in a good way.

Great location. If you like to explore the city by foot, Budapest is a terrific walking city and the apartments are centrally situated.

The accommodations are comfortable, ideal for either a short or lengthy stay. The apartment is situated on the top floor of the building, overlooking an open courtyard. (A bit tenuous for those with a fear of heights.) Entering and exiting requires more than one key, and despite its location fronting a commercial building, the apartment is quiet.

Staying here enhanced our visit to a locale where both the city and language were unfamiliar. It is not for those who require the hand-holding of a chain hotel. John's input allowed us to navigate the city independently, as a confident visitor as opposed to a deer-in-the-headlights tourist.

We would absolutely stay here on our next trip to Budapest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lovely apartment, wonderful hospitality
Liked least: Gates and doors to lock
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thursdays...
Cary, NC
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A wonderfully equipped apartment with a wealth of local info”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I enjoyed my stay in Liesel in 2011 so much, I was very much looking forward to staying next door in Belle, and I was not disappointed. It is hard to think of anything the owners have forgotten to provide, and anything about Budapest they have forgotten to put in the copious notes available both on their website and in hard copy in the apartment.

The location, on Szervita ter just one block from transport-hub Deak ter and two from the Danube, is excellent. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, and places to buy food, in walking distance.

As in Liesel, the apartment showed the owner's loving attention to detail, from the spa bag with extra (big) towels to the food in the fridge, from free calls to the US to the addictive Nespresso machine, it was truly a home away from home. The bed is comfortable, the water is hot, there are beautiful golden eggs in the fridge, bread and wine on the counter, capsules for the Nespresso machine, and plenty of pots, pans, cutlery and china.

The charger for my cell phone died during my visit, and the owner did everything he could to help with the problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: This apartment has a loft bedroom, if you have problems with steps book the one next door instead.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lennyg369
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“a wonderful adventure in budapest”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We love to travel and the best experiences are when we are able to live like the locals. John Farago provided that experience with comfort and style. The apartment was as fun to investigate as the city itself. We were greeted with an abundance of local treats as well as everything to do our own cooking. Even a close market with local ingredients for the cook books in the apartment. Many travel books of Buda and Pest were available in the apartment (we didn't need to carry books from home). John's building was one historic building mentioned in one of the books, we enjoyed an evening walking Pest and learning the local history. Also provided was a bath bag of everything you need to visit the local bath houses, an absolute must. The bath house is a short walk away and there is an amazing farmers market on the way. There are many things to see close to John's apartment, but if you want to travel farther John has recommended a local taxi service, the drivers were all prompt and courteous. John made wonderful suggestions of restaurants both within walking distance and across town. We were always greeted by locals and enjoyed wonderful food and wine.
We have recommended John's places to several friends (who have made reservations) and we hope to return to his place again in the near future. There are many more wonderful things in Budda and Pest and John's apartments are waiting for you to discover them.
This is a place that will live long in your memory of the best places you have ever stayed, it has for us. Len and Jo Lea Gutnik, Sioux Falls SD

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing