We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewish Heritage Walking Tour”

Budapest Jewish Heritage Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.49*
and up
Budapest Jewish Heritage Walking Tour
Ranked #29 of 300 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Budapest has the largest Jewish community in Central Europe, with an active religious, artistic and historical Jewish heritage. Through centuries the Hungarian and Jewish history has been intertwined. Hungarian Jews played and are also playing today an important role in the country's economical, cultural and political life. Since 1995 we show to Budapest visitors the Hungarian and Jewish culture in our country. Our well trained guides have the necessary qualifications to help you understand the Jewish past and present in Budapest and in Hungary. Tours are organized in two languages (English and German). We try to keep the sightseeing tours with small groups of guests.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Cowra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jewish Heritage Walking Tour”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Very detailed and well explained tour of the old Jewish quarter with Szusza. It was very wet and cold but she never faltered, answering all our quuestions and providing lots of background knowledge. It has had so much sadness in its history so I liked the way she rounded off the morning on a happy note by showwing us how it is now a lively entertainment precinct where peop,e come to enjoy themselves.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrietHobson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    31
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free Jewish Legacy Tour”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Although this tour offered for free it was quite extensive. we had a enlightened guide who gave us a full background and all information on the sites we visited as well as on the legacy of the Jewish community. She was realy good and we tipped her accordingly.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
3 Thank Rami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our tour with Petra”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Our overall rating is that Petra’s performance was excellent and we would recommend her and this tour to anyone. Petra was very well prepared for the tour. She had precise information to provide at every step of the tour. There was no wasted time. She had very much to say about every aspect of the Jewish Quarter and its history. She had extensive facts (dates, names, details) at hand and fully committed to memory. When we asked questions, we found that Petra had even more knowledge to share with us. We had no ability to speak Hungarian, but this was not a problem because Petra’s English was very good and we understood everything she said.

Even though the tour was very expensive, our money was well spent. This was our first activity in Budapest, and remained a distinct highlight of our 5-day visit in Hungary.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Grand Tour”
Reviewed 27 December 2016

My focus on this trip to Europe was the Jewish history and culture of Central Europe. I started in Budapest and was not disappointed. Viktoria was a wonderful tour guide. She led us through streets rich in the history and culture and explained what we were seeing well. I was amazed at what I was experiencing. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best tours”
Reviewed 27 December 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the full immersion into the Hungarian Jewish History as it's both a rich and deep. Anna was our guide and she went above and beyond to really fill us in on the history as well as to provide us with additional tips and advise on other places to see and things to do during our trip. It's a very sad tour for obvious reasons, but this is a part of history we can never allow anyone to forget.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
3 Thank tiredtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Budapest Jewish Heritage Tours also viewed

 

Been to Budapest Jewish Heritage Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing