We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luna
Ranked #242 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The staff do an excellent job in the midst of hardships. A large tour group from another nearby country arrived and were incredibly noisy until well after 1 a.m.. Staff tried to get them to be quieter.
The Staff were apologetic the next morning and spoke with the tour leaders. There was an improvement the next night.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRinUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2015

If all you need is a cheap very hard bed this is your place. I have stayed in a lot of hotels, this one underwhelmed big time!

Our "nonsmoking room" smelled like an ashtray. There was no phone in the room and pretty sketchy wifi.

Overall the place was clean, but no frills for sure.

Breakfast was really basic too.

The one upside? They have a conference room.
The downside? There are no decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

I've stayed in Luna during the Ny celeb days. The building itself is nice and modern. Rooms are not large, but space would be enough for two. The furniture isn't too much used-so the rooms are tidy and quite cozy. The breakfast is average for city EU hotels.The only flaws I've discovered were location(half an hour by tram to the city centre)and quality of Hk work(cleaning lady just slightly made my bad and changed the bag in the garb.basket)I would recommend Luna to the travelers with car or excursion groups.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

ACCOMMODATION: I have stayed into an apartment with 2 bedrooms which was extremely price for what it offers (~80 euros / night). The furniture is very old and of low quality. In the rooms there is a very strange smell, which you could not get rid of even if I have kept the doors / windows open for several hours. At night in the room, you will find a lot of mosquitoes, so beware of those too. There is no minibar/fridge into the room. Also, it is very hot into the room, so you have 2 choices: sleep in the hot atmosphere or open a window overnight to get some air, but get annoyed by mosquitoes ;).

FOOD: The breakfast was terrible. After I woke up in the morning, I was counting on the breakfast to start the day nicely. This was absolutely not the case. It is the worst breakfast I have ever seen. There were few eggs there and some spoiled cheese and sausages. I could not eat anything from there, so you'd better buy your own food, than getting into trouble with their food - it looked expired.

LOCATION: The hotel is located on the Budapest ring road, so if you want to reach the city center, you have to take a TAXI - and takes a long time (30-35 minutes) to arrive to the destination and the taxi cost is ~15 EUR. I understood there is also some public transport, but you may have trouble with that.
-----------------------------------------

So unless, you do not have alternative, please choose another hotel - and you will thank me for taking my advice. Also, I, myself have made a mistake and took a decision in haste. Instead of paying 70 euros/night, you will find way better hotels at this price or even lower and then take a taxi wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel was still being completed when we stayed there. The breakfast area was filled with construction work and the selection was poor. It is far from the centre. Public transport is available but takes a long time. The room is big and the bed was soft. However the room is very hot and there was not curtains even in the bathroom. Anyone can look in. The window handle was broken. The staff are helpful but not organised. The room was also crammed in next to the cleaning closert, so throughout the day you had the smell of bleach and sound of washing michines. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank fishatthechippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with nice rooms. Very basic with a decent breakfast. It has a good parking place and the parking is free.It's near a tram of public transport so you'll be within centre Budapest in 15 minutes

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Washant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at Luna Hotel in January 2012.
The hotel is pretty much ok for one night stay.
Average rooms, a bit smelly (they should not allow smoking in the rooms).
Fair breakfast in the morning.

The good point about this hotel is that it is close to the highway, they have a private parking place where you can safely park the car.

Overall our stay was average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Pension Helios
#121 of 336 in Budapest
344 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 336 in Budapest
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#31 of 336 in Budapest
3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Address: Vegyesz utca 17, Budapest 1116, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $46 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing