We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best tours”

Budapest Jewish Heritage Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.57*
and up
Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour
Ranked #33 of 302 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Budapest has the largest Jewish community in Central Europe, with an active religious, artistic and historical Jewish heritage. Through centuries the Hungarian and Jewish history has been intertwined. Hungarian Jews played and are also playing today an important role in the country's economical, cultural and political life. Since 1995 we show to Budapest visitors the Hungarian and Jewish culture in our country. Our well trained guides have the necessary qualifications to help you understand the Jewish past and present in Budapest and in Hungary. Tours are organized in two languages (English and German). We try to keep the sightseeing tours with small groups of guests.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best tours”
Reviewed 27 December 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the full immersion into the Hungarian Jewish History as it's both a rich and deep. Anna was our guide and she went above and beyond to really fill us in on the history as well as to provide us with additional tips and advise on other places to see and things to do during our trip. It's a very sad tour for obvious reasons, but this is a part of history we can never allow anyone to forget.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank tiredtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    31
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biasca, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Joy and pain. Unique.”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Very interesting. Every corner. The history is here. Difficult part, tell my son how 200'000 hungarian, jewish, were deported and die. It's a wonderful place

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank Franzcarrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tour and tour guide”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

The tour was very interesting. Fatima was an incredible tour guide. She was articulate, knowledable and funny. We're not Jewish but that didn't matter as she explained the things we wouldn't have understood.

The only negative is that she doesn't come into the Dohany Synagogue at the end leaving us to go through it on our own. I would have loved to have had her along to explain things.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank John543212345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Budapest Jewish heritage walking tour”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Our wonderful guide Anna was fantastic full of knowledge. There was just myself and my partner and 2 trainees on our walk. We visited synagogues the Jewish quarter the Hungarian Jewish museum and we also went into a local cafe for coffee and cake would thorough recommend

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank smileywylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour of the Jewish quarter”
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Our guide was Fatima who was excellent and delightful. The group was a mixture of Jewish and non Jewish with mixed knowledge of the religion. We all came away having learnt a great deal of Jewish history with moving stories of those who helped Jews avoid persecution and murder during WW2.
Mostly outside so wear suitable clothing and we were on our feet for about 4.5hrs but finished with a well deserve kosher cake!
Highly recommended.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank tutnallmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Budapest Jewish Heritage Tours also viewed

 

Been to Budapest Jewish Heritage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing