We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort & Affordability in a Central Location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
The dining area Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Living Room
The dining area
Living Room
Courtyard entry to Apartment Olive
Living Room
Gated door...
Living Room
Entering Apartment Olive
Living Room
The living room
Inner Courtyard
From the doorway...
Hallways
The 'American kitchen'
Inner Courtyard
Washer and microwave tucked into kitchen...
Inner Courtyard
Looking towards the doorway from the kitchen...
Kitchen
...
Kitchen
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
...
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Door to living room from bedroom...
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
The living room from the bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Inner Courtyard
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Inner Courtyard
The bedroom, bathroom door at rear, living room on right
...
Glass bricks bring light into the bathroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The bathroom...
Custom shower
Antique washstand
Bathroom chandelier
City Hall
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fred R
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfort & Affordability in a Central Location- What more could one ask for?”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our recent trip to Budapest was a huge success do to our stay at Apt. Olive-City Hall. Our apartment was incredibly comfortable, reasonably priced and amazingly situated in the center of Budapest. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding neighborhoods, which are filled with great eateries, stores and historic attractions. To make things even better, public transportation is right around the corner. I would highly recommend this location to anyone who is looking for an ideal place to stay while in Budapest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the coziness of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaunus
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Fabulous little apartment in the middle of Budapest which had everything we wanted and more. Lots of extras such as coffee and items in the fridge made it feel like home from home. Would recommend getting the taxi direct through John as it was so easy once we arrived in the city. The Christmas Markets were lovely with good atmosphere. I would recommend the Gerloczy Cafe and in particular the squid salad and hot and spicy pork ribs with green mustard lentils... gorgeous. Everything is well priced in the city and we struggled to spend our spending money. Fantastic little haven worth a visit and thank you John, Ilona and Alajos for making our stay so comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0lmes_SA
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular find!!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

John is THE most wonderful host and I was glad to have had the opportunity to meet him for a short chat. The booking, check-in and check out was efficient and well organized. Ilona, the manager, was most helpful and always willing to assist with anything that you would need during your stay. I spent a perfect one month in Budapest and I am sure that I would not have enjoyed it as much if I had not stayed here. The apartment is the perfect size for a couple. The bathroom is big and well designed. There are some some toothbrushes, floss, shaving cream, etc. in the cupboard. The room has a double bed and a pc with internet (superfast wifi), a webcam and headphones with a mike. I think John has set up a printer in the office next door as well. The apartment has a washing machine (and washing liquid), a drying rack, a travel iron, ironing board so you don't have to bother with a laundry. The central heating is really good! There's a nespresso machine with a lot of pods and a milk frother! There's a tv with english satellite channels (which you can also connect to the PC), a dvd machine with lots of dvds to choose from, a bookshelf with travel guides, some novels and board games. There's a landline that you can use for international calls to almost 60 countries i think. There's also a moblie phone with credit that comes in very handy! The kitchenette is perfect with an awesome stove, a micro, fridge/freezer and enough cutlery for four. John provides you with a few breakfast things like eggs, yogurt, pastries, salt, pepper, sugar, tea bags, etc. so you don't have to run around after a long flight! The location is PERFECT! 2 mins walking distance from the metro station, about 5mins from the main street Vaci ut, John gives you a good list of close restaurants and supermarkets and other shops that you might like.

Some advice for budapest: Do cash exchange in the city -- the rate they give you is almost the same as what you would google. The public transport system is excellent but it might make the city seem more complicated than it is. Walk around and try the free walking tour if you only have a few days in the city. They will show you the main sites and give you advice about more things to do. It runs twice everyday and is really excellent! The opera is a must see. I think it has the 3rd best acoustics in europe. The 4dx cinema is really cool! If you are a student from any country then go to the MUPA (palace of the arts) for any show that interests you and standing room tickets are only 500forints! They even let you sit if there are empty seats ;) A really good indian restaurant is the Taj mahal - decent prices and authentic food. If you are a student I think its definitely worthwhile to get the ISIC card or take your European student card because there are student discounts on public transport, cinemas, baths, museums, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! But the bathroom and overall size of the apartment was perfect.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ0905
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Fabulous little apartment in the middle of Budapest which had everything we wanted and more. Lots of extras such as coffee and items in the fridge made it feel like home from home. Would recommend getting the taxi direct through John as it was so easy once we arrived in the city. The Christmas Markets were lovely with good atmosphere. I would recommend the Gerloczy Cafe and in particular the squid salad and hot and spicy pork ribs with green mustard lentils... gorgeous. Everything is well priced in the city and we struggled to spend our spending money. Fantastic little haven worth a visit and thank you John, Ilona and Alajos for making our stay so comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little extras that made it feel like home
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VT
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chicago
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georgia C
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, helpful information provided, great amenities”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Subject: Apt Olive at City Hall: Leafy Refuge in the Center
Location: Budapest, Central Hungary, Hungary, Europe
Title: Great location, spacious yet cozy, fully equiped apartment
ID#: 185198657

· Excellent location in Budapest. Very short walks to important sites in the city and very convenient to public transportation, which is easy to use in Budapest. Early 20th century building (my guess) with five stories and a large central courtyard.

· The apartment itself was warm, spacious yet cozy, beautifully appointed and very charming. A lovely lady met us precisely at the agreed time to provide keys, information about the apartment and the area.

· Of particular note, John has equipped the apartment with a marvelous library of books and videos about Budapest and Hungary.

· The apartment was also equipped with an excellent TV and phones that can be used for local calls and a phone that can be used (free of charge) for international calls. We were able to call our children in the States a couple of times.

· John very graciously supplied the apartment with eggs, pastries, cheese, sausage slices and a bottle of wine. This was so thoughtful and "above and beyond". Also available were a few umbrellas in case of rain (and ponchos as well) although save for one drizzly day when we were inside visiting the Museum of Terror ( a "must see" ) we had wonderful early autumn weather.

· During our 3 ½ weeks in Eastern/Central Europe we visited seven countries. Budapest was our favorite location (closely followed by Prague). Why?: Proud yet friendly people, very cosmopolitan; magnificent architecture and an obvious commitment to restoring 18th and 19th century buildings that were neglected during the Communist era; excellent food, wine and beer and a reviving "café culture" that we fully participated in during our short stay; a rich, fascinating history. I could go on and on.

· Recommended locations to visit: Matthias Church (magnificently restored after suffering severe damage and neglect during WW II and the Communist era), Fisherman's Bastion, Gellart Hill (climb to the top for stunning views of Buda and Pest), Hero's Square, Central Market Hall, Parliament Building (take the guide tour of the interior), St. Stephen's Basilica, the Jewish Quarter and Great Synagogue, Szechenyi Thermal Baths, Vajdahunyad Castle (not really a castle but a collection of recreated architectural styles from Hungary's past few centuries. A little "touristy" but worth a visit)

· Recommended places to eat and drink-Rezlakas Bistro, just around the corner from Olive Apartments (delicious Hungarian food and music; we ate there twice). Kit Szerecen, a nice bistro with outdoor seating for a light lunch of tapas or salads. Gerbeaud, a landmark pastry shop extraordinaire. Gerloczy Café and Restaurant for good, traditional Hungarian food. Auguszt Pastry House, just around the corner from Olive Apartments. In my opinion, even better than Gerbeaud), The New York Café in the opulent, now Italian owned Boscolo Hotel. (The restoration of this café was way over the top and although a bit garish and pricey, it's a fun place to go for a late afternoon snack and coffee). The cavernous, beautiful Book Café in Lotz Hall of the relatively recently restored Parizsi Nagyaruhaz (Paris Department Store). Go in the late afternoon for sandwiches and coffee when a pianist fills the place with beautiful music.

· Other Recommended activities: Attend the opera at the Hungarian State Opera House. A breathtaking interior. We attended a sold out performance of La Traviata at 11 AM on a Sunday morning. Ticket prices are very reasonable compared to New York or Boston. Take a 45 minute ride on an HEV railway train from the Batthyany ter Station to the ancient, beautiful, Baltic-influenced town of Szentendre, situated on the Danube Bend. Do not go on a weekend if you can avoid it as it will be over-run by tourists and day tripping Budapesters. We went during the week and it was pleasantly tranquil. Enjoy lunch in Szentendre at Promenade Vendeglo Tavern, near the Danube. (Try their unique cold plum soup!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing