We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food.,Hungarian cuisine with a bit of gourmet”
Review of Mandragora

Mandragora
Ranked #82 of 3,749 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This restaurant was founded fourteen years ago. We have continously developped during years, always adopting our Guest's needs. At first our palce was operated like a club and we transformed it to a bistro style restaurant step by step whitout loosing the kind and welcoming atmosphere, what makes us very rare in these days. Our goal is if You visit us once, You will partake fascinating hospitality. So next time we can welcome You like a regular guest. We believe that hospitality only worth doing with soul!
Reviewed April 19, 2018

An amazing little restaurant a bit outside of the city centre in a quiet neighbour. We chose it cause it was close to our hotel but never regreted. The food was really of high quality. We had the salad with the goat cheese, a goulash soup and a garlic-spinach soup as a starter. Then we chose the risotto with the chicken and the pork with different chips. All of them perfect but the best was the home made chocolate cake which was propably the best dessert of my life. You should try this restaurant even if it is a bit far.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheodorosA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 890 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Pleasant stroll down from the castle where we are staying to the delicately lit Mandragora in a quiet residential street. Small interesting menu and a fun amuse bouche thrown in too. I had the crispy pig and my husband the salmon, see picture. Both good sizes and really tasty. Waiter recommended a great bottle of white, with a strong pride in Hungarian food it felt he cared we enjoyed our meal fully. Desserts were a knock out my husband had the trifle (v different to an English one) and I the cream cheese. Both really light with plenty of flavours.
Ate outside with a mix of locals and were well attended to throughout.
Would highly recommend place and dishes.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank fleur123Bures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

Perfect food with exceptional service and English communication. Nice atmosphere in a quiet area in Buda and a very fair pricing.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank AndreasKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat close to our hotel and bumped into this place on TripAdvisor.
Was expecting a neighborhood eatery, found that we actually bumped in to à chef restaurant, with unique tastes and decors on your plate, everything was delicious and interesting.
The team is very nice and accommodating which is as much important as the food.
Reasonable price - first course, main course, drinks and desert for 4 people was 100 euro.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank KateSh_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

looks like you are walking into grandma‘s dinning room. staff was super nice, informative, and very helpful. the food, beers, and wines were just delectable.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandragora also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Mandragora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing