We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest
Ranked #247 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Our room 606 was clean neat and comfortable.
I agree with other reviews that the public areas need decorating and new carpet but our room was freshly painted, had a balcony and everything worked well including the air conditioning. Breakfast is adequate, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs and tasty cakes. A five minute bus ride outside takes you to the centre.
However it's great bonus is it's staff, particularly reception who work tirelessly to give you all the information you need to explore and enjoy this wonderful city. The even got us tickets to visit the parliament even though the official website said there were no English speaking tours that day.
On our last day our flight was cancelled by BA and they made calls to our taxi company and BA and offered us our room 606 back at a bargain price and insisted it should include Breakfast. They then made great suggestions about activities for us to use our extra time well.
Two days later when BA arranged another flight they rebooked our taxi.
Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Accept they are not very big and ask for a quiet, balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank V3212JZjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The building from the outside is fabulous, the inside tells a different story. Booked 2 single rooms only 1 room ready when we arrived had to wait 2.5 hours for other room. Bar not well stocked limited range of drinks. Safe in room not working, positioned at bottom of wardrobe so therefore had to go down on hands & knees to read instructions & try & operate.Tv very old only 1 English/Chinese channel which was in English. Duvets & pillows very thin. Duvet cover just like a sheet & open at bottom with no fastenings. Limited bath towels & not changed everyday, No bath mat to stand on when coming out of shower so had to use hand towel. Shower height couldn't be adjusted, water everywhere on floor. Wash basin cracked with no plug. Tissue box on bathroom wall remained empty for our 3 day stay. Carpet in room filthy all stained. Limited choice for breakfast. Fresh fruit salad consisted of diced pieces of orange, apple & a tinned fruit. No toast facilities only 2 types of bread. No pastures only local plain sponge cake. No fresh fruit. Cooked food half raw. Small swing bins on table for rubbish not a nice feature. Carpet in breakfast room filthy all stained. Staff in breakfast room never spoke only to ask room number at entrance. General appearance of hotel in corridors was awful, carpets filthy & walks all marked. Do not know how this hotel has a 4 star rating. Standard & upkeep very poor!
Only positives were the hotel reception staff & girl working in bar were friendly. Italian restaurant adjoined to hotel was great, food was of a high standard & staff friendly.
Hotel in good position for transport.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank annamc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

I think this place would receive better reviews if it didn't bill itself as '4 star'. It may have been 4 star in its heyday but those days are long past.

I enjoyed my 2 night stay here, mostly because I travel with low expectations. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bed was comfortable, the wifi worked, and the place was quiet enough.

I did not have breakfast there because I prefer local coffee shops in the morning when I travel. I also don't have my room made up. Instead, I just ask for towels. So on these points I cannot comment.

Once you figure it out, the transit system in Budapest is excellent. There is a subway station right at the hotel but don't be afraid of using the buses and trams. You'll see a lot more of the city. Like the Golden Park Hotel, Budapest may no longer be as grand as it once was but it is friendly and affordable.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gus_Stiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

The hotel location is right next to M4 metro station. Very easy to find.
We got a room, but it smells crazy, we went to reception and asked for changing rooms. The reception guy was nice and changed a new room for us.
Then we surprisingly found out the room is extremely small and very dirty.
Carpet and wall are stained. There is a small balcony towards the street, it is very noisy in the morning.
The breakfast doesn't have much options even though it cost 11 euro.
There is no security control in the lift.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I saty in this Hotel begining of may and i enjoy the city and the hotel!!!
the breakfast was excellent!
only problem the lady in the BAR she was very rood.
and i ask for glass of HOT WATER she asm me to diposite MONEY FOR THE GLASS?
i said ok i can give money no problem.

Room Tip: Ms Judi, was very helpfull and very kind!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank daniel772017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Great reception, got to the room was expecting a little more but was ok for two people, shower curtain was dirty, carpets stained, mattress stained and old, TV thick with dust and the balcony door was broke so had to climb out the window. Breakfast was ok but could do with more variety! Air con didn't work and due to the traffic outside the hotel it was either a sweaty night sleep or broken sleep due to noise! Location was ok had shops nearby and local breweries, main shops and sights were a good 20-25 minute walk or you have bus/tram/ taxi stops right outside the hotel! Had a good stay and would go Budapest again but maybe upgrade my hotel so was closer to the sights and town centre! :-)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Booked this Hotel as part of a package holiday through a travel agent. We were supposed to stay for 4 nights. We checked out after 1.
The initial room we were given smelled, had scuffs on every single wall of the room, was uncomfortable, the bed looked like it should have belonged to my great Grandma as well as the rest of the furniture. We spoke to the staff who were super friendly! They showed us 3 other rooms of which were pretty much the same standard. One room had a wooden floor so we decided to give it a chance. The aircon didn't work and the room was boiling so all windows were open. Because of this we had constant noise from trains,trams, buses, cars etc. I normally can sleep through traffic noise but i had added noise from the skylights and birds on the roof. So no sleep was had.
The shower was appauling. It was fitted badly therefore water went everywhere.
We checked out the next morning. Of which once again the staff were super helpful! It is a shame that the buildings and rooms can not match up to the friendly standard of the staff.
Looking at the hotel website the room pictures do not match what we saw. Very poor.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#118 of 336 in Budapest
597 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Hotel Hungaria City Center
#129 of 336 in Budapest
2,386 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#226 of 336 in Budapest
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlas City Hotel
#245 of 336 in Budapest
573 reviews
Park Inn By Radisson Budapest
#126 of 336 in Budapest
407 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#250 of 336 in Budapest
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest

Address: Baross ter 10, Budapest 1087, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $41 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Golden Park is centrally located in the heart of the business district of Budapest, close to many sights and directly opposite of the train station Keleti pályaudvar. The Syma Hall, the Puskas Ferenc Stadium and the Aréna Plaza, one of the largest shopping centers in Central Europe, are only a few minutes' walking distance away. The impressive building of the Golden Park Hotel is over 100 years old and has a wonderful facade. It offers elegant rooms with soundproofed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Golden Park Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Park Budapest
Hotel Golden Park
Golden Park Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing