We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$351
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$243
US$198
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Budapest City(Budapest)
US$169
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$647
US$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
805 results
Traveller rating
291
357
107
38
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
357
107
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree coffee and teapillow menuexcellent locationbars restaurantssmall hotelreception staff areside streetnight lifejewish quartertwo blockswithin walking distancefree wificentral locationsparkling winequiet streetnice breakfastwalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 805 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Ambra one night during our trip to Copenhagen. It was a reasonable choice as the hotel is in the city center and the Danube is 15 minutes away walking. Rooms are ok but it's a litle bit noisy due to thin walls. Anyway we had a relaxing sleep. Breakfast is quite variated. Overall it was a good choice

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you vey much for your review. We are glad that you had a relaxed night in the Hotel and hope to welcome next time for more days.
Please choose us again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spent six nights in this hotel. Our top floor superior room was spotless, roomy and airy with plenty of hanging space. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked. Only drawback is that the room doors do not have dampeners and one night we were woken 6 times by doors slamming - could be argued that this is more to do with inconsiderate guests! The free tea and coffee in the lounge were a definite bonus. The breakfasts were great, the scrambled egg was especially nice. The staff are delightful, helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble for them and the standard of English was impressive.

Okay the area is 'interesting' but nothing ever happened to make us feel uncomfortable. The hotel is really well placed for exploring Budapest with Metro, Trolley Buses and Trams all within a short walk. Two blocks away is the Opera and the Metro, just a short walk away is the Jewish Quarter and you are never more than 10 minutes walk away from somewhere to eat.

We would definitely stay there again and would reccommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Top floor gives bigger rooms, but dormer windows means that if it rains it is noisey
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RifkaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, and also for your opinion to make the Hotel better.
We are always trying to improve. Glad to read that you enjoyed the city and our Hotel as well.
Hope to welcome next time as well in our Hotel.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The staff were brilliant; can not fault the service they gave. The rooms are a good size and the shower was lovely! It was a nice touch to have the free tea and coffee etc in the lounge as ell as the free wifi throughout. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection and it was replenished as soon as something was all gone! Would recommend this hotel highly and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your warm words. I can say in the name of the whole staff that we are
very glad that you enjoyed the stay in our Hotel. Don't hesitate to choose us again if you visit Budapest next time.
See you soon!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I spent three nights there and had no complaint whatsoever. The superior double room I stayed at this hotel was very clean with a spacious bathroom. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They speak fluent English and always offered their help even before I arrived. They provided their advice where to go for shopping and sightseeing. The hotel location in a narrow street was not very interesting, however, it was rather near the Opera House, public transportation stations, many restaurants and shopping areas .

Room Tip: Superio double room is excellent with very little difference in price. It is very spacious and very well designed. The bathroom is quite spacious and clean.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somayasaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It is good to read about your stay in our Hotel.
We are always happy to see such reviews as yours.
Hope to see you next time in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I've stayed at the Ambra once before and this visit was as pleasant as the first. The rooms are very clean and well arranged. Everyone comments about the excellent breakfast and what they say is true! The 24 hour coffee and tea service is a nice touch.

As in typical with some small European hotels, the elevator is small. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

The area does give some pause but I have found it completely safe. Within three minutes you are at the opera and some of the prime shopping in all of Budapest.

Easily recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienHarveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are all glad that you enjoyed your second stay as well as the
first in our Hotel. Hope to see you for a third time!
Don't hesitate to choose us next time again.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews