We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soviet Style Reception Staff”
Review of Hotel Eger & Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eger & Park
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2015

If you ever find yourself in Eger, Hungary, do avoid the Eger&Park Hotel! We arrived there yesterday, at 9 am, after a long flight. The check in was only at 3 pm. We had no option of early check in, but the reception staff told us they could check us in at 1 pm. Ok, no problem. Since we were tired we decided to stay at the hotel in case the room was ready before 1 pm. After one hour of freezing in the hotel loby, I went and ask at the reception if our room was ready, since a large group of people checked out. No, it was not ready, but after asking to speak with someone from the hotel management, by some sort of miracle, one room was ready for us. Obviously, the room was free all the time...it is really sad that you treat your clients like this. This is not a professional attitude towards them, who indirectly pay your salaries!

Room Tip: old soviet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alin-Doru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2015

I spent a weekend with my family (with my wife and daughter).

I can say we felt us well. The hotel is clear and located in the city.
Our room was in the 4* building, and was big enough for us. The bath is a bit small but it is ok.

The SPA is great. There is 1 pool for children, 2x big and 1 middle and 1 Jacuzzi pools.
There was a lot of kind of sauna's.

The restaurant located in the other building. We found the foods fine - typical Hungarian, but tasted well.

For the children there is a playing room and outside a playground - we can not use the last one because it was raining :(

I can recommend this hotel if You visit Eger, because for this price You get a great value!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

I've got ambivalent feelings about Hotel Eger Park. In my opinion it doesnt' deserve 4 stars. I refer mailnly to the quality of the room's equipment (rather cheap; extremely loud air conditioner), general outlook of the hotel (some parts of it definetely require refurbishment), and the meal (quality of food for breakfast is rather low). On the other hand we had great time while playing and using swimming pools in hotel's spa. It's just excellent.

Room Tip: We've got the 4th floor room with a view on the park. The hotel air conditining system makes som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bequr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Hotel is quite big and has good location (in the center of Eger).

Standard of room that i receive was confusing. Of course everything was very clean and accurate but furniture and bathroom equipment looked little bit old and rusty. The funny thing was that bathroom was bigger than room. Air conditioning isn't working well.

Choice of food in the breakfast time was good but quality was average. For example vegetables like tomatoes or cucumbers were tasteless. The same thing was with scrambled eggs.

Bright sides of Hotel Eger are that the staff is friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi works well.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Damian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Good accommodation, very nice outdoor breakfast space and indoor spa. It's close to the city center and the outdoor public bath. Staff very friendly, good value for money. I was there in the summer, but it should be very nice in the winter also.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tibor1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

The condition of the hotel and the interior is brilliant, the meal and room service is fantastic, very affordable price for the quality. If I can, I'll come back sometime!
My favourite area is the wellness area, where anyone can find courses, programs to get relaxed or get energized! :)

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Domokos Zsolt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

we are actually still staying at the hotel, and our first impression is mixed. The place is like a maze, there are rooms in the new part and old part, the restaurant and garden is very nice, staff seem very friendly. The poo and gym area look good, spacious and well maintained.

So basically the low points are about the room. It is very small for a double room, you barely have room to walk around the bed comfortably, and definitely can't both walk past at the same time. There are no coat hangers or any places to hang up clothes.
The bathroom is tiny, and the shower, although the actual shower is good, is really cramped, in the bathtub. There is a warm towel rail on the wall where you would expect a shower to be and so you kind of have to stand sideways and maneuver around to get wet, and avoid soaking the floor. Quite disappointing for this price range and rating of hotel.

We have yet to have breakfast or try the pool so i am prepared to be impressed, but not particularly with the room at the moment.

Room Tip: Check size of room before you book and ask if they have larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eger
0.6 km away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#2 of 22 in Eger
130 reviews
0.7 km away
Senator House Hotel
Senator House Hotel
#1 of 22 in Eger
184 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Korona Eger
Hotel Korona Eger
#10 of 22 in Eger
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hunguest Hotel Flora
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Volgy
Hotel Villa Volgy
#7 of 22 in Eger
156 reviews
9.9 km away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eger & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eger & Park

Address: Szalloda utca 1-3, Eger 3300, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Eger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Eger
Price Range: $128 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eger & Park 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eger & Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing