We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, good location, unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Ranked #81 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good location, unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Truly, when we booked this hotel, we thought the name "Carlton" would involve some extra quality above the average. But it wasn't. Carlton Hotel Budapest has 4 stars but it deserves 2 and a half, no more.
Briefly: rooms are a bit small. But it's clean. The worst part is the bed as every room has 2 small beds put together, as we were told by the unfriendly guy at the reception desk.
Breakfast is the best thing of the hotel as there are many options... except sweet things!! 4 different cheeses but no cakes, any of them! I called this the salty Budapest breakfast.
Location is nice for exploring the city, just in front of the Chain Bridge. We read on Internet Pest is better than Buda for hotels, but for us, location was more than ok.

Tip: In the main street, just exiting the hotel to the left there is a good cheap restaurant for lunch (Ildiko Konyhaja)

Room Tip: Don't ask for king size beds. They have only rooms with 2 small beds put together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnriqueContreras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    652
    198
    50
    19
See reviews for
195
540
84
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location, being very close to the chain bridge and within walking distance of all the main attractions on both sides of the fantastically stunning Danube. The rooms are small (but no smaller than most city hotels), clean and serviced daily.The toiletries were poor really especially the shampoo that looked as if it had been around for a while, but just take your own. Breakfat was a tad disappointing, even though there was the usual array of rolls, meats and jams etc. Hot food was very very limited (ie congealed looking scrambled egg and small sausages) and the coffee was poor. Even the hot water for tea was only just warm! OK we didn't starve, but neither did we want to linger over breakfast. Having said that, the staff were pleasant and helpful and our experience probably wouldn't stop us from going there again. By no means awful, just felt it could do better. There is a great little bar just around the corner (go down the steps and turn right), which we went to every night for our nightcap (the hotel bar/reception area not somewhere where you would want to sit). Very smoky, but great fun and full of locals which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill_prince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the Castle area of Budapest. The rooms are small but comfortable, clean and suitable for a few nights rest from exploring Budapest. The bathroom is a good size, good shower over the bath and a good stock of soap, shower gel , hair dryer, etc. The beds were a little hard for our liking but others might like them. There is a minibar in the fridge with a small stock of soft drinks and alcohol and prices are reasonable. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room, although they weren't replenished every day, but this wasn't a problem for us. The breakfast was a very good selection of buffet items including hot sauasge and omlette, cold meats and cheeses, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea, coffee and fruit juices. The staff were helpful and more than pleased to look after our cases, after check out time, until we left for the airport. There is a genuine Hungarian restaurant at the bottom of the steps, to the left, where staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Carlton hotel is in an excellent location !0 minutes from the castle area and about 15 minutes from the main areas of Budapest.The room was clean and there was a kettle,safe and a fridge in room,the breakfast was good with a variety of dishes to suit everybody ie (scrambled egg,small sausage,cold meats sliced cheese ,lovely fresh bread rolls,salads,cereals and a lot of other items.) After a full day sight seeing we found a nice bar about 5 hundred yards from the hotel and a nice cellar restuarant about 2 hundred yards from the hotel.I would recommend this hotel and would be sure to stay there again on my next visit to budapest.

Room Tip: we had room 113 it was at the back and away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloy1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

The Carlton is not a luxury hotel, but is clean, comfortable and well placed. The best was definitely the staff, they were really helpful and made tour and restaurant bookings for us, as well as sorting out airport transfers at a good price. Also we had a view of the parliament and Danube from our bedroom window which was lovely! The hotel was clean, comfortable and warm. I slept like a log as the location is quiet even though it's central. The lows: the room was a bit small (but clean and comfy as I said), the water pressure was poor in the shower (but water was good and hot). In essence, if looking for a destination hotel, you should go elsewhere but if you want a decent hotel for a Budapest city break with a central location & good price I'd definitely recommend the Carlton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgTaistealGoMinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The only 2 adventages of this hotel are: 1. the very good location. 2. a very good colorful breakfast.
The disadventages are much more: when we first entered the room- a warm wellcome of no light at the hole, because of a not working lamp. When we opened the windows- a warm wellcome of buildings all around and a construction area at the front. (not such a cool view as published by carlton hotel). Instead of a double bed we ordered, we got 2 attached single beds. The bathroom- low stream at the shower, a ventilator which suprisingly stoped working. Forgot to tell you, not a flat plasma TV as promised, but a big old one.
We were offered to leave for another room only a half day before our check out, which was pointless!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avitalmaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel Budapest 22nd to 25th November 2011. We were very happy with the hotel. On our arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff, courteous and helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean, not huge but warm in the cold November weather, adequate, comfortable bed with spotless fresh crisp bedding. The towels were were good quality and white. There were tea and coffee facilities, but you need your own milk, none provided and also take your own porcelain cup, they provided cardboard ones! The breakfast was good, muselai cereals, youghurts, various breads, toast making facilities and preserves, also a variety of cheeses and cold meats and scrambled egg and spicy sausages, which were being cooked at we ate.
As we are non smokers we requested a non smoking room and it was fresh and there was no smell of smoke whatsoever.
There were information leaflets on the desk and the reception staff were very happy to assist when asked. The location was great, close to chain bridge and the funicular so both Buda and Peste were easy to get to.

We found the metro very easy to use and also the hop on hop off buses were a good way of getting about. Would we recommend this hotel, yes we would and will use it again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We were on 6th floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#50 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#38 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Orion Varkert
Hotel Orion Varkert
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#69 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Budapest

Property: Carlton Hotel Budapest
Address: Apor Peter utca 3, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#70 Family Hotel in Budapest
#71 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing