We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“really quaint and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santico Art Hostel and Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santico Art Hostel and Guesthouse
Ranked #121 of 640 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“really quaint and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

So its not exactly five star, but the hospitality of the lady who runs the place is great. The rooms are really nicely decorated; small but cosy. Super close to the Danube. Easy to cross the bridge to Pest. Really well priced. I also like to stay somewhere that feels homey.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

we've stayed a few times and overall it was great. one time we got a separate apartment completely renovated and equipped with brand new stuff of everything we could need.
has a great location in Buda close to the Danube with a perfect view of the Parliament on the other side as well as the Buda Castle.
in the area there are lot's of cafe's and restaurants and it's also close to public transportation that can get you anywhere in the city.
would stay anytime especially in the separate fully equipped apartment

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feri_szasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Stayed for one night at this establishment after booking it on hostelbookers.com. In brief, the place is a humble budget guesthouse and if you are willing to go along with that then it's fine because it serves the purpose.

It delivered on the main necessities namely in providing a safe roof and since I was only there for one night this wa snot such an issue. However, I'm not sure I would stay there again. The owner is helpful but has a family to tend to and is frequently absent on private errands. For example, when I arrived it was a grey day and there was chill wind blowing. The taxi dropped me off at the main door and despite ringing the bell twice or thrice I could not get in. The hostel is connected to a restaurant and the cook came to open the door and could not understand a word of english but thankfully still seemed to understand what I was trying to tell him. He called the owner (who speaks English) and the owner showed up 15minutes later apologising for being out on an errand. That was the worst aspect so if you are thinking of going there I suggest getting a contact number to call the owner in case of there is no one to open the main door.

Otherwise, the owner is actually a helpful and warm person and if it wasn't for the lack of a stable reception arrangement I would certainly be more positive about this place.

The bedroom was plain and clean. The mattress was hard and the pillows limp and nearly flat. I'd say it would be difficult to sleep on it for more than one or two nights really. I was lucky to have an ensuite bathroom (all the other rooms share a communal bathroom) but the ensuite was really tight and narrow with a shower, sink and toilet in an area around 2mt x 0.75mt. The shared bathroom is definitely better as it was bigger and so more comfortable to use.

One final thing: the rooms all look on to an internal courtyard and there is noise coming from the kitchen on the ground level and the apartments on the upper level (which seemed to be used by the owner's family). So if you are a light sleeper this may cause an issue.

Re location, there's a metro stop a few metres away from the hotel (Batthyhany) and it's easy to get to the city centre (Deak Ferenc). A one-way ticket is around HUF 320. There's also a small supermarket round the block and I found the best exchange rate at the kiosk on the first floor (the aged female attendant is however a real sour puss).

In general, prices in tourist areas will be much higher so keep an eye out as your budget may finish before you are even half way through your vacation. The best idea is to get supplies from supermarkets or open air food markets.

If you want to go shopping please watch out for tourist traps like Vaci Utca (Vaci Street). Most souvenir shops are terrifically overpriced and they can be a right rip off if you're not careful. I suggest you have a good look around and compare prices before buying. There are open air markets for food and clothing in the centre where you can buy cheaper.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the central yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

This hostel is very cozy and patio is very nice! Charming place.
The hosts were very helpful and kind to us, I felt like they were our parents=)
We lived in a double room and we had a shared bathroom and a kitchen with only 1 more room so it was fine. I'd advise the hosts to change curtains because our window was on the street side and we couldn't close curtains normally for changing clothes.
Location of the hostel is really good, it's near subway and train station what is very comfortable for everybody who goes to Sziget festival. There is also a picturesque view of the Parliament building on the other side of the river. Buda Castle is within walking distance.
So, this hostel was a real value-for-money!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knight_of_Cydonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#54 of 340 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#46 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Oleander Hostel
Oleander Hostel
#351 of 640 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#85 of 640 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#43 of 640 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santico Art Hostel and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santico Art Hostel and Guesthouse

Property: Santico Art Hostel and Guesthouse
Address: Iskola ter 31, Budapest 1214, Hungary (Formerly Antique Guest House and Hostel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 640 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing