We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #15 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed at the Hilton with my hubby for a long weekend . The service is excellant as you would expect . Breakfast amazing you name it and it is there ,if not chef will cook for you . Rooms were very spacious and very clean ,if you want a river view you pay extra no chance otherwise .
Location is great for the castle but we found it a drag in the evenings if you wanted to go down and over to the pest side , you were very aware that you would need to get a taxi back if you left it too late . Buses stop around 11pm and altho you can walk up we did one evening , i'm not sure just how safe or wise a decision that would be . saying that the resturants around the castle area are very good . I highly receommend the Pest Buda resturant . Service is first class and the food excellant .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseaLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate the kind words concerning our services and facilities. It is good to know you felt well taken care of during your stay.

Please be advised, transport to/from the hotel can be easily organized: if not walking, by city busses 16 and 16A run every 5 minutes with a bus stop a very short walk from the main entrance of the hotel. Buses connect with trams and metro a short distance away -- both of which can take you into the Pest sectors. However, you can take a taxi, many of the taxi companies run at affordable prices, please check this with our Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Mangers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,014 - 3,020 of 4,379 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Budapest over the weekend and had a very enjoyable experience. Hotel's location makes it a great place to stay as a visitor to Budapest, with easy access to museums and historic district. Great views from hotel over the city and Danube. Transport to/from hotel can be a challenge if not into walking, but city busses 16 and 16A run by hotel, with a bus stop a very short walk from main door. Busses connect with trams and Metro a short distance away -- both of which can take you into the Pest sectors. Busses were running very frequently when I was there. Rooms and hotel amenities were very pleasant. One problem I ran into was related to the Internet access. As a HH member, wireless was gratis, but even though there was wireless in the room, the only gratis access was the hard line - which meant I was tethered to the small desk and could not use laptop (and be connected to Internet) from the bed or the comfortable chairs or couch in the room. Seems like this bit fell between the cracks of Hilton's new policy of gratis international wireless access at its hotels for HH members. Otherwise, the hotel is well worth the stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate the kind words concerning the unique UNESCO World Heritage site location of the hotel and sharing with other readers your best tips about easy and flexible public transportation facilities.

Your observations are appreciated, as feedback is a vital way of reviewing the level of service we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Thank you for your opinion regarding the Internet access in your room. Please be advised, part of our current development plan includes installing convenient wireless internet access in guest rooms based on the preferred needs of our VIP Elite Members.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I spent about a week at the Hilton's on the Castle Hill - this was my first stay with them. The room was big & clean, reception desk very supportive, location absolutely perfect. In the first night we ate at the hotel as we were very tired and it was quite late - dinner was very good and prices not so high.

Positive points:
- location and if you manage to get a room with view towards Danube, it's like the cherry on top. The breakfast room overlooks the Bastion and the Danube.
- big, clean rooms and includes a small water boiler for tea, instant coffee (nice to have a cup of tea just before you go to bed).
- bathroom had robe and even face towels replaced daily. Surprisingly for me it didn't have any slippers.
- for breakfast you had plenty to choose from
- it has a gym and sauna (good enough if you are planning to do a bit of exercise in the morning)

Bad points:
- the personnel from breakfast barely knew English (I asked if they know anything about the weather condition and she couldn't even understand a word I said so she asked for a colleague to help out).
- funny story: each table would have a coffee pot, but one morning someone sat at the table next to mine, the lady very nicely asked if he wants any coffee and took the pot from my table and put it on his :| (I was not expecting that)
- you have to pay for Internet (WiFi or Cable) which I think it was 10e/day
- the bed cover I was expecting to be down very light and softer pillows, but if you are tired after a crazy day anything will do.
- light in the room is quite dim, so don't expect to do any reading in bed
- the hotel was probably doing some maintenance works AT 7 O'CLOCK in the SATURDAY MORNING (they were doing this as well during the week but at least I was woken up at 8 am) so I called the reception desk and took them 15-20 mins to stop them.
- there was no kit for your shoes :( and if you need to clean-up a bit your shoes before going to the office you'' have to be a bit inventive.

All in all, it is a good hotel I recommend it for the quality, however do keep in mind the prices (it's not exactly cheap).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I've just had an amazing stay at the Budapest Hilton - the only thing I did not like, was the exterior facing the Fishermens Bastion. It is really out of place with is modern look in an otherwise medieval looking area. But the service was friendly and excellent, the breakfast was delicious and varied - and the view from our room knocked us off our feet every time we opened the door to the room. We spent more time sitting in the window with a bottle of wine enjoying the panorama view than anywhere else.

Room Tip: Do spend another 30€ for a river view upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to post your comments on Tripadvisor website. I am glad to find out you had a memorable vacation and returned home with some unforgettable experience.
While I do respect your opinion of the Fisherman’s Bastion, please allow me to share with you some relevant information about this famous Hungarian monument and tourist attraction.
“The Halászbástya” or Fisherman's Bastion is a terrace in neo-Gothic and neo-Romanesque style situated on the Buda bank of the Danube, on the Castle hill in Budapest, situated behind the Hilton Budapest and around Matthias Church. It was designed and built between 1895 and 1902 on the plans of famous Hungarian architect Frigyes Schulek. From the towers and the terrace you can admire fascinating views of the River Danube, the Margaret Island, the Hungarian Parliament Building, the Pest side of the capital to the east and the Gellért Hill. Its seven towers have a symbolic meaning as they represent the seven “Magyar tribes” that settled in the Carpathian Basin in 896 ad. The Bastion takes its name from the guild of fishermen who were responsible for defending this stretch of the city walls in the Middle Ages. It is a must see panorama terrace, with many stairs and walking paths.

Thank you again for being our guests and we look forward the welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

There is no doubting the fact that the Hilton Budapest occupies a superb location. Atop the hill in the Buda Castle are, this is a perfect place to stay and from which to explore Budapest whether on business or ideally, pleasure. Unquestioningly, the best service I have had at any hotel and I have stayed in many hundreds: the service cannot be faulted - from the moment you enter this hotel, you know that the people genuinely care that you have a great stay. Each member of staff has always been courteous and helpful - the rooms are impecably clean and well-maintained.. the food is sublime - simply, you cannot fault it. Breakfast is a feast and whatever it may be you would like to have prepared especially, is done so with enthusiasm and grace. Reception runs like a well-oiled machine - never kept waiting for more than a minute or two even in busy times and to top it all - the hotel offers excellent value for money. We will definitely be taking our personal weekend trip here soon - this is the only place to stay in Budapest.

Room Tip: Just ask! If you want something special, the staff will always try to accommodate your request - ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimbershadesTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest.

We appreciate your wonderful assessment of your stay. I will share your comments with the team that will definitely keep us inspired to work hard to exceed our valued guests’ expectations.

We hope to see you back real soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Fanatsic views of Pest - based in the Buda castle district this hotel I would highly recommend, the staff were great - the executive lounge amazing - service was good - maybe needs a bit more life in the bar - but this was out of season - aircon in the room was not fantastic but really really beautiful hotel - shame the rest of Budapest isnt the same.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stockyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear Guest,

We are always grateful to receive such a positive feedback like yours and I would like to personally thank you and respond.

Thank you for sharing with other readers that you were impressed by our unique Castle District location as the Hilton Budapest is the only Hilton in the world, which is situated in a UNESCO World Heritage site.
Your positive comments regarding the service of our Executive Club Lounge are also much appreciated.
Thank you also for referring to the maintanence of our air-conditioning, which is part of our current refurbishment plan.

If you plan to return to Budapest, we would be very happy to welcome you back again.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Perfect service! Helpful concierge and really lovely restaurant staff. Restaurant looks out onto views of Pest. Food was great -- I had both breakfast and dinner over a few nights. Great location. Very clean. Would certainly go back and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laffylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Budapest. I am happy to read you had a lovely holiday with us and we could make your stay inspirational.
It is really good to hear your were pleased with our service just as well the food served in our restaurant.
It would be an honour to welcome you back soon and make your stay unforgettable again.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,939 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Address: Hess Andras ter 1, Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $156 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing