We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”
Review of Arcadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Bratislava
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I paid a huge amount, but when I arrived the room was tiny and boxy with no windows. When we complained the "head of PR" told us, "Do you think we've given you the worst room in the hotel? It isn't!" Which was hardly comforting. We asked for a discount and were very rudely refused ("everyone is paying as much as you"). Later on the receptionist told us we had been given free use of the hot tub as an apology, and to just call let them know what time we wanted it. We did, but they forgot and then said we hadn't called. It is a nice looking, clean place, but the service ruined it for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nso2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to response to your comment on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry for mentioned discomfort and impolite staff reaction. The comment was declared after more the 8 month of your stay and to take an active step towards certain person is impossible. Our staff is well trained how to deal with customers and it is unbelievable that Arcadia hotel, whose staff is always evaluated as an excellent, would treat you so rudely. I will be very pleased with more details about this issue.
Best regards,
Marta TEPLA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    107
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
79
254
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband booked Hotel Arcadia for my birthday and it lived up to 5* hotel. The suite we stayed in was beautiful, clean, comfortable and the staff were outstanding from the moment we arrived. We were offered champagne and orange juice on arrival and fruit in our room. There is tea/coffee making facilities and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is honestly the most beautiful hotel in Bratislava with absolutely unique atmosphere. Beautiful lobby, very nice restaurant, lovely rooms, but what is absolutely fantastic? …the bathrooms and also the hotel spa.
Very professional and helpful staff makes you feel welcome from the first to the last moment of your stay (able to arrange anything and anytime), to provide you with the all possible comfort. I was accommodated in Arcadia several times and I have to say this place offer great services and most of the other hotels worldwide should take lessons here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guests,

what a wunderful evaluation. Thank you so much. We will do our best also during on your future visits. I am proud to have a chance to provide you the best quality service.
Sincerely,

Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnitogorsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I enjoyed staying there a lot, just wish we could stay there longer than overnight...
It is an old (really old, 3-4 hundred years or something) building with huge rooms, thick walls, classy interior and helpful staff. It is also nicely located (few steps from the very center), and there is a parking right next door. The parking does not belong to the hotel, so you have to pay for using it, but still it is just a few steps away from the building and very convenient for fly-and-drivers like us.
Bratislava is a very cozy place with 19th century feel, one of the most charming places I've seen.
We did not have our breakfast in the hotel, so can not comment on that, but the city's main square is 5 minutes walk and it has quite a few cafes.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share an experience within our hotel among other Tripadvisor Travellers. The location and ambiente of the hotel are really unique. I believe you will habe a chance to taste our delicious food and tailor made breakfast, too.

Hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Very classy, warm, welcoming place with old European charm. Only steps away from all the sights, restaurants, shopping options, places of happenings.
Bratislava is very small city so you don`t need to worry about the transfer or how to reach the hotel. By the way the instructions how to arrive with car are clearly and easily foundable on the own hotel web page.
We liked the Breakfast with basic cold buffet, while the hot items were ala carte, freshly made only for us. Don`t hesitate to ask the staff for refill or other items as those displayed. It is a small hotel, so they would rather make you own meal as to display more items in small quantities in the hot buffet. Drink at the cosy Bar is a must, staff exceptionally helpfull, bellboys are really something, we remember all 3 of them...
Room will meet your expectations for a luxury boutique hotel, if possible, ask the room with the street view or pay same extra fee for the spacious Maisonette rooms, we were upgraded to.
Hotel restaurant is worth to visit too, not expensive, though smaller portions on plate but this is a contemporary cooking style, common in luxury places.
We stayed 2 nights over the Christmas and the staff treated us all as cherished house guests. Will recommend further...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabcaprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback here on Tripadvisor, we are absolutely delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and that you found the customer service to be great which we pride ourselves with.
The Arcadia Hotel is indeed a place of history, with excelent location and can be an extraordinary experience.

On another note, I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and Dinner at L` Olive Restaurant and I will make sure that your comments will flow throughout the departments mentioned.

We are very much looking forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Excellent place to spend your time in Bratislava, Slovakia. The hotel cannot be located better. It is directly in the city center. It is an extraordinary place restored with a great sense for the old architecture. The staff is very helpful and always willing to do their best for your comfort. Dinner in the Olive restaurant was a real experience, I really enjoyed local meals which were presented in a very nice way. Room was wonderful, comfortable and large enough with a bathroom furnished on a very high standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 626sophia_B626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Madame,
I have read your comments in your review with a great pleasure.

We are all delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we made your stay memorable.
Thank you for taking the time to complete the form and recognising the level of service you have received from the staff members of the hotel during your stay.

Hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Marta Tepla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijssen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

For bussiness or holiday trip

Always friendly

Super food in the restaurant

Try the beef tartar and let me know!

Take karpetska perla rinsky riesling wine with it

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLVoortman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTeplaGM, General Manager at Arcadia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear valuable Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and announced the other travelers about the quality of food - particulary of Beef Tartar with combination of a Riesling and with other hotel services, too.
We are always honored to have you as a guest here and will make our best to make your future stays memorable.
Best regards,
Marta Tepla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bratislava hotels
Staré Mesto
Marrol's Boutique Hotel Bratislava
Staré Mesto
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
LOFT Hotel Bratislava
#5 of 92 in Bratislava
1,648 reviews
Staré Mesto
Radisson Blu Carlton Hotel, Bratislava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Skaritz Hotel & Residence
#8 of 92 in Bratislava
589 reviews
Tulip House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 92 in Bratislava
619 reviews
Hotel Devin
#10 of 92 in Bratislava
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel

Property: Arcadia Hotel
Address: Frantishkanska 3, Bratislava 811 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Bratislava Region > Bratislava
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bratislava
#9 Spa Hotel in Bratislava
#14 Business Hotel in Bratislava
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bratislava
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bratislava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arcadia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arcadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Bratislava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing