We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cool small hotel with great ambiance.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brody House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brody House
Ranked #2 of 186 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cool small hotel with great ambiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a great place - the owners call the interior style 'rough lux' ~ my American mother used to call the same style 'shabby chic'; call it what you will, but it's definitely cool. From the innovative and abundant art to the unique champagne-bottle-gravity-door-closers (you have to see them to understand) this small hotel exudes originality and panache. It's like staying with a friend for a big house party, and spending more time meeting your friend's friends than your friend.
The rooms are all different, and each is interesting and well appointed.
There's WiFi but no flat screens showing CNN - thank goodness!
As eclectic as it is cheerful and welcoming, Brody House has charming and helpful staff and I defy anyone to come away regretting having stayed here.
Ordinary it isn't. And you won't meet any ordinary people there. And don't be surprised if you meet incognito musicians or actors on a working trip to Budapest - it's that sort of 'secret' place.
To sum up: it has a sort of amusingly haphazard air which just compounds its charm.
Fantastic.

Room Tip: The room with the gold roll-top bath is pretty special. But don't be obsessed to have that room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grantski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    45
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
311
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

What I loved about Brody House was not only the extremely beautifully decorated rooms and the friendliness of the staff but the incredible effort put into attention to detail.

Going over to Budapest for the first time (from Scotland) I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks to Brody House and the helpfulness of the staff, very handy location, extremely comfortable bedrooms and very relaxing atmosphere I had a very memorable experience and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tepper room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Brody House is an extremely interesting place, set in a beautifully renovated building from the 1800s, it offers displays of modern art, photography and music from across Europe. For the budding artist and creative traveller I would highly recommend. They offer large communal areas to relax in and often put on entertaining social events. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Both comfortable and central to the main attractions in Budapest, I would come back again anytime, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackthelad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCBerkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Booked Brody based on Tripadvisor reviews and hotels's website. We were not disappointed.

The location is perfect for exploring central Budapest with tram, metro & bus routes just a short stroll away.

On arrival we were immediately offered a free room upgrade. The room given to us was really unique and something we will always remember. Very spacious, high ceilings with numerous ecclectic pieces of furniture that all just 'worked' in this environment. The important items like the bed/linen were top quality and resulted in an excellent quality nights' sleep. We also found the room was warm and quiet. Good bathroom with plenty of hot water and good quality fittings.

We took breakfast once in the common area which was good quality continental, with friendly service.

The reception staff were particularly helpful and probably the best I've ever had with a full introduction given in our room including a well thought out welcome pack. The individual restaurant recommendations in this were so useful and led us to some individual restaurants off the tourist trail.

It would be hard to fault Brody House but I feel it's important to understand before arrival that this is not a traditional set up and Brody House only occupies certain parts of the building in which it operates. This suited us well, and
in fact added to the atmosphere but may put some people off, particularly on arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This place is just a must! Lovely rooms, great staff, great food, a really interesting mix of people passing through who really made our trip. The chilled-out and very chic common areas are great fun to hang out in at any time of day and the owners and other staff were only too happy to accommodate any strange or inconvenient requests. The social scene is welcoming and inspiring and I genuinely could not recommend this place highly enough to anyone coming to Budapest, whether or not you know the city. Hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire,England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Large bedroom. No sign it was a small hotel from the outside but the airport taxi found it .
Interesting conversion of an old house , mixing new bathrooms with old rooms and different artists works in each bedroom ..
Helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I don't necessarily state I will be back to a place, but there's no doubt the great Brody House team will see me again, and hopefully soon. I've travelled to many different places, almost literally to the 4 corners of the world, and have lost the count by now (really mean it!). Accommodation ranging from extreme luxury to extreme basics. From amazing palace rooms to basic tents. Brody house cannot be described, it must be experienced! If you are curious, like urban style, have good taste, a good dose of common sense and like to be nicely surprised by the uncommon, don't think twice, choose Brody House in your next visit to Budapest. Like me you will want to be back.

Room Tip: Don't worry, just let yourself be surprised by the experience of staying at any of the rooms. Ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAL Masferrer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,373 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#4 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brody House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brody House

Property: Brody House
Address: Brody Sandor utca 10, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brody House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brody House is Budapest's first private members' club and private guesthouse, offering international travellers (members & non-members) an intriguing hip place to stay. With eight individually designed double bedrooms and an apartment, each showcasing the work of young contemporary artists, Brody House offers something unique. With fairly priced room furnished in a ruggedly elegant style, Brody House is a hip yet intimate base in central downtown Pest, offering guests discreet personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Brody House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brody House Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing