We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all very sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Apartments Budapest
Ranked #387 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It was only a one night stay but it was very pleasant. Though we arrived much later than planned (quite late in the night) the manager Zsolt, a very courteous and charming young man, was there to greet us and show us around.
Great location right in the heart of Budapest.
I like:-)

Room Tip: We had a choice of the the green studio or the pink room. The green one we stayed in was more my thi...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

The apartments are very stilish, fully equipped and very well situated (just 100 meters from Corvin Ter, in a lively area of the city), but, unfortunately, not properly maintained.
We booked 4 nights and the first night the manager gave us the "pink" room; apart from the decoration, which I really didn't like it (but it's just my taste...), the real problem was the terrible smell in the blind bathroom, which quickly invaded all the room, forced us to stay all night long in a very poor condition!
The morning after we asked the manager to change us the room and he gave us the "green" apartment: very nice, huge and airy, although, again, not perfectly clean.

On the other hand the price is absolutely affordable, the interior is cozy and the position is just perfect...just ask for the rooms faced in the street (not those - the pink and the brown - courtyard, which is narrow and derelict) and check for the cleanliness before to accept the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Booked for four nights. Was emailed and asked for an arrival time. I gave 1.30pm and was at the property at that time. There was no one there. After trying (at international roaming rates) to call the owner with no luck he finally arrived (15 minutes late).

At checking in I was advised that he can not accept card payments, but only cash payments. I (stupidly) paid in cash and was not given an invoice/receipt.

The pictures of the apartments are old and show a nice new clean finish. They are now run down and dirty/unclean now. The lounge smelt of cigarette smoke and had hairs all on it. The floor had balls of dirt fluff/hair and you could feel the dirt under your feet when you walked bare footed. The bathroom looked clean, however there was a foul stench due to the exhaust fan not working (internal bathroom). Upon further inspection there was mould growing in the tiles. The bed had hairs, fluff and smelt foul. The bedding did not feel nor smell clean. The walls next to the bed are filthy. On the second night after seeing all of this my skin was crawling.

Tried to get an early nights sleep, however this was impossible. The bed is uncomfortable (a mattress on top of Coca-Cola crates). The noise from next door was unbelievable. An old couple that argued. The yelling stopped at 11:45pm. At 2am there was a noise outside. I found that it was the person in the neighbouring Design Apartment looking for the fuse box due to the power going. He had no way of contacting the owner as there is no phone in the apartment and his international roaming was not working. Being an emergency I tried to call the owner 4 times - no answer. I sent a text, but no response.

I woke up at 7:30am and still no power. The smelly bathroom is internal therefore I had to leave without having a shower due to the darkness. I tried to call the owner again - no response. After searching through emails and finding his "private mobile" number and calling it (and there still being no answer), he finally sent me a text at 8.30am - more then 6 hours after raising the issue of no power.

That night I arrived back and there was power HURRAH! Again I tried to get an early night, but the couple yelling next door ran to 12:30am - then it started again at 4:30am. At this point I had had enough! The dirty smelly bed, the dirty apartment and then the noise.

I sent the owner a text in the morning advising him that I was not happy with the power cut, the noise and the dirty apartment and requested that my final two nights be refunded. I thought this was a more then a reasonable request considering the power cut and the condition of the apartment He refused.

If I had paid by card I would have had payment protection and could have got my bank to hold part payment. Unfortunately cash payment I can not.

I have raised the cash only issue with Expedia as the hotel information states that cards are accepted.

It is a cheap apartment, but being a regular to Budapest there are other cleaner, nicer apartments in the same area for the same price.

I would suggest avoid the Design Apartments.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gazzzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The price and location (near a subway station) were good but the staff could have been nicer (when we got there there was no one to greet us, so we had to wait for a while for them to come and open us the door and they wouldn't keep our bags after we checked out - our flight back home was much later, so we had to leave our bags in a museum) and the appartment wasn't perfectly clean (specially the bath towels and sheets/blankets)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alicia_caldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVIL_UJIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hnbwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzsolt, Tulajdonos at Design Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cerca del centro de la ciudad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzsolt, Tulajdonos at Design Apartments Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,482 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,351 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#32 of 672 in Budapest
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Apartments Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Apartments Budapest

Address: 30 Ulloi Road | 1st Floor, Door 6, Doorbell 14, Budapest 1085, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $73 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Design Apartments Budapest 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESIGN APARTMENTS BUDAPEST. Exclusive Design Apartments is waiting for your visit with great conditions in the heart of Budapest. Four brand new, comfortable and spacious design apartments with everything you need for your holiday. All the apartments are locating in extremely good transfer point, in the center of Budapest. THE STYLE OF THE DESIGN APARTMENT: The forming of the style of the apartment happened to the collaboration of Apartment Design and Neopaint Group. The furniture of the apartment was inspired by famous designers and they were purchased through the ABCHome Furniture Store assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Apartments Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing