We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Star City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star City Hotel
Ranked #123 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend came to Budapest on a budget holiday, an 11 night stay cost us about £170 ish each, so we weren't expecting an amazing hotel. However, our room is very spacious and clean, the breakfast is excellent and the staff are wonderful and helpful. My only criticism is the place could do with a lick of paint here and there, other than that, a fantastic place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, Értékesítési igazgató at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest 'Natasha M',

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I was very happy to read that you liked the services, the kidness of the staff and you were satisfied with the breakfast selection of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Star City Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Csilla Mormer
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel staff were friendly with good English. The desk was manned 24hrs. When asked they provided good information and directions for restuarants. Breakfast is basic European fare - rolls, croissant, scrambled eggs, tea, coffee etc. Wi-fi was good in the rooms. I had a 3rd floor room overlooking the courtyard. Only downside was occasional stale smoke from below. I could also hear the lift but that didn't disturb my sleep. My room was a good size, 2 single beds, however a friend had a single room which was no bigger than the bed itself. The only reason I would not go back would be the risk of getting one of the tiny rooms in another part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALJ_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest 'ALJ_XXX',

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on your stay at Star City Hotel.
I was very happy to read your kind feedback and to receive overall a 'very good' evaluation.
Our reception is open 24 hours a day and my colleagues are always happy to answer all questions or to help in all kind of matters.
Our hotel is non-smoking according to the official legislation, but in order to satisfy our guests' needs there is a smoking area in the spacious inner courtyard of the hotel, as far as possible from the windows facing the inner court.
I would like to encourage you to return in the future, though we have different type of rooms, in case you'll send us your preferences regarding the room size and type, we will be more than happy to book the most suitable room for you.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Star City Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager
Star City Hotel ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Let me begin by saying that the staff was excellent. I arrived late at night and the hotel was already locked. I rang the bell and the hotel clerk let me in. It was good to know that the entrance to the hotel was secure. The clerk was pleasant and helpful despite the fact that it was 1:00 a.m. When I got to the room, I was surprised that I had been given a large suite; a small room with one twin bed and a larger room with two twin beds. I assumed that the hotel was not busy and therefore I was upgraded.

The room was clean, but really needs updating. The carpeting was clean but a threadbare and in some places you could see it was repaired. As in most 3-star Budapest hotels, there are no amenities in the bathroom except for the soap dispenser which dispenses the same soap for your body and for shampoo. The lighting was poor and I had to use my phone flashlight in order to have enough light to read at night.

I chose the hotel because I had an event in the 11th District and this hotel was very close to where the event was taking place. My children live in Budapest so I visit very often but this was the first time I was in that particular neighborhood. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the numbers 4 and 6 trams, and to the main street. For a tourist, it is just a little bit out of the way for the major tourist sites. Breakfast was disappointing, with little variety and not much imagination compared with other 3-star hotels.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, ask for a larger room with good lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel has very good location, about 5 min. walk to eastern railway station. We travel as 5 friends and booked 2 rooms (for 2 people with double bed and for 3 people). Our room (for 3 people) was at first floor next to terrace (it is the smoking place with windowed elevator). In hotel we spend 2 nights and the room was cleaned once. The room was well equipped, with lcd tv, minibar and air-conditioning. It was hot in the room and we cant control the temperature, only with air-conditioning and windows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumika007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel is nice, if you are not demanding much. The best that we got from it is a free welcome drink fortunately in the center direction named Lado. This was wonderful charming place with a live jazz music and great food and in addition extremely pleasant stuff. The breakfast is nothing special..there is no any vegetables and natural yogurts..but than the price per night was not big, so you can live with that..the hotel main advantage is train station closeness..hotel is approx. 25-30 min walk to chain bridge..15 min to New York caffe, but than again You can easily walk till Varosliget...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasna1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A great hotel, clean, warm and a great breakfast. Good location, not far from the Eastern Railway Stn with access to the Metro and buses. Half an hour walk to the river. Staff very friendly, receptionist recommended Paprika for dinner which was a 7 min walk from the hotel - good Hungarian food, lots of it and at a great price. Would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms large, we had 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwood_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest "jwood_47",

Thank you very much for your kind review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Star City Hotel, liked the breakfast and our staff could help you to find out where are the good places to visit or to eat.
I hope that we could contribute to your memorable stay in Budapest and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

A very good hotel always clean with good staff and good breakfast. Prices were very good, would go back again. It is based close to the city centre and the main railway station, it is also close to the new West End shopping centre which is good valuefor your money. There are also plenty of street cafe's available in the evening and the food and service here is very good and good value.

Room Tip: Apply early as tends to get booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david2013712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest 'david2013712',

Thank you very much for your kind review.
I was very happy to read that you liked the location of Star City Hotel and you were satisfied with the cleanliness and with the breakfast selection of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Star City Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#127 of 334 in Budapest
572 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#244 of 334 in Budapest
563 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 334 in Budapest
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#221 of 334 in Budapest
675 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#251 of 334 in Budapest
227 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 334 in Budapest
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Address: Istvan utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $58 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Star City Hotel (member of Mellow Mood Hotels) is located in Budapest city centre on the Pest side of Budapest 10 - minute walk from Keleti Palyaudvar, international railway station(500 m) and Metro station (Red Metro line 2) - which gives easy access to all parts of Budapest. Star City Hotel has 48 well-equipped,comfortable and relaxing rooms all of which feature FREE Wireless Internet access. In the hotel's open-plan lobby you can relax after a busy day, enjoying Hungary's famous spirits and international drinks as well. Room types include singles, doubles (with double or twin beds), triples and four-bedded family rooms. The adjoining rooms have a connecting door, a useful feature for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing