We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of City Hotel Ring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Ring
Ranked #119 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Small but clean rooms similar to the tiny hotel rooms in Japan.
Everything works and good shower with hard but comfortable beds.
Very basic food in restaurant but helpful check-in staff.
Great location and you walk out the front door and Budapest is laid out before you

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive comments about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

Very close to Nyugati Train Station - it was convenient from the airport. If you have a train connection, most likely you will not be using this train station though. I found out late. Originally, I booked this hotel believing I'd be close to my connecting train but I had to go to Keleti Pu. Anyway, the hotel was a good value. Breakfast was above average, the front desk were courteous and very helpful. This is a value hotel, nothing luxurious, but it gets the budget traveler a nice choice. Location is close to alot of things if you take the tram/subway. Only down side, the room was a little dark. For public transit, get the all day passes (or multi), it's worth it, especially the family ticket with multipass. Not all machines take paper money, so I had to get it at the bigger station.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Before we arrived this hotel, I already felt like I knew them well. They responded all my e-mails, I've never waited their reply more than a day. That was great start.
The hotel is located short walk from the west station which is ideal for us. Our room was pretty spacious. Very basic, nothing fancy, but we've got everything we need.
Some people mentioned they need a little TLC, for example carpet in the corridor / stairs, or bath room. OK, maybe yes, a little TLC is needed. However, the receptionists ( day / night ) were friendly, location is good, room is cleaned and provide fresh towels everyday, it's good enough for what you paid for. Actually, it's great value.
This hotel is not for honeymooners, but if you're not on your honeymoon, visit here for explore this wonderful city, you'll get everything you need at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about City Hotel Ring on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services and you found a good price-value relationship by choosing our hotel. I am happy to inform you that we will do some renovation this year and carpets will be changed next month (June 2011).
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This hotel offers spacious double bed rooms. Our room would need some cleaning, there was a lot of dust.
The 2 lights were not enough for the room, we felt like in a cementery, terrible darkness.
Bathroom was clean. We couldnt hear the tram during the night (as we had double glass windows).
This hotel should have a free wifi internet. It has not. They offer only a computer with internet connection by the reception. The breakfest was really poor, f.e. gum pastry and biscuits.
The best thing on this hotel is the location in the city center, polite receptionist and adequate price. You get what you payed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit at City Hotel Ring and your feedback about our hotel. We regret that you were not completely satisfied with our services.

Firstly, I would like to ask you helping us to improve the lighting of this room. For that I kindly ask to give the number of the room you stayed in.

Secondly, until now we have not received any complaint about the cleaning; however I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager. We will do our best to keep the highest standards of the cleanliness.

Next, the quality of the breakfast was not convenient during your stay. You mentioned that was only “gum pastry and biscuits”. I have to highlight that we provide every mornings the same food and beverages for our guests, such as 2 kinds of ham or salami, omelette, 2 kinds of cheese, butter, vegetable butter, honey, jam, different kind of cereals, morning, yoghurt, vegetables (e.g. tomato), fruits, bread (also wholemeal bread), bread rolls, bread crescent (also wholemeal crescent), breakfast drink (2 kind of juice, coffee, tea, milk etc. ).
In addition, we have also different kind of pastry to satisfy breakfast needs of guests (e.g. Italian guests) preferring sweet breakfast. As we keep this variety of breakfast items and we do control it on a daily basis, therefore I have to suppose that your feedback was not completely free of subjective opinion.

Finally, 19 of the rooms have LAN internet connection. Upon request our front desk staff provides these rooms without any surcharge. Nevertheless, we will consider your suggestion of WIFI internet connection.

If you would like to add anything new to your review or you have additional comments, then you can contact me at salesdirector@cityhotel.hu.

Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Nice hotel within easy distance of centre. Rooms basic but clean. Towels changed daily. No kettle etc but fridge in room. Breakfast was ok but egg was the only hot dish on the menu. Staff very pleasant and helpful. No public areas apart from breakfast room.
Word of warning if travelling on public transport. We bought 2x£1.00 tickets for the underground and were fined £38.00 for not having them validated. We didn't know we had to.Ticket inspector allowed no leeway and we really felt that we had been caught in a tourist con. She did point out it stated rules on back of ticket in very small writing but thought that a little come and go would have been more appropriate for the goodwill. Left a bad taste and will not return for this reason. I don't think Budapest is really interested in tourists.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank DMcM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit at City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We regret that you had an unpleasant experience using public transportation. We hope that this occurrence will not affect your general opinion about Budapest.

Nevertheless, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Maybe wants a freshen up in parts (stairs and landing) but the room and bathroom was cleaned daily with plenty of storage a fridge and two decent beds the staff was very helpful and it's in a very good position to see the city. We will certainly book here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilvax, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ring, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to City Hotel Ring and your positive feedback about our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Renata Hupuczi
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Hotel is only a short walk from Nyugati Rail Station and is a great base if you're visiting Budapest where all you need is a nice clean room.Staff were very friendly - free internet access in the lobby - and room was always immaculate the next day.
If you're a "needy" person then it's probably not for you but great otherwise.Check out the art deco MacDonalds by the station too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 334 in Budapest
692 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#96 of 334 in Budapest
787 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#137 of 334 in Budapest
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#67 of 334 in Budapest
608 reviews
NH Budapest City
#76 of 334 in Budapest
1,514 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#107 of 334 in Budapest
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ring

Address: Szent Istvan korut 22., Budapest 1137, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $41 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ring 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMPLETELY RENEWED IN 2017! The City Hotel Ring is centrally located on the Pest side of the city, in the Szent Istvan Korut. The hotel is within walking distance to Budapest's downtown business district, the Margaret Island, the Western railway station, the largest shopping mall of Budapest (Westend City Center) and the city's major tourist attractions. Buffet breakfast is served in the hotel's dining room. Free internet terminal is available in the lobby area. The hotel ensures a pleasant vacation for individual guests and also for groups arriving to Budapest. The Hotel has 39 comfortably furnished rooms, individually air conditioned, telephone, complimentary Internet access, SAT TV, fridge, work desk, radio, hair dryer (upon request). Other services: free Internet corner, safe at the reception, conference room for up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Ring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing