We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
85
102
62
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
102
62
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business trip fitness room nice hotel underground garage city centre eggs cooked to order location is amazing twin beds excellent room spa area is nice pool excellent shower breakfast buffet is tram line liquid soap speak good english the price paid
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 291 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

I was there several years ago on a business trip but wanted to share the experience, the receptionists speak English and the rooms are ok equipped with some retro pieces of antique pieces of furniture. The breakfast is good as well, with a wide choice of food. The reachability is not great, there are also not many eating options in the surroindings so you need to travel to the city center.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alexandra U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018

I have been going to Debrecen for many years, and 15 years ago, there was not a single decent hotel in the city. That began to change, and a number of better hotels were opened. I decided on this visit to try Hotel Divinus, which is supposedly the only 5-star hotel in Debrecen. I have stayed at hundreds of 5-star hotels around the world, and this is definitely not in that category.

To me, a 5-star hotel should offer a high level of comfort and quality, in terms of the bedroom and the bathroom. This hotel failed on all counts.

I was given a very large room, which I had not requested, but I have no problem in accepting. The first thing I noticed was that the bathroom (2 sinks, bathtub and shower) were located separately from the toilet, and far away (it really was a large room!). Although this was very common throughout Europe many years ago, I have not seen this in a 5-star hotel for a very long time, since hotels realized that this is inconvenient, and put the toilet into the bathroom - all contained within 1 room.

Continuing with the bathroom, the room was very large, yet the shower, was just cut out from 1 small corner of the room. You could barely fit into the space. There was no shower curtain or door, as the small space opened up into the large room. This, of course, meant that water flowed freely onto the floor of the bathroom, as there was nothing to stop it. When you step out of a shower, you want to grab a towel and dry yourself off. Well, the poor design of this room continued, and the only place to put a towel was far away from the shower, which meant stepping in wet feet on a cold stone floor to get to your towel.

Other small amenities that hotels provide, especially a 5-star hotel, but even 3- and 4-star hotels, is a box of tissues and a facecloth or washcloth. I discovered that the "box" of tissues that this hotel provides is a tiny box containing 3, yes 3, tissues. On a normal day, I usually use more than 3 tissues, and for a supposedly 5-star hotel to be so unbelievably cheap and offer 3 tissues is just an insult. There was also no small washcloth, which all hotels offer to wash your face. After asking about this, they offered a large hand towel, which when you wet it completely, weighs several kilos. This is not practical, and I wound up going to a store and buying my own face towel.

Another basic amenity that all hotels offer today is access to international news on TV. I have stayed at 3-star hotels in France, and still can get CNN or BBC news. Yes, this hotel offered neither. There were 20 or more TV channels, but none of them was CNN or BBC, which is very basic today around the world.

Now for the bedroom. The bed was like sleeping on a door. It was extremely hard, with no bounce or springs in it. I haven't seen a bed like that in many years, and this hotel is supposed to be quite new, so why put in beds were common 30-40 years ago.

There were many other small things that simply pointed out that this hotel does not deserve to be called a 5-star hotel. Service was uncaring, and people didn't apologize for their lack of knowledge of how to run a proper hotel, when it was pointed out to them.

Although I will be back in Debrecen, and choices are still limited, I would only recommend staying at this hotel if you don't have high expectations of what a 5-star hotel should be. This is definitely not one.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2018

The Divinus hotel does have the potential to become a 5-star hotel: Rooms are good and well-equipped, breakfast is superb, and the spa is nice. However, service level at the hotel is poor. On the first day of our stay, our room was not cleaned at all, and when we discovered this in the evening, the reception staff was reluctant to even give us fresh towels. On the following days, we did get fresh towels in the room, but it was never actually cleaned ! All the maids did was straighten a little the blankets, put in some new towels, and that's it ! The bathroom was never cleaned, the soap dispenser in it was never refilled, and the overall feeling was that nobody really cared.
Most of the staff at the hotel - most receptionists, the spa staff and especially the bar people, were somewhere between unpleasant and rude - only the people at breakfast were mostly nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

Not a bad hotel in the second city of Hungary. Think the hotel really tried to be excellent, but still some work to earn the five stars it put on front of the building.

Just Dove liquid soap in the washroom, no body lotion, a small box of facial tissue that wasn’t replaced when used, funny decor as well. Morning breakfast needs work as well.

Very clean in general but missed a few spots in the room and in public places.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank awktam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Voltam már jó pár jobb 4 csillagos szállodában. A hotel lehet néhány dologban meg tudja ütni az 5 csillagos szintet, ellenben sokban közel sincs hozzá. Számomra "Kelet-Magyarország első ötcsillagos szállodája" csalódás volt.

I have been to several, better 4 star hotels. The hotel may hit the 5 star level in some areas but in many things it isn't even close to it. For me the "first 5 star hotel in the east of Hungary" was a disappointment.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Seaside723656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews