We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to spend a few days in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #102 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
A TripAdvisor Member
“A nice place to spend a few days in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Hotel has an excellent location at the city center which is the best advantage for choosing it. People at the hotel are friendly but the rooms need a little improvement to their quality. The breakfast is at the average level for four stars hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment left on this site. We are sure it is valuable for other client when checking accomodation possibilities in Budapest. Our staff is our greates value therefore we are glad that the service they provide met your expectation. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    1,042
    469
    149
    62
See reviews for
325
1,036
107
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed there during a business trip, so my requirements were location, price and internet connection. No complain about that. Lounge is OK. Rooms are the standard ones in a Mercure hotel, not luxury but not bad also.

It may need a bit of refitting in the rooms, but nothing really annoying, taking into account the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear BorjaT,

Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted that the services we provided, met your expectation. We are happy that you enjoyed the Privilege Lounge as an additional service to your Privilege Room: all day coffee, tea and fruits, happy hours from 5-7pm with snacks and drinks, the undisturbed elegant area, free computer and printer usage, etc. We do hope during your next stay you will choose our Privilege Service again.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Right in the city center and a lot of prime sightings, like the Parliament, Cathedral etc... within walking distance (+/- 20 min). Also very convenient for the central busstation at only 500m away and good connetions to the other side of the river, to visit the Castle. The rooms are comfortable with free wifi and one can order a privelege room at an extra cost of 10% but even than the price is very reasonable at 85.30€ + 18%Vat+4% Tax. Most Capitals are much more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingwe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Ingwe40,

I am happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and services. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the centre of Budapest. It's also a special pleasure for me that you found our hotel to be good value for money. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back soon in the city and in our hotel.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

The hotel is very centrally located on Vaci utca, which is the best advantage of this hotel but it is almost impossible to find it by car. The rooms are the smallest I have ever seen in a hotel that calls themselves 4 star. The bathroom was old and extremely small.
Food in restaurant is also an average.
The staff however was nice and helpful.
I am sure there are better places to stay in Budapest. The prices are low but that is because of huge competition in Budapest, you can easily get a better hotel for just a bit more money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Lubor,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are happy that you enjoyed the location and the staff helpfullness. We really regret that you were not satisfied with the room. Among the advantages of our hotel there are the good location, the helpful staff, the possibility to have upgraded rooms (Privilege) with many extra services. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Location and price could not be beaten, however the rooms and carpeting need to be refitted. The shower was especially tight and uncomfortable. The breakfast was very well done and provided everyone with just about anything that they wished for a day's start.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chief1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear chief1260,

Thank you for your remarks. We are delighted to read your positive comments about the breakfast and the hotel location. It's also a special pleasure for us that you found our hotel to be good value for money. We look forward to welcome you back.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I had the honor of staying at this hotel during a working stay in Budapest, and for the simple purpose of sleeping and at most spending an evening resting this will do for a stay.
For simply a nights sleep and then going out this hotel presents a good location right in the middle of one of the main shoppingstreets of the city.
Rooms are decent. They appear clean and tidy, have a general good impression with a decent bathroom with a good selection of bathroom articles.
Leaving the lights on in the bathroom can turn out to be bothersome as the ventilation is also connected to the same switch. For me it helped me to relax and sleep, but not everyone has the same impression as me.
I felt the beds were a little hard and the pillows were not exactly big but an additional one should be avaliable in the closet.

Rest of the hotel:
The hotell staff are generally very friendly, trying to be helpful at all times but can sometimes be struggling with their english. I would like to emphasize "sometimes".
Breakfast is ok, although the selection quickly runs out and I sometimes spent some time waiting for a refill of the buffet. Time I not always had when starting work early and having to reach an early taxi.
Elevators in this hotel can be bothersome, they seem to be painfully slow and can be a real pain when in a hurry.

All in all though I feel this is a decent and above average hotel. I will use this hotel again.

Just be sure to bring an address to the hotel as the taxidrivers are easily confused about the some 5 or six Mercure hotels in town.

Room Tip: Not much to say, it is stuffed in between other buildings and offers little or no view. But the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odd Jarle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear dragonslayero,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your visit in Mercure Budapest City Center. I am delighted to read your positive experience about the location and the hotel overall. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed at Mercure Budapest City Hotel 5 nights from 24/11-11.
The hotel is positioned right in the middle of a shopping street. We had room at the lowest floor with rooms, about 3rd or 4th floor. Slept with the window in ventilating position and had no problems with noise from the street.
The cleaning could have been better. Some cobweb in the corners under the roof and the hovering could have been better.
Free Wi-Fi worked fine. Breakfast alright.
The staff was always helpful and smiling.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter_Sz, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Ivark,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest City Center during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our services especially with the satff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#54 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#80 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing