We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel!”
Review of K9 Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
K9 Residence
Ranked #10 of 667 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It was wonderfull! Thank´s a lot for a nice stay! Rooms/ apartment are really beautifull and location super. Thank´s ones more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for K9 Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Location is perfect for exploring the city, near two metro stations and within walking distance of almost all of the major attractions. K-9 is on the Pest side, which seemed to us to be the better option over Buda, with more choice in terms of restaurants, bars and entertainment.

The lobby is a little sparse and we felt apprehensive about getting into the old, industrial-style tin can of an elevator. We were delighted upon reaching our room, however, which was a very spiffy-looking modern flat. It had a great, spacious bathroom and a modern kitchenette. We did not take advantage of the latter, but it seemed fully equipped, including a toaster and a stovetop cappuccino maker. If you wanted to self-cater, it would be very easy to do so, as there is a grocery store right next door. A small niggle was that the toilet ran in our room when the ‘short’ flush button was pushed.

The bed was comfortable, although the ‘double’ bed was two single beds pushed together. Free wi-fi was available in the room, as well as a small safe for valuables. Staff was friendly and gave us suggestions for restaurants in the area, although we felt, upon checking these and some other of what the city had to offer, that these suggestions could use an update. The Bali café/restaurant did turn out to be a very good suggestion, especially as a place a quick jog away from the K-9 just after arriving dead starved after a long train trip. They let us store bags on the last day, although the baggage storage definitely did not look super high-security.

We only stayed here for three nights, but this would be definitely an appropriate place for a longer-term stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the building on the main strip outside the hotel, from which there was s...
Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Great location near metro .supermarket next door for your breakfast food.Laura at front desk was very good for info on restraunts and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hurler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed at the K9 Residence for 4 nights in December while visiting friends in Budapest.

The location is superb, just a few min walk to Déak metro station which is the hub for the 3 metro lines. For several other sights you don't even have to use public transportation, almost all the major tourist attractions are within walking distance.

The room was spotlessly clean, with a good size bathroom. The kitchenette was also great. Basic supplies like glasses, plates, knives, can opener, pots and pans and even a salt shaker (with salt!) was provided. There's no daily maid/cleaning service, although if you need clean towels just ask at the front desk and they'll be happy to provide them!

The only downside, as others have already mentioned, is the street noise. If you live in a rural area and are not used to cars, trams and buses going past in the street all night, then this is not the place for you. But if you take into account that the K9 Residence is located on a busy street in a major city, some noise is unavoidable.

Overall, this is a real gem in the heart of Budapest. Book a room here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labyrinthguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Location is very close to a metro, as well as walking distance to all attractions toward the river, great value. Rooms were comfortable although could have been planned better in terms of space. Only drawback was the couch are fold out beds, and for some reason you can't sit on the couch without sliding down uncomfortably

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The room was very nice and we had a great bathroom. I was on the fifth floor and the street noise did not interupt my sleep. The location was excellent! Just down the street from the main subway station where all the lines connect and right on the edge of the Jewish Quarter where there are alot of great bars. The only downside was the fact that they do not have daily room service. They will come to your room if you ask, but it's not automatic. I guess you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

35euro per night, brand new, large space 20 sq mtrs, nice modern deco, big size bathroom functioning well, small kitchen area on the side of the main room with bare minimums.
Very very convenient because just near the Metro Deak Ferenc which is at the junction of two lines, plus you can walk to the Danube in 10 minutes, 5 minutes to Opera.
Only drawback is the noise - the building is not soundproof and the walls are thin, the noise from the main street is going all night. We solved it with a good pair of air plugs, so were perfectly happy because everything else is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms face the street, I guess try for a high floor for maybe less noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollingstoneSydParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
1,202 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K9 Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K9 Residence

Address: Karoly koerut 9, Budapest 1075, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 667 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $63 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — K9 Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
K9 Residence offers modern accommodation in the heart of Budapest with 24h Reception service. Our Studios and 2 Bedroom Apartments are fully equipped and all offer great views over the city. All our units are Air Conditioned and feature broad band wifi internet connection and secure safe boxes. As we are ideally based between Deak Ferenc square and Astoria square our location allows our guests to have excellent access to all means of public transportation or to explore the city easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your K9 Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing