We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
100
179
116
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
179
116
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews keleti station heroes' square mini bar is minute walk single room public transport fresh towels breakfast was delicious rooms are big clean rooms within walking distance tourist attractions very nice hotel city europe buses
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 451 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff were friendly with good English. The desk was manned 24hrs. When asked they provided good information and directions for restuarants. Breakfast is basic European fare - rolls, croissant, scrambled eggs, tea, coffee etc. Wi-fi was good in the rooms. I had a 3rd floor room overlooking the courtyard. Only downside was occasional stale smoke from below. I could also hear the lift but that didn't disturb my sleep. My room was a good size, 2 single beds, however a friend had a single room which was no bigger than the bed itself. The only reason I would not go back would be the risk of getting one of the tiny rooms in another part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALJ_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Guest 'ALJ_XXX',

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on your stay at Star City Hotel.
I was very happy to read your kind feedback and to receive overall a 'very good' evaluation.
Our reception is open 24 hours a day and my colleagues are always happy to answer all questions or to help in all kind of matters.
Our hotel is non-smoking according to the official legislation, but in order to satisfy our guests' needs there is a smoking area in the spacious inner courtyard of the hotel, as far as possible from the windows facing the inner court.
I would like to encourage you to return in the future, though we have different type of rooms, in case you'll send us your preferences regarding the room size and type, we will be more than happy to book the most suitable room for you.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Star City Hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager
Star City Hotel ***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Let me begin by saying that the staff was excellent. I arrived late at night and the hotel was already locked. I rang the bell and the hotel clerk let me in. It was good to know that the entrance to the hotel was secure. The clerk was pleasant and helpful despite the fact that it was 1:00 a.m. When I got to the room, I was surprised that I had been given a large suite; a small room with one twin bed and a larger room with two twin beds. I assumed that the hotel was not busy and therefore I was upgraded.

The room was clean, but really needs updating. The carpeting was clean but a threadbare and in some places you could see it was repaired. As in most 3-star Budapest hotels, there are no amenities in the bathroom except for the soap dispenser which dispenses the same soap for your body and for shampoo. The lighting was poor and I had to use my phone flashlight in order to have enough light to read at night.

I chose the hotel because I had an event in the 11th District and this hotel was very close to where the event was taking place. My children live in Budapest so I visit very often but this was the first time I was in that particular neighborhood. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the numbers 4 and 6 trams, and to the main street. For a tourist, it is just a little bit out of the way for the major tourist sites. Breakfast was disappointing, with little variety and not much imagination compared with other 3-star hotels.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, ask for a larger room with good lighting.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel has very good location, about 5 min. walk to eastern railway station. We travel as 5 friends and booked 2 rooms (for 2 people with double bed and for 3 people). Our room (for 3 people) was at first floor next to terrace (it is the smoking place with windowed elevator). In hotel we spend 2 nights and the room was cleaned once. The room was well equipped, with lcd tv, minibar and air-conditioning. It was hot in the room and we cant control the temperature, only with air-conditioning and windows.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumika007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is nice, if you are not demanding much. The best that we got from it is a free welcome drink fortunately in the center direction named Lado. This was wonderful charming place with a live jazz music and great food and in addition extremely pleasant stuff. The breakfast is nothing special..there is no any vegetables and natural yogurts..but than the price per night was not big, so you can live with that..the hotel main advantage is train station closeness..hotel is approx. 25-30 min walk to chain bridge..15 min to New York caffe, but than again You can easily walk till Varosliget...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasna1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A great hotel, clean, warm and a great breakfast. Good location, not far from the Eastern Railway Stn with access to the Metro and buses. Half an hour walk to the river. Staff very friendly, receptionist recommended Paprika for dinner which was a 7 min walk from the hotel - good Hungarian food, lots of it and at a great price. Would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms large, we had 208
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwood_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarCityHotelManager, General Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest "jwood_47",

Thank you very much for your kind review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in Star City Hotel, liked the breakfast and our staff could help you to find out where are the good places to visit or to eat.
I hope that we could contribute to your memorable stay in Budapest and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Schwindt-Kiss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews