We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent except Smoking Policy”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #19 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Liptovsky Hradok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent except Smoking Policy”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel in May 2011 for a seminar. The room was amazing. Service and staff were excellent and very helpful consistently at all times. I enjoyed amazing breakfast buffet every morning. I loved the view at the Parliament and the Castle area is very nice.

The only thing that was bothering was the smoking in near the lobby, as we had the meeting room booked near it and I stayed in the smoke 2 full days. In addition to this smoke was spreading through air conditioning also into the rooms! I wear contact lenses and my eyes suffered greatly from this.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenidlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us of last May.

Please let me refer to your important observation concerning the smoking policy in our hotel:
In accordance with tightening the Act of protecting non-smokers in Hungary, smoking is strictly prohibited in our restaurant, all F&B outlets and public areas of the hotel. The Act came into force in Hungary on 1st April 2012.

I sincerely hope, we may have the pleasure once again to welcome you back to our hotel and show you how we deliver our promise and how much we care of our valued guests.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,762
    977
    214
    53
    23
See reviews for
475
1,867
197
770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

You just can't pick a better hotel for your first visit to Budapest! This hilton has THE view of a lifetime as you look past the castle structure, across the Danube to the other side (AKA 'Pest").
Eveyrthing is beautifully lighted at night and the Parlament Bldg is your focal point. Truly a spectacular visual memory so you must try to obatin a room with a view toward the Danube. The rooms are quite comfortably nice and baths are beautifully done and the Executive Lounge is FIVE STAR!! I believe it's a worthwhile upgrade to have access to the lounge if you can get it as a gold or diamond level or additional payment. If you happen to be in the lounge oon a night when "Tbor" is working you'll think you are in a five star restaurant with a personal attendant watching over your table.

Good ole bus # 16 will take care of you high up on this hill because it runs every few minutes right up to the Hilton, takes you back and forth down to the Chain Bridge or beyond to the main Deak Ferenk square. Lots of connecting busses and trams and of course the metro trains. # 16 isalways there for you, back and forth, and runs from early AA until very late PM. Get a one week travel pass. At about $21.00 US equivalent. Just get it because it's well worth it. Can ride everything! Anytime! Don't fool with tickets. You can buy your pass (3 day or 7 day) at the post ofice in Terminal 2B, upstairs. Or any post office sells them. What a bargain!!
staying up on this hill at the beautiful Hilton is not an issue with easy transportation all the time.You won't regret staying here. Staff and service could not be better. If this Hilton is not good enough for you and does not meet or exceed your expectations then you do have a real problem. Get help from a travel psychiatrist.

Room Tip: Worthwhile to obtain a room that looks across the Danube. And the executive floor and lounge are tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulyduckduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate your kind words concerning the unique UNESCO World Heritage site location of the hotel and our Executive Lounge services.

Your observations are appreciated, as feedback is a vital way of reviewing the level of service we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Thank you also for up-dating Tripadvisor Community about modern and flexible public transportation facilities in Budapest.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we may look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Budapest real soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

It is a nice hotel. Location and ciew is wonderful. But some simple things are missing, like free wifi internet access or comlementary botle of water in the room.
If the hotel is busy you can face a queue to the breakfast in the restaurant.
And I would rate the quality of everyday room cleaning as 3 of 5.
Waste disposal machine waked me up at 6.30 every morning.

Room Tip: take the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOPAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Budapest and taking time to share your review on this site.
It is good to know that in general you were pleased with our services and you were impressed by our UNESCO World Heritage site location.

Please allow me to inform you that currently complimentary internet access is available only for our Executive Floor guests and we may provide free wired internet access to the Elite Members of Hilton Worldwide. We are pleased to offer gratis bottle of water to our Executive Floor guests as well as to our Silver and Elite Members.

Thank you for your feedback concerning the quality of cleaning in your room, I will make sure to forward your observation with the relevant head of department.

Concerning the noise, please accept our apologies. This noise must have come from the temporary public area maintenance works taking place behind the hotel. Fortunately, the parts of the noisy works have already been finished. We hope that the beautifully restored area will be of much pleasure to our new and regular customers.

Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This Hilton is very good but be aware there is construction on the Danube River side of the hotel and it gets noisey during the day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Please, let me inform you that the noisy part of the public space reconstruction works taking place behind the hotel building have already been finished.

We are sure that the beautifully restored UNESCO World Heritage site area will be a lot of pleasure to our new as well as our returning guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Budapest soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Facilities are excellent as is the location, high on Castle Hill on the Buda side, overlooking Pest. About a 15 minute walk from hotel to river and Pest.

As a Hilton member I was upgraded and got exec lounge access and comp breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit.

I was delighted to read that you had a positive visit to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again.


Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed at the Hilton with my hubby for a long weekend . The service is excellant as you would expect . Breakfast amazing you name it and it is there ,if not chef will cook for you . Rooms were very spacious and very clean ,if you want a river view you pay extra no chance otherwise .
Location is great for the castle but we found it a drag in the evenings if you wanted to go down and over to the pest side , you were very aware that you would need to get a taxi back if you left it too late . Buses stop around 11pm and altho you can walk up we did one evening , i'm not sure just how safe or wise a decision that would be . saying that the resturants around the castle area are very good . I highly receommend the Pest Buda resturant . Service is first class and the food excellant .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseaLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate the kind words concerning our services and facilities. It is good to know you felt well taken care of during your stay.

Please be advised, transport to/from the hotel can be easily organized: if not walking, by city busses 16 and 16A run every 5 minutes with a bus stop a very short walk from the main entrance of the hotel. Buses connect with trams and metro a short distance away -- both of which can take you into the Pest sectors. However, you can take a taxi, many of the taxi companies run at affordable prices, please check this with our Concierge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Mangers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Budapest over the weekend and had a very enjoyable experience. Hotel's location makes it a great place to stay as a visitor to Budapest, with easy access to museums and historic district. Great views from hotel over the city and Danube. Transport to/from hotel can be a challenge if not into walking, but city busses 16 and 16A run by hotel, with a bus stop a very short walk from main door. Busses connect with trams and Metro a short distance away -- both of which can take you into the Pest sectors. Busses were running very frequently when I was there. Rooms and hotel amenities were very pleasant. One problem I ran into was related to the Internet access. As a HH member, wireless was gratis, but even though there was wireless in the room, the only gratis access was the hard line - which meant I was tethered to the small desk and could not use laptop (and be connected to Internet) from the bed or the comfortable chairs or couch in the room. Seems like this bit fell between the cracks of Hilton's new policy of gratis international wireless access at its hotels for HH members. Otherwise, the hotel is well worth the stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your experience while staying with us here at the Hilton Budapest. We appreciate the kind words concerning the unique UNESCO World Heritage site location of the hotel and sharing with other readers your best tips about easy and flexible public transportation facilities.

Your observations are appreciated, as feedback is a vital way of reviewing the level of service we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Thank you for your opinion regarding the Internet access in your room. Please be advised, part of our current development plan includes installing convenient wireless internet access in guest rooms based on the preferred needs of our VIP Elite Members.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing