We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, great hotel”
Review of Hotel Parlament

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Parlament
Ranked #7 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The front desk staff (Tomas and a gal whose name escapes me) were very helpfull. A very nice breakfast buffet every morning with tea/coffee available all day/night. In a quiet part of the city, a little bit of a walk away from things but walking is what we do on vacations.
Would stay here again

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this hotel. The hotel is a little out of the path of the town center of Pest but is an easy walk. We arrived by train and I had to make a call to find the hotel. We took the subway and with directions from the staff we arrived without problem. The hotel decor was modern and very eye appealing. The staff was excellent. Especially Mr. Tibor Szajcz and his trainee( I can not recall her name). They offered to help us with mailing a letter, restaurant recommendations and they had a breakfast to go package for us for our next train trip. The room was nice. The bed was comfortable. We did ask for extra pillows. The a/c was not on yet for the season and the room was warm. The room we had(401) was next to the elevator, so it was heard throughout the night but not a problem that was worth requesting a move. They recommended the restaurant Zsakbamacskahoz(cat in the sack).
The restaurant was walking distance from the hotel. The restaurant was family owned. It was located in a cellar and the atmosphere was nice. Good food. We had Hungarian goulash which is nothing like the US goulash. It came out in a kettle that was hung from a hook. Very good. More of a beef stew. Very little beef. Good meal. My husband got the chicken paprika and I got the stuffed cabbage. Both were very good. The restaurant was busy. The service slightly slow for US standard but no problem. We did make a reservation and I would recommend that if you eat late. It was packed when we left. We also were recommended the Strudel House, of which also was a quick walk from the hotel. This was my favorite meal of the whole vacation. We sat by the glass that allowed you to watch the strudel being made. We got the chicken strudel appetizer and it was wonderful. It could of easily been a meal in itself. We also had the chicken breast stuffed with asparagus, wrapped with bacon and grilled. It was very good. Desert! The strudel was yummy. We had one to share but my husband bought three to go. Very good. Again the best part of the hotel was the staff. The breakfast included in the cost offered a nice variety of food.

Room Tip: Try not to be next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robben4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

good base for sightseeing.
breakfast - varied
very nice staff
bar staff very helpful
used best western points so not sure if particularly good value

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel was very nice and for the money, excellent. A little bit away from the main attractions but in walking distance, so if you don't mind a walk (which we don't) perfectly suitable. Rooms are very nice; shower only though, no bath. It was unseasonably warm when we were there in February (over 10 degrees) and we wanted air conditioning but the AC unit only kicked out heating. Apparently this changes in the summer months but there was nothing they could do about it at the time. Breakfast was really good. Free internet in the rooms and the restaurant (iPads were available there) was also a nice touch. There was a very small spa area too, but it was too busy when we tried to use it. Also free tea coffee water available until 5pm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali_heppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The parlament hotel is a good choice for anyone need a central hotel in Budapest, in the old Pest, 5th district. Located just behind Szabadsag tér, is really close to the parlamenr building and the Duna river (about 10 minutes walking). Parlament hotel is stil my first choice every time I"m in Budapest, and I"m in Budapest about two times in a month. Smoking rooms are available on 5th floor. There is a little spa with a jacuzzi open till 10pm, a little sauna for about 5 person but no swimming pool. You can have a nice breakfast with international choices. So, good, clean, quite where you can have really nice sleep in the little but confortable rooms. Just a fault: no slippers available in the rooms, so bring it from your house : )

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Best Western Parlament (known as Parlament Hotel), is newly renovated hotel on a small street. The rooms (at least the one I stayed in) spacious with trendy furniture. The desktop is a little to small if you plan to work at your room, but other than that, it has enough space.

They offer a very good breakfast buffet and free water and coffee at the lobby lounge from 10 am to 5 pm, which is very nice.

The street where the hotel located is most of the time very quiet, however every 10-15 minutes a tram passes in the street, and if you are a light sleeper, it could be noisy to sleep in the rooms facing the street.

For me the only reason that will make me not stay in this hotel in the future is the lack of fitness room. They do have a very nice wellness room (e.g. sauna, jacuzzi etc.) but they don’t have any fitness equipment.

Overall, if you are looking for a very nice hotel in a decent price, this could be a good pick.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night leisure city break at the Hotel which we chose based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was on the 3rd floor and noise from other guests or the street was never an issue. It was spotlessly clean and adequately furnished in a 'boutique ' style. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety and quality. At peak times the room can become a liitle cramped - but that is true of many hotels. All staff were friendly and helpful and the reception staff always made a point of greeting us as we came and went. There is free use of computers with internet access which was great for checking in and printing boarding passes for the return flight. The Wellness Centre was out of action for maintenance while we were there but this was not a big deal for us as we found plenty to see and do to occupy our 4 days. The Hotel is well positioned - easy walking distance from the Parliament ( good , free to visit ) and Danube and a pleasant stroll to the Chain Bridge. The comfortable bar with free hot and cold drink up to 5pm is a bonus , especially after a day of sightseeing. The Hotel offers to organise taxi transfers to/from the Airport - this worked really well .
We had planned a tour of the Opera House ( c£9pp ) but instead managed to get tickets for La Traviata for c£4 each - bargain
An earlier reviewer mentioned Pomo D'Oro restaurant - we ate there twice , great food , service and atmosphere at a reasonable price.
We also ate at the Strudel House of Pest on Oktober 6 St - this too was excellent and reasonably priced.
The Hop on Hop off buses are a good way to see all the sights - about £13pp for 2 days use

Room Tip: Can only comment on 3rd floor - this was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
4,949 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,371 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 336 in Budapest
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,214 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#5 of 336 in Budapest
1,237 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#42 of 336 in Budapest
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parlament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlament

Address: Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $127 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parlament 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parlament is a delicate four stars boutique hotel in the city centre of Budapest, close to the Houses of Parliament, the river Danube and the biggest shopping mall of the city.Easy to reach with two metro lines which stations are five minutes walking from the hotel. The hotel provides complimentary internet usage for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Parlament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing