We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bo18 Hotel Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bo18 Hotel Superior
Ranked #19 of 339 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Bo18 is a great choice for anyone going to Budapest - very good and very clean rooms with all the requirements that could be needed. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - they could not do enough for us. Breakfast is very good for a continental hotel. There are also some low cost a la carte choices but they all start with ‘Egg’.

The staff recommended a Bar Restaurant 5 mins away on the main road called Sext for me to try the local beer and my wife loved it as well since the food was excellent, atmosphere good and prices reasonable.

Also 2 mins away is the very modern mall - Corvin - if anybody needs retail therapy.

The public transport system blew me away! Metro is 5 mins away from Bo18 and they run every 2 mins to the centre. We purchased 3 day tourist tickets that cost about £10.50 each for 72 hours. We made great use of it and also used them on the trams that also ran every 2 mins and connected with other trams, trolley bus, bendy bus, bendy trolley bus and even ordinary buses such that we were able to look round a lot of the city. For instance there is a trolley bus that takes you around and about before being able to drop off at the Market Hall - and what a place that is! Look out for the fish tanks in the basement!

It is very easy to get around and you are very unlikely to get lost. Even if you do many now speak at least a little English and are keen to help. Needless to say we saw all the main tourist attractions but the Danube and its surrounds were the best. The most poignant site is that of the symbolic Jewish shoes on the side of the Danube outside the Parliament. However if you go to the Parliament building first it is very difficult to get to the river edge as the tram line and a very busy road are in between. Best way to approach it is by walking along the river footpath from Roosevelt Ter.

Coffee and cakes are a must - Gerbeaud in Vorsmarty Ter is definitely best and biggest but Ruszwarm (a little green building on a narrow road opposite St Mathias Church is a delight).

Lunch outside Gerloczy Kavehaz on Gerloczy Utca was marvellous and good for people watching.

We found prices everywhere very reasonable for a capital city.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet but a word of warning for anyone going there right now is that the road at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LewNottingham15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    363
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
197
587
61
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

A group of us stayed here for the weekend. We arrived past midnight. We were welcomed warmly with a drink and all the necessary information was given. Breakfast was plentiful and the champagne added a spark to the day.
The hotel is in a side street not visible from the main road but close to the Corvin shopping centre and the Metro. There is a foreign exchange shop near the Metro. It was easy and quick to get around the City.
A nice welcoming complimentary soft drink was availabe daily by the main entrance in the afternoon. A lovely treat after a day out.
The rooms were lovely and clean and the showers were great. The staff were helpful and there was no problem with language.
There is construction on one of the roads approaching the hotel but we didn't hear any noise. The airconditioning worked well as we like to sleep in a cool room.
Overall a lovely and reasonable hotel for visiting Budapest.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are larger although some members of our group got bigger rooms than others despit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank makhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This report is long overdue. I stayed at the hotel during a quick weekend getaway in Nov 2012.
The hotel is not in the middle of major activities, but it is easily accessible via subway or tram, which is just 5 minutes away (or less if you walk fast... I don't). One can also walk but will take about 20 mins. Next door is Corvin Mall, a modern shopping mall.
The hotel is modern, has good amenities, clean, great breakfast and staff are wonderful and helpful. It is not on the main street and is amidst what I think are apartment blocks which have seen better days. The surroundings does not evoke great impression, but the hotel itself is wonderful. Perhaps with more investment and development in the area, it will be better. There are restaurants along the main road. Pretty decent middle eastern food with great service.
I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The front desk was extremely helpful. Stayed 6 nights. The hotel is close to Corvin Mall and transportation. It's a great value. We enjoyed the nice large modern bathroom, The hotel is tastefully decorated and worth the money.

Room Tip: construction on side street makes cab drivers a little crazy getting there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyetoeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I just returned from my trip to Budapest, and must admit that staying at Bo18 was a good choice overall, despite the sightly rough start (the booking experience was a bit challenging, but it was sorted out at the end).
The hotel is new, with modern design, meticulously clean, and above all, has a very helpful staff. It is located relatively close to the center (it took us about 25 min. to walk to the busiest part of Vaci str), and about 200-300m from Corvin shopping mall. If you travel by car you can park it on the hotel's parking lot, which is secure, but also a bit challenging - it is about 30m from the hotel, so you need the hotel staff to remotely open the gate, which then automatically closes after a few minutes, so you better get out of it soon; otherwise you might get trapped in there.
The hotel is in a residential area and away from main streets. Consequently, it is quiet and the night sleep is really good. The room was a bit small, but still functional and well-equipped. We experienced difficulties with the door-lock, and the hotel staff kept convincing us that we are demagnetizing the card with coins or cell-phones (but were kind enough to replace the cards a couple of times we complained about it). At the end it turned out that the card reader was malfunctioning.
Breakfast was tasty, fresh and really rich (both for meat-lovers and vegetarians).
Overall, it was good value for money, and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ad Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We went to Budapest for the first time in December 2011. We were so pleased when we arrived at the BO 18 Hotel. Our room was beautiful, new, and clean. Every morning we enjoyed champagne with a great breakfast. The staff were very friendly and even suggested a few tweaks to our itinerary that definitely made the trip more enjoyable. We were grateful for their help and are vey much looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the BO18 Hotel Superior in District VIII of Budapest during Easter 2012. The hotel offers 4 star quality and service, despite it's 3 star rating, and was excellent value for money. We arrived late on Easter Sunday to find a welcome drink and a small easter egg on our pillows - it was these small, but very welcome and appreciated, touches that made the hotel a pleasure.

Hotel staff were very helpful and offered assistance with transportation - including booking a taxi for us at short notice so that we could get to Parliament for the early morning tour which was confirmed last minute.

The free (and fast) wifi helped clinch the decision to stay here and didn't disappoint: it's essential for travellers to be able to surf the Internet for travel advice and maps, as well as to keep in touch with home for emergencies - so this was a great offering from the hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic - plenty of choice in the buffet including cooked and cold options, and champagne for the more adventurous. Coffee was plentiful and delicious and I'm picky about that so it's saying something!

The room was clean and very spacious, with a well stocked minibar and tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was excellent - again, spacious and very clean, shower was connected to bath taps but had excellent pressure. We were located at the front of the hotel and whilst the street was generally quiet it could get noisy late at night with revellers coming back home from drinking in the city centre but we had the window open for some fresh air. The only disappointment with the accommodation was with the comfort of the beds: the mattresses were quite hard and the pillows were thin, so it was difficult getting a comfortable night's sleep.

The area of the hotel (District VIII) does take some getting used to - it's relatively run down and there are lots of deserted buildings. This was off-putting at first but we gradually felt more confident walking back to the hotel later at night. There are major redevelopment works going on (nb. the building works did not cause any disturbance), including the newly opened Corvin Mall only a few yards down the road - which was very handy. I'm sure the situation will improve over time. Other reviewers indicated it was safe, and we certainly weren't bothered by anyone, so don't let this put you off either. The hotel is slightly out of town but then most of the hotels in Budapest aren't central, including much more expensive places. Use the metro system to get to the city centre by taking a metro from Corvin-Negyed (by the Corvin Mall) to Deak Ter. You only need the Short Section Metro ticket as it's only 3 stops: ticket prices were less than £1 per person one way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coldmachineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 339 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,357 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
Bo33 Hotel Family & Suites
#12 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraser Residence Budapest
#16 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 339 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo18 Hotel Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo18 Hotel Superior

Property: Bo18 Hotel Superior
Address: Vajdahunyad utca 18., district VIII., Budapest 1082, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 339 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bo18 Hotel Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bo18 Hotel*** Superior, the newest 3 star category hotel in Budapest opened its doors in the first half of May 2011. It is located in the VIII district of Budapest, close to the recently opened Corvin passage and the Corvin shopping mall. The location of the hotel, which is easily accessible both by public transport and private car, is a security for a silent, undisturbed stay in the immediate neighbourhood of the bustling Budapest city center. Our hotel is waiting for the quests who wish to discover Budapest or arrive for a business stay with 45 rooms, three star premium services and with a buffet breakfast with champagne. Our friendly, elegant rooms, our inner garden and lobby bar established according to the latest design, our wellness corner and the outstanding niveau of our services are guarantees for an unforgettable Budapest relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bo18 Hotel Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing