We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent light lunch”

21 Hungarian Kitchen
Ranked #302 of 3,774 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District I / Buda
Description: Hungarian cuisine from the "good old days" gets a modern update at 21. The dishes maintain all the rich flavors of their original preparations, but here they are lighter, celebrating fresh ingredients from the farmer's market. This is an old-fashioned, quality Hungarian restaurant re-imagined through a modern lens.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

We were searching for places to eat in Buda on a hot day and stumbled on this place. I had a great chilled cucumber soup with crispy goat cheese, and my husband loved his goulash soup.
It seems to do typical hungarian specialties in a way that may suit those searching for something "lighter".
We loved it and will be returning for a more extensive meal on a future visit

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at 21 Hungarian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Dear OxfordJulieT,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are really happy that you chose our restaurant and that you like our soups! Our restaurantʼs goal is to deliver an immaculate experience every day to our valued guests and I am glad to read that we succeeded.
We look forward to seeing you again at your visit.

Kind regards,
Márk Bense
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 1,388 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2017

The Castle district has dozens of traditional Hungarian restaurants, most serve nearly the same fare, hearty with the regular dishes the region is known for.

We happened to stumble onto 21 one evening, while trolling for something a little different. While the menu features many local favorites, it also features plenty of twists on them, and the preparation is fantastic. There is clearly a chef here who thinks about the food, not just someone preparing traditional favorites.

We ended up being waited on by the manager, who was terrific, and was working his butt off to keep everything moving along with the rest of the staff. Their attention to their patrons was not lost on us. It was a busy night, nearly every table was taken with what seemed like regulars (always a good sign), and we ended up sitting inside, which was a bit warm, but cooled off as the breeze came and went.

The food was really excellent, and was clearly prepared to order. We weren't in a hurry, and the excellent Hungarian wines we were drinking kept us happy anyway. Each dish was great, including the original appetizers.

All in all, a wonderful evening for our family, a great meal, and we were taken care of by extremely well. Would go back any time we're in Budapest

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nanohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at 21 Hungarian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Dear nanohead,

Thank you so much for choosing 21 as well as taking time to write such a detailed review. We are also really glad that you highlighted the hard work of our staff, we really appreciate it.
Hope you wil be back soon in Budapest and also in 21.

Best regards,
Márk Bense
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2017

We had a lovely dinner here it feels relaxed and yet the service was that of a 5* restaurant. Would definitely recommend the Duck, it was so tender and the best I've ever had.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank suree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at 21 Hungarian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Dear suree,

Thank you so much for the 5* review and your recommendation of the duck. It makes us feel very happy that we could make your dinner a special one.
I hope you will visit us again when you are around!

Best regards,
Márk Bense
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by the hotel where we were staying (which also owns it) and I was slightly skeptical. But the food was very good - often traditional Hungarian dishes but given a modern or lighter twist, without losing the taste!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank IanIreneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at 21 Hungarian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Dear IanIreneG,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, we are happy that you were satisfied with our restaurant.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Márk Bense
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2017

Really liked the dishes, the wine selection was good and the staff were really friendly. We were so impressed that we returned, which is worthy of mention as we were only in Budapest for three nights.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samlY1834AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zsidaigroup, Vezető at 21 Hungarian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Dear Sam L,

Thank you for the review, we are really thrilled to hear that you visited us twice during your short visit in Budapest. Your feedback means the ultimate recognition to us! Hope you will return to Budapest and also to 21 in the near future!

Kind regards,
Márk Bense
Restaurand manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 21 Hungarian Kitchen also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to 21 Hungarian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing