We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 a.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Budapest
from US$28.80
More Info
from US$23.00
More Info
from US$10.40
More Info
from US$24.20
More Info
Reviews (6,338)
Filter reviews
6,338 results
Traveller rating
4,663
1,264
232
70
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,663
1,264
232
70
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruin pub ruin bars amazing bar quirky bar shisha bar cheap drinks different areas interesting place jewish quarter unique experience visiting budapest bathtub graffiti ruins tourists palinka maze
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 6,338 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Ruin bar with an amazing atmosphere, really eclectic decorations but the drinks are way over priced. Cocktails you will pay 3 times what you should for in Budapest. And for beer 1.5 times what you should pay. So go and see this very ancient very cool bar, but skip the drinks.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank robertskyle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Szimpla Kert is hidden away in the backstreets but is well worth tracking down
It is a brilliant use of a derelict building and is extremely popular and there was a wide age range of people visiting whilst we were there, so it’s not just for the youngsters
There are several different areas each with their own bar offering a wide range of drinks at very reasonable prices
There is also live music which adds to the experience
The furniture is a mush mash of chairs tables and anything else that can be used for seating and tables
A little more lighting would be beneficial especially when you are trying to read bar menus or look st the drinks range

It is an amazing place that would never be allowed in the UK due to planning laws, licensing restrictions and the health and safety police would have kittens!!!!
This is shame as it makes excellent use of buildings no one wants

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Went to Budapest with my other half for two nights. A few of my friends who have been recommended Szimpla Kert, saying it’s a must see. I was pretty taken away by this bar; with all it’s cool Knick knacks and crazy lights! Every little room with its own unique bar was good fun. You can tell the owners still wanted you to feel like your in a ruin when your there, but it was disguised with its clever theme. It was busy when we went on a Tuesday night, but it added to the atmosphere. Good price drinks and good vibes! Anyone visiting Budapest and is in the Jewish quarter needs to go and visit Szimpla Kert!

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank OllieBiznel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

I discovered this place by accident and at the end it was one on my highlights of my Budapest trip. Loads of cosy caves/rooms, large spectrum of drinks on bars, venue and screening corner made me really falling in love with this place. Everything is nice decorated with loads of bulb garlands which make you feel you are lost in enchanted forrest :)

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Lilliandrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

A very different place to drink something!It doesn't seem like other bars!It's got 2 floors and you can enjoy different music and different kinds of drinks in each section!It's cheap enough and worth going!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Markella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews