We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Budapest”
Review of Hilton Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Budapest
Ranked #18 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Budapest”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We lucked out and had a room in the newer section that overlooked the Parliament building and Chain Bridge. Probably the best views in the city! Incredible when lit up at night. The hotel was very clean and everyone was helpful. The breakfast was a large buffet so there wasn't any waiting around. They had a very nice sign saying how different cultures have different ideas for breakfast and they'd be happy to fix what you wanted if you didn't see it. It was very nice being in the Castle district at night as there are a lot of very good restaurants there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and letting other valued Readers know of your incredible experience.
I am really happy to find out you had a lovely stay and were satisfied with our service.
I hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,846
    992
    217
    54
    24
See reviews for
496
1,910
200
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,080)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anguilla
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Props to the Hilton Budapest- Castle District. Not the cheapest of hotels, but they certainly did not scrimp on service or guest comfort. It is nicely located atop the Buda hills in the desirable Castle District and within arms reach (almost) of St. Matthias Church and Fisherman's Bastion. The room i stayed in was comfortable and had the usual Hilton amenities. Nice bedding, nice pillows, nice cosmetics. Some rooms seemed to offer views over the Danube and to Parliament across the river, however mine allowed me a not too bad view over a cobblestone street in Castle and the tons of tourists who flock to the Castle District.

That indeed may be the biggest downfall of a hotel in the centre of tourist heaven! On my way to the hotel from the airport when I saw the hordes of tourists and the gazillion tour buses winding their way up and down the hill from/to the direction of the hotel i wondered whether I had chosen to stay in the wrong place. Castle Hill can get crowded from all the tourists wanting to experience the history, culture and the scenic views. But upon entering the hotel, one forgets the throng of curious people and cameras behind. The staff were welcoming, and the executive lounge lulled one into a sense of security and comfort with offerings of tea, alcohol and canapes.

The executive lounge indeed offers a birds eye view of the Danube river and the buildings of Budapest (the Pest side) from an architecturally intriguing connection between the old castle structure and the newer construction of this hotel where old meets new meets comfort. Tibor in the executive lounge must be commended for his pleasant, professional and oh-so-willing to assist mannerisms. Not to be outdone, the concierge/receptionists in the executive lounge showed themselves to be knowledgeable and helpful, assisting me in planning outdoor trips and activities.

Beware however, meals after hours in the Castle District is next to impossible. If you get hungry after 10pm expect only to eat at the hotel as we found that restaurants in the vicinity (including those claiming to close at midnight) close off their kitchens by 10pm.

That said, three nights at this hotel was three nights too short!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenn_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on Tripadvisor website.
Your observations and opinions regarding our unique location are much appreciated. It was particularly great to see that your impression of our splendid location as well as of our professional Team Members was positive and your felt well taken care of during your stay.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the services of our Executive Club Lounge. It enables us to monitor if we are meeting our guests' needs and expectations.

I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Budapest.

Kind regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nestled in the midst of the Castle District, Hilton Budapest is an experience in blending the old and the new. Keeping the ruins of the previous building, Hilton has built a reasonably modern and comfortable hotel within proximity to many of the historic sites of this area - walking distance of St. Mathias Church, Fisherman's Bastion, the Funicular and many others. In a word, this hotel wins on "location".

In addition to this, the hotel offers views of the Danube and the Parliament on the opposite bank and in particular these are prominent in the Executive Lounge. Located on the third floor, this lounge is a hub for all on this floor. With complimentary wireless access and a two terminal business centre adjacent to it, the lounge is certainly good for getting off that work email or printing your boarding pass. It adeptly fosters relaxation and entertainment with breakfast, tea and other beverages as well as light refreshment throughout the day. It also has dedicated staff members who is willing and ready to assist with whatever you throw at them.

The staff in the lounge and the hotel as a whole are warm, helpful, polite and many are knowledgeable about tourist destinations near and far from its Castle District base. The rooms are well appointed with all the usual Hilton amenities; the bedding comfortable and inviting. there is little if any intrusion of noise from the corridor or adjacent rooms and it allows a perfect hideaway. This is certainly a place to stay on any visit to Budapest.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for filling out a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your opinions with the Community.
I am happy to find out our unique location in UNESCO World Heritage site Buda Castle District and the service of our Executice Club Lounge exceeded your expectations.
I hope you get another chance to experience the Hilton Budapest in the near future.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Once the bus loads of tourists have gone, staying at the Hilton is like staying in a magical medieval castle. Being diamond members we were upgraded to an executive floor. We could have upgraded to a Danube view for an additional 25 euros but we were quite happy with the room we had at the front overlooking the road. It was quiet and was a large room with a large bathroom. We had complementary 1.5 litre water every day. The executive lounge provided substantial snacks e.g Lamb chops and veg, cheese board and cakes and some good quality wines with champagne on request. The view from the lounge looked over the Danube and the Houses of Parliament, quite spectacular. The service from all the staff is excellent. It is easy to get to the Pest side as the number 16 bus which runs every few minutes, stops close to the hotel and only takes 5 to 10 minutes to the centre of Pest. There are a number of excellent restaurants, bars and shops in the immediate area and we felt no need to go into Pest at night. The hotel has a handout which recommends and describes a number of restaurants closeby. The hotel also has fixed rates with taxis from the hotel to the airport which takes 35 minutes for 7200 Forints (£20). We bought a 72 hour Budapest Card (7900 Forints)from the concierge and this covered transport for all buses, trams, underground and trolley buses and even gave us free entrance to the zoo.For convenience alone, this is a good buy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review submitted to Tripadvisor website. I am glad you felt really taken care of during your stay and it is a great pleasure to hear you were satisfied with our features and service.
It would be an honour to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Our company selected this Hotel for a big customer event. The hotel and the service was extraordinary good so that our customers as well as our employess enjoyed their stay there.

Restaurant, rooms and service are really perfect so everyboday had a fantastic environment for the event.

Room Tip: rooms to the riverside are silent and have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karsten46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sbmitting your review to Tripadvisor website.
It was an honour to host your event at our hotel. I am really happy to
hear that your customers as well as your employees enjoyed their stay
with us. I look forward to working together with you and welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
909 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

For such a beautiful and well situated hotel, the stay was a bit of a disappointment.

I had room 373 with a superb view of the Parliament building and a partial view of Fisherman's Bastion. Though I was assigned a room on the club floor (3rd floor) it did not come with club privileges such as complimentary cocktails, newspaper,etc.

So apparently, you can have a room on the club floor (with its great views), and choose to pay 45 euro extra for the club services. This might not be a bad idea as the rooms are nice and the views spectacular.

This room had twin beds, was average in size and esthetically nothing special. The view is everything. Room 374 next door had a larger window, but the room looked the same size.

I stayed two nights and it was a good experience as I loved the location.

Room Tip: Pay extra if you have to, but get the Danube view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and sharing your review with us.
We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel at some point in the future and show your we care.

Kind regards,

Zoltan Árvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife decided she would take me to the capital city of her homeland, wow i was impresses, This hilton is by far one of the best i have ever stayed in.
On arrival we were upgraded to a larger room, no questions asked. The bed was massive, as a 6 ft 4 guy it was definitely a godsend. We venture out into the area that teh hotel is based in and it had a real comfortable family feel, everyone was kind and said good morning, the church was outstanding, and the views of parliment were just as beautiful, the architecture is something to die for.

The hotel had some great amemnities, i cannot really comment on these as i did not use them, However the restaurant was sublime, the pianist was great, and played flawlessly, he created a real atmosphere to the evening. Our meals were in front of use within 10 minuets which i feel is a perfect amount of time to take in the surroundings with a nice drink.

The waiter spoke in Hungarian but was quick to realise that only my wife completly understood him so he switched to english for my benefit. The meal was well cooked, and teh desert really topped the whole dining experience off. We finished with a coffee and headed back to our room.

On closer inspection (and i mean close, as i work for hotels) the room was extremely clean, the wardrobe space was more than sufficient and i nicked your slippers (sorry) There was pleanty of room in the bathroom for both of us and the room had this heritage feel about it.

I would highley reccomemnd this hotel for business, pleasure, a quick stop over or any other kind of travel. I felt like i was a very valued customer i have now decided to book my father and me into this hotel ready for the 2013 hungarian grand prix. While our wives will get to go on a pampering day.

I am already sure that this will be another great experiance.

The only issue i woul dhave to say was there was a lack of watchable tv channels, but to be honest you will be looking out at the wounderous lights of Budapest and not even care about the tv.

Can not wait to go back !!

Koszonom szepen!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the city as there are amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHILTONBP, General Manager at Hilton Budapest, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing review on this website and I wanted to personally respond and thank you.
Your detailed observations and opinions are appreciated. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our staff and service was good and you felt well taken care of during your stay.
Thank you for staying with us at Hilton Budapest and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Zoltan Arvai
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,354 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,083 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Budapest

Property: Hilton Budapest
Address: Hess Andras ter 1-3., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#14 Family Hotel in Budapest
#15 Business Hotel in Budapest
#16 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Budapest - Castle District Hotel Budapest
Budapest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing