We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but slow in coming”
Review of Cru

Cru
Ranked #46 of 1,162 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is very nicely decorated and with a great location just a two minutes walk from Town Hall Square.
The food is undoubtedly very good in particular the quail was excellent ;the sole a touch less satisfying.
Bread also is excellent.
But there is a but.. At a certain point the food apparently stopped coming out of the kitchen and we waited a good 30 minutes before we got our main courses. The waiter blamed the full house but for several minutes I noticed the staff standing idle behind the counter and no food being brought to the tables. I am certain there had been some mishaps in the kitchen.
However I keep a very positive score as the food was ultimately very good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank patriBologna_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliRaba, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear patriBologna_Italia,

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. All feedbacks are very useful for us and we take it seriously. I am sorry to hear, that you have felt the food was slow in coming and I also believe that there indeed was some type of mishaps in the kitchen, but luckily, in the end, you enjoyed our excellent food.

Thank you and hopefully, next time when you are visiting us you will be more satisfied with the service.

You are warmly welcomed!

Best regards,

Anneli Raba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 765 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

If you want to find place to enjoy lanch with sunshine in Tallinn, here, the courtyard is perfect choice. Foods also nice.

同施設のホテルに1泊しチェックアウトの際、窓の外の中庭の景色に目を奪われ、ランチを食べました。
8月は静かで、花が綺麗で、ウエイトレスさんの衣装も素敵でサービスも良かったです。
料理も品があっておいしかったです。
リラックスできて、ついつい長居してしまうレストランです。とてもおすすめ。

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ciscoswank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliRaba, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ciscoswank,

Thank you very much for sharing the kind words here on TripAdvisor. Your feedback brings smiles to our faces and lets the sun shine brighter. Super nice to read that you have loved what we do here, we hope it was not your last time in Cru and one day you will travel to us again!

Best regards,

Anneli Raba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Nice location and atmosphere, in the very centre of the Estonian capital.

Service is OK.

Although the attempt of being cool & trendy there is a serious problem in these premises:

THE FOOD

the average quality level of appetizers, main courses and desserts has been pretty far from what should be motivated by the pricing.

Nothing worthy to be mentioned further.

Once again a disappointing place in this nice city.

When there are too many tourists....risk is increasing of ending up like this!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FJ1195SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliRaba, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear FJ1195SA,

It is heartbreaking to read that your experience was all the way negative and that we let you down thus letting ourselves down. Please accept our sincerest apologies from me and our whole Cru restaurant family. We have a new menu now and if that is an option for You, we would like to serve You more – I encourage you to contact me directly beforehand: anneli@crurestoran.eu.

Thank you very much for your honesty!

Best regards,

Anneli Raba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Had a three course meal, everything looked and tasted perfect! The location of the restaurant is great and our table was just by the window, we had a nice view of the street. That was, however, the only table with a view in that room. It’s pricy, ~9-15 euros for a starter, ~17-25 for a main and ~7 for a dessert. I would recommend going there on a special occasion though (or if money’s not that tight). The service was very polite and attentive. Always reserve a table ahead.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Vivian117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliRaba, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Vivian117,

I’m delighted you had a great experience at CRU. We’re passionate about serving delicious fresh food to our guests so it’s fantastic that you enjoyed the meals and your table so much! Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, our team really appreciates the feedback.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Anneli Raba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

From booking the table to getting our coats the Cru experience was first rate especially from our server Andre. The whole ambience is superb as is the food. Andre explained carefully what we were eating and it more than lived up to expectations.
Yes it is not cheap but it is worth.
Fine dining is not about volumes of food its about the creativity of the chefs with every dish being a masterpiece. We all ate three courses tried each others dishes and were blown away worth coming to Tallin just for this.
Once again first class and highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneliRaba, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gary C,

Cru endeavors to go above and beyond for our customers, so for you to say that Cru is simply first class is a source of great pride! I have told Andre about your kind comments and he would love to thank you in person the next time you’re in!

We’re really grateful for your feedback and look forward to serving you again!

Best regards,

Anneli Raba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cru also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing