We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking here doesn't actually mean you will stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vilnius Old Town Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilnius
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vilnius Old Town Hostel
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Booking here doesn't actually mean you will stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

A bit tricky to really rate this one as we never ended up in the hostel itself. We are group of 4 work mates who travel away on a boys trip every year, previously we have stayed at hotels, more recently though we have stayed in apartments, this time we went for a hostel and as such had a couple of correspondences regarding what we would be receiving

Basic specifcation ordered
En suite
Kitchenette with Tea coffee making
Location "close" to old town
Linen and towels included

Upon arrival at the hostel a "follow me" order was given with no further information. We then proceeded to follow the man out of the hostel up the road away from the hostel and old town, underneath the train line to another hostel approx 150m away from the original booked destination. No explanation was given as to why we were now in a different hostel to the one booked, and when asking the receptionist at the new location was unable to say definitelively although she thought that there may have been some problems with the toilets at the other one.

What we actually got :
No ensuite, shared toilet and shower just outside the room
No kitchenette
Location a further 150m away, right next to train track
Linen - included, but towels costing extra (2 Litas / Towel)
It also proved to be quite noisey as there are a number of long slow loud screeching freight trains that run at night, this hostel was a lot closer to the track than the one booked.

Initially we thought that the other hostel was an extension of the old hostel but in fact it was a different hostel altogether. As a hostel itself it was fine and a review of this can be found on the 'Fortuna Hostel'. But it was not what we ordered and were expecting and hence have given a poor score to this particular one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steptoe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
6
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

The hostel in an old building is just a few steps from the historical center. They have a parking space also, which is handy. The staff is nice, everything spotless clean and well organized. If the hostel is full they run another one just 200 m away acros the railway. It is nicer with bigger rooms, outside terace etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Let me start off by saying that we were travelling in off season, so our experience was probably very different to people who arrive in the summer months. But basically, we were spoiled!

LOCATION
The hostel is just on the edge of Old town and walking distance to the train and bus station. The area seems a little dodgy at night time, there are lots of beggars in the tourist areas. But in terms of convenience it was great.

ROOMS
We had booked one private double room. The room ended up being a small apartment with its own bathroom and kitchenette. We had two levels to ourselves! Amazing value for the money. Another friend was staying in a dorm bed and was one of only two people in her room, so again she had plenty of space.

FACILITIES
As others have noted, there is no real lounge area, however, there is a shared kitchen and dining room with free tea and coffee. Given the hostel was not busy we were still able to meet other guests here. There were also 2 computers for internet use in this area.The 24 hour reception staff were very helpful and particularly accommodating of our late check in (a little after midnight).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krizmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

I got the impression from talking to people and looking at reviews that hostels in Vilnius are pretty average, and Old Town hostel certainly fits that bill. It was clean, but with 7 people in a fairly small dorm it got a bit smelly. There's no lounge area so there's nowhere decent to chill and meeting other travellers wasn't easy/common. And the showers (decent) were 2 to a room, so solo travellers (like me) would lock off 2 showers as soon as we locked the door. The 24hr reception and location are certainly good things, and although the staff are friendly, I didn't find them particularly helpful either.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantosphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

This place is a few minutes walk to the train/bus stations, so right off the bat you don't have to lug your stuff around. The staff was very helpful with recommendations of places in other towns, and every other way. There was free internet (2 computers) and free wifi, which was really nice. The kitchen/lounge was comfy and a good space, people were usually there exchanging stories... and of course old town's famous gate is less than a block down the street. You do need to take off your shoes though, so bring some flip flops.

Definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — Location and extremely helpful staff
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raffikojian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2008

Good hostel and in a convenient location, 5 - 10 minutes walk from the old town. 5 minutes walk from the train/bus station.
Staff are friendly, answered any queries we had. Open 24 hours a day.

We stayed for 3 nights in the mixed dorm, which was a little on the smelly side. Though I'm told the other 2 dorms did not smell. The beds in the mixed Dorm seem quite small, anyone over six ft tall may have problems (luckily I'm a midget).

Hostel has good bathroom (though my girlfriend disagrees) and cooking facilities, with a good social area in the kitchen. They also offer a laundry service (though we didn't use it). Two PCs provide internet access, they also have wi-fi but I think you have to pay for that. Small lockers to leave your valuables and a place to leave your luggage when you check out (which is at 13:00). We arrived early (06:00) and had no problems checking in.

Overall a good hostel. Especially for individuals, couples who want privacy may want to try out the 4 bed dorm or go somewhere else. For 38 LT a night you can't really complain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The smell of the mixed dorm
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozzwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.2 km away
Mikotel
Mikotel
#43 of 88 in Vilnius
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 km away
Jimmy Jumps House
Jimmy Jumps House
#2 of 72 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostelgate Backpackers
Hostelgate Backpackers
#7 of 72 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Florens Boutique
Florens Boutique
#60 of 71 in Vilnius
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 km away
Come to Vilnius Hostel
Come to Vilnius Hostel
#11 of 72 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 km away
Downtown Market B&B
Downtown Market B&B
#31 of 71 in Vilnius
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilnius Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilnius Old Town Hostel

Property: Vilnius Old Town Hostel
Address: Ausros Vartu 2010, Vilnius 2100, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Vilnius
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing