We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good - could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queen Mary Hotel
Ranked #188 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good - could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

I went to the hotel directly, as guided by Lonely Planet, to book a single room. They could only give me 2 nights instead of 3 but that's ok. The price was good for a 'mid-range hotel' by Eastern European standards, after a rather not-so-good past experience with a claimed 4-star hotel in Prague (over-priced, under-average rooms and services). 70Euros for one person/night close to the heart of the city is good value for money. The bathroom was clean, bed just-right and a fully functioning air-con during those 30degree days is a plus. The breakfast could be a lot better - at least the bread and coffee could be slightly better! Then again, I went on to a 4-star hotel nearby for night 3 and it wasn't that much better either except for the bed and lighting in the room. So I guess that's the general standard in Eastern Europe.

I would recommnd this hotel (yeah, have to agree that it isn't really a 'hotel', then again, it's Eastern Europe) simply for its value for money and location.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Disliked — Breakfest - could be better
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psuedochemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    40
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
36
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

over all i enjoyed staying at the hotel it was rather small and after a couple of days of sport you really wish you could have a nice cooked breakfast rather than some chocolate stuff and also the man who stood at the door writting your numbers down was rather creapy and what was the point!

  • Liked — a bed to sleep on
  • Disliked — no change in the breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fencingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

Linda and the hot water were the ONLY two good things about this hotel. We ordered a triple room and were NOT told that the lift only goes up to the 4th floor. I have a back problem and one of my daughters is pregnant and no help was offered getting our very heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs. The room itself was clean and fairly spacious BUT it was below zero weather and we had one SMALL THIN blanket each and our request for an extra one was ignored. We had one roll of toilet paper per day for three people....The breakfast was SO bad we didnt even bother with it.The only English speaking TV channel was Eurosport,and the ONLY nice person who at least TRIED to be helpful was a gal named Linda.We were very disappointed with the hotel in general.I wonderd if the people who wrote such positive reviews stayed at the same Queen Mary!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything-and I am NOT fussy!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rotem6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2007

Just returned from a four night stay at the Queen Mary. The hotel is small, clean, modern and very well located. The staff is always friendly (well, my husband does speak Hungarian!) Breakfasts at the hotel are excellent. The area is full of great restaurants, cafes and pubs. Lots of supermarkets and shops. We were very satisfied with our stay here, and think that this is a wonderful three star hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, price and good location
  • Disliked — Poor satellite t.v. No news programs (Fox, CNN, BBC etc.)
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boojies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

I visited Budapest with my family on 21st June 2007 and got a warm welcome at the hotel, knowing that we couldn't have all we had reserved. We had reserved a triple room (1 double bed, 1 single bed and a cot for a baby) but a few days before the arrival, I got a reply to my enquiry saying that there was not going to be the extra bed for the first night. Well, we never got that bed at all, for any night.

And also, when trying to solve the price issue, our friends with the same problem, got a 10% discount because they had reserved the room directly at the hotel. I tried to do the same, but it seems that I had a wrong email address (.com instead of .hu) and the reservation went through a travel agency, causing that we had to pay full price, although lower then the price on their website.

This above is not necessarily all the hotels fault, I admit that the email-thingy was my bad, but the hotel could have reduced the price, even for a few euros, to make me happy. Unfortunately, I have to say that it was a disappointment, although the hotel itself was clean and quiet. The neighbourhood was a bit messy but that didn't bother much. A short walk anywhere in the town and the air conditioning actually worked, so pluses for that. Service was ok, excluding the price problem.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — No reduction in price even if the room wasn't what we expected.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank not_blufFINg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2007

Well situated in central Budapest, close to tram stops. Hotel noticeably clean. Our twin bedroom was spacious with good storage and matching furniture, spacious en suite, air conditioning, TV (local programmes only), mini-bar. Hotel has a lift. Staff were friendly and most helpful. A good breakfast buffet. All-in-all excellent value for money. One drawback, the street in which the hotel is situated can be quite noisy.

  • Liked — clean, friendly
  • Disliked — towels too hard! Like sandpaper!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2007

This hotel is great value - it only cost us about £40 per person for
a triple room for two night and £60 per person for a double room for two nights.

The rooms were very spacious and clean, but very hot - not sure the air con worked well!

The breakfast was a nice continental breakfast and on until 10 am, but they are very strict about not taking food out of the room.

It is a fairly central location - near to lots of nice bars and the nice Andrassy boulevard. It is about 20 min walk to the St Stephens Basilica.

Beware the taxi ordered from the hotel to the airport is a lot more expensive than the journey into town - have the money spare!

  • Liked — spacious rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the air con and the lift!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#163 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#126 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Di Verdi Imperial Hotel
#149 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#212 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Mary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Mary Hotel

Property: Queen Mary Hotel
Address: Kertesz utca 34, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Mary Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Queen Mary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing