We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”
Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Ranked #45 of 3,237 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Terézváros
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very happy”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were recommended here by the lady at the Opera Garden Hotel nearby and were not disappointed. It's obviously a popular place, but they found us a table and the manager took our order and was helpful with the wine choice. I had the goulash and my wife had the duck, both cooked perfectly with pommes dauphinoise and dumplings.

After the meal the manager was chatting to us and when I asked him what palinka was (sort of brandy/schnapps - Hungarian speciality) he happily produced a complimentary glass.

A very good restaurant. Not cheap but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    261
    60
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very good service, great atmosphere and good food.
Nice and cozy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was in Budapest for only one week and we actually came here twice.

The first time was for a special goose dinner. The goose dinner was fantastic. The goose was perfectly cooked and very tasty, and what seemed like very modest sides (mashed potatoes, steamed red cabbage) were actually REALLY AWESOME. Seriously, best cabbage I've ever eaten. The appetizer (foie gras and goose fat) was delicious but the portion size was enormous and somewhat intimidating. Not bad though, considering that it was the only complaint about the meal. We also had wonderful desserts and lovely Hungarian wine pairings.

We were so excited about this first meal at Cafe Bouchon that we returned two nights later to eat a meal from the regular menu. I had an entree from the daily specials, a pork tenderloin with ramps, and once again it definitely did not disappoint.

This place has wonderful food but the part that really made it superlative was the service. We were mostly served by the manager, Lajos, and he clearly cares deeply about his job and making customers happy. Reading the English translations of dishes on the menu made them sound good, but when he would describe them for us I wanted every single dish.

If I'm ever back in Budapest, this will be the first place I come to.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queequegx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Without a doubt a must”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A real gem in the heart of Pest, not cheap, but worth it!
Their Goose Liver is a legend, the Pepper Steak is one of the best steaks in town, and I haven't heard of anyone who was disappointed from a dish there for almost 7 years.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ygmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Subtle complete service with excellent food.”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was referred by a friend and took his word for it. I wrote an E Mail to reserve a table and gave exact instructions for a certain wine, how it is to look upon entering, with decanter and hors d'oeuvres, I also ordered a cake for desert with a candle on it.
I needed to say nothing upon my entering, all was set up and ready to go, very impressive. The waiter spoke near perfect English and referred us to the daily menu.
I ordered the Veal neck with rye potatoes and spinach, my Finance ordered the duck with home made potato dumplings and cherries. I have seldom had such a fine piece of meat, never in Budapest.
I can highly recommend this restaurant, especially if you have a special request, incredible!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing