We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern nice hotel outside downtown of Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Budapest City Center
Ranked #51 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modern nice hotel outside downtown of Budapest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights (free stay from point redemption) on our weekend trip to sunny Budapest, mind you it was snowing in Stockholm, but felt like Summer in Budapest!

Anyway, the hotel is a little bit far away from the danube river, and really it was nothing around the hotel worth visiting. We were able to walk to the rive (about 25-30 minutes), which was a nice walk along the street.

Very friendly reception staff, very accommodating waiters in the restaurant and bar. All very helpful and smiling.Good breakfast, and clean rooms; not much more you can ask for while on short trip.

Free wireless internet in the lobby is a plus.

Overall a very nice stay and excellent quality for the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klein_carmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    443
    105
    19
    11
See reviews for
142
388
87
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Really nice modern hotel in a reasonably central part of Pest. Only 22 euros taxi in from airport and 15 min walk to Keleti station. The room we were in had two double beds. Breakfast wonderful with very good selection. Best we have had in Hungary. In total it felt pretty close to an American hotel transplanted! Only word of caution be careful of the prices of the goods in their small shop next to reception. Go outside to a local shop and save a fortune

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I'm just coming back from my stay at the Courtyard in Budapest and I was very satisfied with almost everything. The hotel is located not far away from the city center and it doesn't take long to walk there. On the other hand the tram and the metro both stop in front of the hotel, so that I can't complain about the location. The hotel is very new and everything is very clean. Our room had two single beds, which were very big, but don't expect luxury.
The breakfast had a good selection of cold and hot items.
I think that this hotel has an extraordinary value for a very low price.
I didn't like that the reception called me at midnight, woke me up with this call and then told me that she dialed the wrong number!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great central location in Pest. Easy to find and get to by public transport. A few stops on tram 6 from Nyugati station and on the red underground line. Modern well maintained hotel, tastefully decorated with a newly furnished feel about it. Our room on the 3rd floor was large and very nice. Bathroom is a reasonable size, modern and very clean. Nice walk in shower, with large shower head. Toilet is unusually high off the ground, but ideal for tall people. Large flat screen telly in room. Films and internet via TV cost extra. There is no wi-fi in the rooms, but there is wired broadband, which might have an associated cost, but not sure because we didn't use it. Wi-fi is available free in the reception and bar area and it worked well when we used it for internet browsing. The room we had faced the road and whilst the windows are double glazed, if you are a light sleeper or have trouble getting to sleep, you may hear the trams going past late at night and early in the morning. If so ask for a room facing inwards or at the back or side of the hotel. The windows stretch from ceiling to floor and we had a good view over Jozsef krt. The beds are comfortable and our double was very big. The rooms can get quite hot, but there is air conditioning if you need it. We didn't use it and so we don't know how good it is. The staff were very friendly and really helpful and they all speak good English. They were very knowledgeable when we asked questions about where to eat, drink and sight see in Budapest. They lent us towels when we went to the spa baths and always greeted us politely when we came or went. We had breakfast included and we thought it was excellent. It was buffet style, but it had a great selection of hot and cold food. There was continental style cheese and meat, as well as English style bacon, scrambled eggs etc, as well as fresh fruit, fresh bread, cereal, dried fruit and prunes, yogurt etc and you can eat as much as you want. We found we didn't really need to eat again until the evening, because the breakfast was so good. We really thought it was fantastic. There is a mini bar in the room, but is left empty and if you want to you can buy drinks and other stuff from next to reception and fill the mini bar yourself. However, it doesn't work out cheap if you buy stuff for the mini bar at the hotel. It cost us about £6 for a big bottle of water and a small bottle of Pepsi. You are better off going to a nearby shop for nibbles and drink if you want it. We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, but if breakfast is anything to go by, it is probably very good. There is a sauna and steam room on the 6th floor, open all the time, but there is no swimming pool. The bar area adjoins reception and is in front of the restaurant, it is all open plan and probably designed more for the business traveler, but it is still very pleasant.
We thought this hotel was excellent value for money and we really couldn't fault anything. we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side and back are probably quieter, but the rooms at the front have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GulliverRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Nice, clean, well furnished. nice breakfast (we took the "american".) the location was great for us-we walked anywhere: in the morning about 20min to the river, in the evening 10 minutes to the restaurants and clubs area in the 7th (Jewish) quarter.
we didn't like: 1. amenities: only shampoo, conditioner and regular soap (not liquid), and even that was not renewed everyday. on the other hand, when we asked for service (more pillows), it arrived fast and with a smile.
2. We booked the room through Marriott website that offered the lowest package with 3(!) different room rates for 4 nights. only when we arrived we noticed not all of them included breakfast. confusing and not at all clear..

Room Tip: If you are facing the street, there is a lot of noise (tram) if the window is open. If you keep it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinala_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Recently booked a room for 2 nights at this property. Being Marriott Rewards Silver "elite", I got an upgraded "deluxe" room. The room was new, spacious and modern but lacking character. Flat screen TV, large bathroom with new shower unit. Very contemporary bright furniture that you expect from Courtyard Marriott properties. Breakfast plentiful. Lobby area very spacious and bright. Location central.

On the down side - location is rather noisy in the evenings (Blaha Lujza square is an important crossroads for dozens of buses and trams) so ask for a room overlooking courtyard if you want complete quiet. It's also not the cleanest part of Budapest with some homeless and drunks hanging out there.

Staff were helpful and friendly enough without being outstanding.

But given the very attractive room rate (69 euro + tax) incl. breakfast, this is a great option for budget conscious travellers and adequate also for business people.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

on a business trip found this hotel to be very pleasant, in good city location, not noisy. High cealings give it a nice spacious feeling.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Budapest City Center

Property: Courtyard Budapest City Center
Address: Jozsef korut 5., Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Budapest
#39 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#51 Family Hotel in Budapest
#52 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Courtyard Budapest City Center enjoy a convenient location in the centre of the city, on Blaha Lujza Square with its metro, bus and tram stops. Each room in the Courtyard Budapest City Centre offers high-speed wired and wireless internet access, a well-lit work desk and an ergonomic chair. Tea and coffee making facilities can be found in every room as well. The Oléo Pazzo Mediterranean bistro, awaits you for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When you are in a hurry, you can visit the Grab 'n' Go Shop for a snack, open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Budapest City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing