We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask ahead where you will be seated.”

Alabardos Restaurant
Ranked #127 of 3,752 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District I / Buda
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We made the trek up the hill to Buda from Pest to have dinner here because the reviews were so compelling. We arrived a few minutes early for our reservation at 7 p.m. on a Monday evening. There was not a soul seated in the spacious rooms of the restaurant yet we were led to a room that was virtually in the kitchen. Three tables are set up opposite the open kitchen where pots and pans were clattering loudly. Another couple arrived just after us and they were seated here, also. It was very loud and not at all what we had planned for our last night in Budapest. We asked for a different table and were told curtly that everything was booked - perhaps private parties? If you choose to go you may want to ask ahead about where you will be seated. Also note that this restaurant is on the opposite side of the street from the church and has no view. We ended up having a casual meal around the corner at Jamie's, which was perfectly fine, although not the special evening we had hoped for.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank goingoinggone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 410 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2018

We had a nice, relaxed dinner. We ate in their covered courtyard, which isn't fancy but quite comfortable. The staff was quite skillful, and even though one of us arrived in (stylish) shorts, nobody batted an eye.

You can choose from one of several tasting menus, and within each of those, you have some choice about the number of courses. It seems to be fine if people at one table order different kinds (lengths) of menus. We enjoyed everything!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Besides its excellent location near the Matyas church and castle, it is one of Budapest’s top restaurants when you look for gourmet dining.

They offer three dinner menus with 4 or 5 courses or you can pick from them. Each course is of moderate size and tastes outstandingly. The size is a pleasant surprise to the usual way too big local portions.

The wine list is extensive and offers very good choices for all tastes and prices.

Service was one of Budapest’s best and especially at the beginning very attentive.

Dinner was accompanied with a live classic guitar player, often barely audible.

The only criticism is their prices that, even for this quality, is exaggerated for Hungary, not least by adding two different types of service charges. The latter is extremely unusual in Hungary and added an additional 10+% to the price.

Great place for (romantic) gourmet dining!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MatyasL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

This restaurant is definitely worth visiting. We ate in the courtyard like area on a very pleasant Saturday night & we enjoyed every minute. The staff is very attentive, happy, joking & glad to explain things to you. The menu is very interesting & although they offer different types of "inclusive menus" they allow you to pick & choose from each one which allows you to get exactly what you want. We ate a few things that we weren't quite sure what they were even with the translation but they were all amazing!

Dinner for 4 was $330 US but for the amount of food/courses we had we feel it was well worth it. The location is also perfect - when we came out after our 2 1/2 hour dinner we were almost directly looking at the beautifully lit St Matthias!

We would definitely go back!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lucy9252009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

My wife and I eat out often when travelling and rarely go to top end places like Alabardos but the location, the setting and the menu caught our attention. The food and the service were impeccable with flavour combinations and presentation we normally only see on TV cooking shows. Yes, it was expensive and not sometime we would do often but it was one of the best meals out I have ever experienced!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robpart17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alabardos Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Alabardos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing