We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Ambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ambra Hotel
Ranked #63 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We came across this hotel by chance at the end of our cycling trip to Budapest. Immediately impressed by helpfulness and friendliness of staff. Room was excellent too - spotless- with great shower etc.
Breakfast was great with good choice, and bonus of tea/coffee on tap at other times.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review and for the higly recommendation as well. We are very happy that you were appsolutely satisfied with our Hotel and services. The best thing for me is to see the guests smiling and being pleased during thair stay here.
Don't hesitate to choose us again when you visit Budapest!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Ambra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Ambra one night during our trip to Copenhagen. It was a reasonable choice as the hotel is in the city center and the Danube is 15 minutes away walking. Rooms are ok but it's a litle bit noisy due to thin walls. Anyway we had a relaxing sleep. Breakfast is quite variated. Overall it was a good choice

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you vey much for your review. We are glad that you had a relaxed night in the Hotel and hope to welcome next time for more days.
Please choose us again!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Spent six nights in this hotel. Our top floor superior room was spotless, roomy and airy with plenty of hanging space. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked. Only drawback is that the room doors do not have dampeners and one night we were woken 6 times by doors slamming - could be argued that this is more to do with inconsiderate guests! The free tea and coffee in the lounge were a definite bonus. The breakfasts were great, the scrambled egg was especially nice. The staff are delightful, helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble for them and the standard of English was impressive.

Okay the area is 'interesting' but nothing ever happened to make us feel uncomfortable. The hotel is really well placed for exploring Budapest with Metro, Trolley Buses and Trams all within a short walk. Two blocks away is the Opera and the Metro, just a short walk away is the Jewish Quarter and you are never more than 10 minutes walk away from somewhere to eat.

We would definitely stay there again and would reccommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Top floor gives bigger rooms, but dormer windows means that if it rains it is noisey
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RifkaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review, and also for your opinion to make the Hotel better.
We are always trying to improve. Glad to read that you enjoyed the city and our Hotel as well.
Hope to welcome next time as well in our Hotel.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The staff were brilliant; can not fault the service they gave. The rooms are a good size and the shower was lovely! It was a nice touch to have the free tea and coffee etc in the lounge as ell as the free wifi throughout. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection and it was replenished as soon as something was all gone! Would recommend this hotel highly and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you very much for your warm words. I can say in the name of the whole staff that we are
very glad that you enjoyed the stay in our Hotel. Don't hesitate to choose us again if you visit Budapest next time.
See you soon!

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I spent three nights there and had no complaint whatsoever. The superior double room I stayed at this hotel was very clean with a spacious bathroom. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They speak fluent English and always offered their help even before I arrived. They provided their advice where to go for shopping and sightseeing. The hotel location in a narrow street was not very interesting, however, it was rather near the Opera House, public transportation stations, many restaurants and shopping areas .

Room Tip: Superio double room is excellent with very little difference in price. It is very spacious and very...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somayasaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review. It is good to read about your stay in our Hotel.
We are always happy to see such reviews as yours.
Hope to see you next time in Best Western Plus Hotel Ambra.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I've stayed at the Ambra once before and this visit was as pleasant as the first. The rooms are very clean and well arranged. Everyone comments about the excellent breakfast and what they say is true! The 24 hour coffee and tea service is a nice touch.

As in typical with some small European hotels, the elevator is small. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

The area does give some pause but I have found it completely safe. Within three minutes you are at the opera and some of the prime shopping in all of Budapest.

Easily recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamienHarveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are all glad that you enjoyed your second stay as well as the
first in our Hotel. Hope to see you for a third time!
Don't hesitate to choose us next time again.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

spent 4 nights here may 2012. it has to be said this is a great hotel with great staff in a great location.nice breakfast, plenty of variety to choose from. don,t be put of by the area,its fine, no bother whatsoever. bars,restaurants and shops only mins away. this is a very well run hotel with staff that will help you to enjoy your stay in budapest, there is also tea,coffee etc. available in the dining room 24hours.this hotel is ideal for your trip to budapest.the bathrooms and bedrooms are spotless as is the dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meathone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelambra, General Manager at Ambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the city and the stay in our Hotel. In the name of the staff it is my pleasure to thank your applause.
Looking forward to see you soon again in our Hotel.

Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 333 in Budapest
331 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
ROOMbach Hotel Budapest Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Carat Boutique Hotel
Carat Boutique Hotel
#37 of 333 in Budapest
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel
Starlight Suiten Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
1,190 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Exe Danube Budapest
Exe Danube Budapest
#22 of 333 in Budapest
193 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambra Hotel

Address: Kis Diofa utca 13., Budapest 1077, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ambra)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#86 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $79 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole hotel is redesigned in 2016. The 37 bedrooms are in boutique style, all equipped with stylish interior, air-conditioning, safe, minibar, LCD TV, free use of wireless internet.Full hot and cold buffet breakfast is served for the guests offering delicious international and traditional Hungarian dishes. We provide free coffee, tea and snacks in our open bar all day long. Tablets are available on the Lobby area , the wireless internet is free of charge in the entire area of the hotel. Safe, underground garage is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambra Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing