We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
5
9
4
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
9
4
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was only a one night stay but it was very pleasant. Though we arrived much later than planned (quite late in the night) the manager Zsolt, a very courteous and charming young man, was there to greet us and show us around.
Great location right in the heart of Budapest.
I like:-)

Room Tip: We had a choice of the the green studio or the pink room. The green one we stayed in was more my thing.
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The apartments are very stilish, fully equipped and very well situated (just 100 meters from Corvin Ter, in a lively area of the city), but, unfortunately, not properly maintained.
We booked 4 nights and the first night the manager gave us the "pink" room; apart from the decoration, which I really didn't like it (but it's just my taste...), the real problem was the terrible smell in the blind bathroom, which quickly invaded all the room, forced us to stay all night long in a very poor condition!
The morning after we asked the manager to change us the room and he gave us the "green" apartment: very nice, huge and airy, although, again, not perfectly clean.

On the other hand the price is absolutely affordable, the interior is cozy and the position is just perfect...just ask for the rooms faced in the street (not those - the pink and the brown - courtyard, which is narrow and derelict) and check for the cleanliness before to accept the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked for four nights. Was emailed and asked for an arrival time. I gave 1.30pm and was at the property at that time. There was no one there. After trying (at international roaming rates) to call the owner with no luck he finally arrived (15 minutes late).

At checking in I was advised that he can not accept card payments, but only cash payments. I (stupidly) paid in cash and was not given an invoice/receipt.

The pictures of the apartments are old and show a nice new clean finish. They are now run down and dirty/unclean now. The lounge smelt of cigarette smoke and had hairs all on it. The floor had balls of dirt fluff/hair and you could feel the dirt under your feet when you walked bare footed. The bathroom looked clean, however there was a foul stench due to the exhaust fan not working (internal bathroom). Upon further inspection there was mould growing in the tiles. The bed had hairs, fluff and smelt foul. The bedding did not feel nor smell clean. The walls next to the bed are filthy. On the second night after seeing all of this my skin was crawling.

Tried to get an early nights sleep, however this was impossible. The bed is uncomfortable (a mattress on top of Coca-Cola crates). The noise from next door was unbelievable. An old couple that argued. The yelling stopped at 11:45pm. At 2am there was a noise outside. I found that it was the person in the neighbouring Design Apartment looking for the fuse box due to the power going. He had no way of contacting the owner as there is no phone in the apartment and his international roaming was not working. Being an emergency I tried to call the owner 4 times - no answer. I sent a text, but no response.

I woke up at 7:30am and still no power. The smelly bathroom is internal therefore I had to leave without having a shower due to the darkness. I tried to call the owner again - no response. After searching through emails and finding his "private mobile" number and calling it (and there still being no answer), he finally sent me a text at 8.30am - more then 6 hours after raising the issue of no power.

That night I arrived back and there was power HURRAH! Again I tried to get an early night, but the couple yelling next door ran to 12:30am - then it started again at 4:30am. At this point I had had enough! The dirty smelly bed, the dirty apartment and then the noise.

I sent the owner a text in the morning advising him that I was not happy with the power cut, the noise and the dirty apartment and requested that my final two nights be refunded. I thought this was a more then a reasonable request considering the power cut and the condition of the apartment He refused.

If I had paid by card I would have had payment protection and could have got my bank to hold part payment. Unfortunately cash payment I can not.

I have raised the cash only issue with Expedia as the hotel information states that cards are accepted.

It is a cheap apartment, but being a regular to Budapest there are other cleaner, nicer apartments in the same area for the same price.

I would suggest avoid the Design Apartments.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gazzzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The price and location (near a subway station) were good but the staff could have been nicer (when we got there there was no one to greet us, so we had to wait for a while for them to come and open us the door and they wouldn't keep our bags after we checked out - our flight back home was much later, so we had to leave our bags in a museum) and the appartment wasn't perfectly clean (specially the bath towels and sheets/blankets)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alicia_caldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews