We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room at good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fabius Panzio
Ranked #111 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable room at good price”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We chose this hotel for its location, the included breakfast and free parking. We asked for a quiet nonsmoking room and got # 36. The room did smell of smoke at first but after we left the window open overnight it was better. The only problem we had was that the nearby cogwheel train was awfully noisy at night. There were also a lot of sirens, but there is a hospital just yards away so that can't be helped. Next time we will ask for room 35 next door which faces away from the streets.
The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels smelled wonderfully clean. We got soap and shampoo daily. There is an elevator, though not to the top floor which has a dorm type room with sloping ceilings.
Breakfast was adequate, though I can't imagine why they had supermarket type bread when there are so many wonderful bakeries in the city. They have dry cereal, yogurt. cold cuts, tomatos and green peppers, butter and jam and tea and coffee - and imitation orange juice, of course.
The exchange rate was fair - they do not take credit cards!
The A/C was very quiet and efficient.
The front desk staff was helpful and spoke good English.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street will be quieter. The attic does not have elevator access and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QR_manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Fabius Panzio, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear kay036,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion and experiences with us! It is truly glamorous to us to read how well pleased you were with us in general, and that you were extra satisfied with our room services and breakfast offers! It is also great to read that regardless of the smaller hindrances you have managed to fully benefit from every advantage of our location.

We are grateful for your insights that yu have shared with us! We would like to wish you safe travels, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

The Fabius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
9
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The positives of this hotel are the helpful, friendly staff; location in a pleasant, quiet (I didn't notice the sirens from the nearby hospital) residential neighborhood with easy access to the tram; computer with Internet access in the lobby; and modest price. Our rooms (2 small, cramped attic rooms with slanted low ceilings and a shared bath) are not for everyone. We were offered an opportunity to "upgrade" to a standard room, but declined without viewing the any other rooms. There are limited options for dining nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankaret_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QR_manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Fabius Panzio, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear Ankaret_10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us on TripAdvisor! We are extremely grateful for all the information you have provided, most of which still prevails; we would like to believe, however, that we have improved much during the years that have passed since this review, and we hope that we will one day be able to welcome you again and ask you whether in your opinion we are on the right track!

For the time being, we would like to wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

The Fabius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the rooms at the top of the building.

The breakfast was quite good and the staff were helpful and friendly but the the room was very small. We got a 3 for 2 nights deal which made it a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tf_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QR_manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Fabius Panzio, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear tf_81,

We are grateful that you have shared our opinion with us back in the days, which we have now re-discovered during our social media follow-up! We are glad that you had a good time with us which you have also found good value; we would like to wish you safe travels, and we hope that one day we will be able to welcome you here with us again!

Sincerely,

The Fabius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Clean and charming, but with a really mouldy, smelly bathroom.
Very thin walls. Had to listen to the neighbours at it all night. Close to the hospital so lots of sirens all night too.
Very inconvenient location. Had to catch 1-2 trams just to get into town. But at least the trams a 2 minutes from the door.
I wouldn't stay here again.
Better off staying on the other side of the river in Pest.

  • Liked — Nice building
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbours, gross breakfast.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QR_manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Fabius Panzio, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear AuntieSimone,

We are sorry to read that back in the days we failed to provide you with n accommodation that would perfectly suit your needs; we have made improvements since, mainly based on the kind guests who provided us with invaluable descriptions and feedback just like this one!

We would like to wish for much happiness and safety during your travels, and, if we may, we would still hope to see you again one day!

Sincerely,

The Fabius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

No doubt this hotel is good value for money. Has a small friendly feel about it. My double room was very nice, clean and quiet. The staff were helpful. On the downside, the breakfast was disappointing (The kitchen staff seemed to hide from guests, apparently to avoid preparing cooked breakfasts.) My room safe was broken and no effort made to repair it. And the location (10 - 15 minutes walk to the nearest Metro) is remote. The Thai restaurant adjacent to the hotel is excellent and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_Reyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QR_manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Fabius Panzio, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear Snowylad,

We are happy that you were not only generally satisfied with us, but also found us good value back then! We would like to offer our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences in retrospect; we would like to wish you safe travels, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

The Fabius Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2006

As a party of three (mother and daughter plus adult female friend) we had booked a "junior suite" (in the eaves). We found it delightful - just like living in a doll's house (in the nicest possible way) - and although compact, the two bedrooms (and a shower room between us) had everything we needed. A convenient location (not particularly central, but Budapest's transport system is so excellent it does not matter). Spotlessly clean and with obliging staff. Small enough to feel personal. We felt we had made a lucky choice.

  • Liked — Personal rather than a huge hotel
  • Disliked — Being hurried out of breakfast
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QR_manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Hotel Fabius Panzio, responded to this review, 8 November 2014
Dear Ninegreen,

We would like to thank you very much for writing us our first review! We are still happy to read how pleased you were with us, and that we could provide you with a stay and with memories of Budapest that you perhaps still remember! If you do, we are absolutely honoured and delighted; but even if you don't, we hope that one day we could see you again, and be of help in gaining even sweeter memories guaranteed to be worth to remember!

We would like to wish you safe travels, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

The Fabius Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Budapest
#157 of 334 in Budapest
825 reviews
Belvedere Hotel
#94 of 334 in Budapest
393 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#120 of 334 in Budapest
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fabius Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabius Panzio

Property: Hotel Fabius Panzio
Address: Varosmajor utca 88, Budapest 1122, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fabius Panzio 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with family atmosphere on the quiet Buda side of the city, at walking distance from metro station M2 and the historical castle district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fabius Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing