We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not a 4 Star”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Those who rate it 4 star should check a real 4 star hotel once. This hotel although very nicely located has a poor service provided to guests.
on our visit we were provided a room with no AC and duvet small enough to cover one person only. On requesting another one we were told that they dont have extra blankets.
The AC didnt work after trying out by the staff they offered us another room and we had to shift at 1 am. That room also didnt have a proper AC and we had to keep the window open to keep ourselves cool at night.
Positives: good views, good staff, good location.. but so does another 2 star hotel 20m from it.

Room Tip: If booking get a room on 6th floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullasishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    224
    66
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
202
23
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nagoya, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Was teaching in Bratislava, staying here for 8 nights. The sauna after work, relaxing in the chill out room looking out upon the lit-up castle; fantastic. The room was clean, most of the housekeeping and restaurant staff very competent. The breakfast, esp the self-squeeze orange juice and excellent coffee were delightful, as were the quality and variety of the cereal, bread, ham, yogurt, etc. Wi-fi and helpful reception. Location ideal, close to most everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldaltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hotel has a great location just on the edge of the car-free old town of Bratislava. We got a good price from Expedia, and it was really value for money.
The breakfast was a bit pricy, so we went downtown to have breakfast outdoors on one of the cafes or pubs there. The weather was fantastic during our stay. During winter I guess the restaurant would have been preferred.

We were a group of 5 in 3 rooms. Two of us had ordered twin beds, but were offered a double. There was a discussion about this and he hotel appeared unwilling to arrange another room. I'm not sure if the was due to language problems or if the hotel tried the easy way out. Anyway the problem was solved.
One day one of the rooms was not cleaned. This was quickly done when the reception was notified.

We had a look inside the sauna and wellness section on the top floor. There was a great view to the castle from the windows. Since outdoor temperatures was between 25C and 30C we had no need for a sauna, but it looked clean, neat and orderly.

The rooms were spacious, well maintained and nice-looking. The rooms had a safe, Nespresso-machine, sattelite-TV and minibar. There was enough space in the closet for our clothes, although you can never have enough hangers. The bathroom has shower, but no tub. It was nice and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjornT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed for 3 days during a business trip . Very cozy hotel and the superior rooms are excellent. There is a nice gym to work out and most importantly the breakfast is excellent

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yianniscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed one night there because of business trip. But it was not my first stay in this hotel. The hotel is new, well located, close to the city center. Rooms are nicely furnished with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was great, rich buffet for 4 star hotel. I like spa area as well, there are two saunas, one of them is steam sauna. There is also small fittness centre. I like the staff in this hotel, especially the older waiter who is there during the breakfast. He is very nice and helpful. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Just returned after a short two night stay with my mates and I have to say that for what we paid my expectations were not high, however the overall stay was excellent. We had a really warm welcome from reception and whilst we arrived at 11:00am there was a room available for us. The room was modern and clean with a good range of facilities. Location was great; directly across from the Old Town. Special mention to the Manager, Tiago who was fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble and we had a great laugh with him. Breakfast was well worth taking with a great choice. Overall an excellent stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Higher floor however if there are any problems speak to the manager, Tiago who is fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTERSHIRE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a 4 day stay at this hotel and this was a very good choice,we arrived early and they let use check in so we was free to enjoy the rest of are day, come out the front door and there are the step to the underpass this takes you stright to the old town (5 mins) walk
from the front door look right and you can see the castle not far to walk but up hill when you get to the castle you can see for miles
the rooms are well fitted and clean,breakfast is buffet and was one of the best we have seen everything was so fresh,in the evening we went to restaurants around the town and didnt have a bad meal.

Room Tip: rooms at the front can hear traffic on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava

Property: Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava
Address: Pilarikova 5, Bratislava 811 03, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava > Staré Mesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Room24 m², for 1-2 person, trendy and stylish room, with bath or shower and WC, high speed Internet access, telephone, writing desk, IP-TV, video on demand, radio, minibar, coffee/tea making facilities, hairdryer, individual adjustable air-conditioning, safe that is large enough to hold a laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Bratislava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing