We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, beds could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money, beds could be better”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Got a great package for New Year's in this hotel, stayed a couple of nights. Happy with almost everything, although the feel is more of a hostel than a hotel, the staff is friendly and it was possible to extend room until 5 PM on New Year's day for 6,50€, quite a nice feature. Late night drinks were possible in lobby, so easy-going and nice, can be recommended for the price and ease of access particularly to Tallink ferries. The beds are very single, made for teenagers, someone in group got a sore back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenguru62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    151
    144
    21
    7
See reviews for
74
127
58
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I liked the hotel. It deserves the three star rating. Especially suitable for those who departure with an early ferry to Helsinki: the terminal D is located right in front. Reaching the airport is also easy with bus 2. It takes just 20 minutes. The Old Town is in 5 minutes walk.
Free Wifi in rooms, breakfast is standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr17ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank You for Your review. We appreciate your kind words and welcome you back the next time you visit Tallinn.
Best regards,
City Hotel Portus reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel offers you everything basic that you'll need for your stay: clean and comfortable rooms with multi-channel TV, a free usage of computer at the lobby (didn't use own laptop, so unsure about Wifi), friendly staff, plenty of space at the lobby and restaurant to just sit and relax, and delicious breakfast! There is even a small playroom for children that my two under-fives just loved. I've been in the hotel twice and have had rooms with both sea and city views - they are both great. City centre is only a walking distance away (about 7 min.), a ferry terminal is right next to the hotel and a bus to airport stops in front of the hotel. I even had an hour-long massage at the last day, which was perfect!
I will definitely go back there when visiting Tallinn and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matkaja34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Hello,
We are delighted after reading Your feedback about our hotel. Thank You so much for taking time and write Your feedback on Tripadvisor, it means so much to us.
Our main goal is to make our guest to feel comfortable here. Your kind words about hotel, location, breakfast and service are very heartwarming and it was great to read that it wasn’t Your first time here.
We are always happy to wecome You back.
City Hotel Portus reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Upon checking into this hotel, I felt like I stepped into a time machine - portraits of David Bowie in the hallway, and a large picture of Madonna from the 80's in the room! I found these decorative touches very amusing. Unfortunately my laughter disappeared that night as I tried to sleep in the extremely small single bed - this was not your standard North American sized twin bed. In fact, it was so small you literally felt like you would fall off when turning over...and I'm slim! So I definitely don't recommend a twin room if you're even slightly overweight. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable too.

However, the room price was cheap, breakfast was included, and the location can't be beat - directly across the street from the ferry terminal (literally a 30 second walk), with harbor views. It's just a 15 minute walk to the beautiful old town. There's also a bus stop across the street (outside the ferry terminal) which will take you downtown for just 1 euro if you buy a ticket from the hotel reception, otherwise it will cost 1.60 euro from the driver.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thenewval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

To be brutally honest, we chose this hotel because of its low price and proximity to the ferry terminal. However, over the five days we were there, it totally surpassed our expectations and proved to be a really friendly, surprisingly funky place to stay.
The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were nice (as was the meal we ate in the bar) and the staff were incredibly helpful, informative and articulate.
The hotel is just yards from ferry terminal D and the staff provided us with an early morning take-away breakfast on the day we went to Helsinki. On our return, very late the same night, it was a real bonus to be able to tuck the kids into bed just minutes after stepping off the ferry! Add to this the fact that the number 2 bus, from the airport, stops right across the road and you have a very convenient location.
It may not be smack bang in the centre, but as Tallinn is so compact nowhere is very far. The old town is about 10 minutes' walk, Kadriorg Park is about the same and our five year old walked everywhere without complaint.
All in all, this hotel provided extremely good value for money and I would gladly recommend it.
Finally, I have to say that Tallinn is simply SUPERB and should be a priority destination for any discerning traveller!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Hello,
Thank You for taking time to write us and other readers this positive comment about City Hotel Portus location, rooms, breakfast and personal.
We are glad that your family enjoyed vacation in Tallinn and liked our hotel. We also hope that we can host you again in the future. Let us know.
Best regards and welcome back to Tallinn,
TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I stayed here for four nights and was very happy with the hotel. The staff were all very pleasant and the service was efficient. Excellent value for money. Huge and clean rooms. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluerosiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Tallinn Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Hello,
Thank You for Your feedback. We would also like to thank You for choosing City Hotel Portus for Your stay in Tallinn. You are always welcome back.
TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed here with my wife recently. It was definitely was not an enjoyable experience. There are a couple reasons for my dissatisfaction. The first one is that for the first two nights of our three night stay it was very loud. During the time we were there a group of teenagers who were probably 13-16 years old were staying at the hotel. They were running around and screaming each night from around 10 pm until 2 am. The front desk person said that they had an adult chaperon but this either could not be the case or they were staying completely away from where the kids were staying. It was so bad that we had to change rooms for our third night so we could get some sleep. I have stayed in hotels in over 30 countries and can deal with noise issues and if it were for one night I would be willing to give them a pass but for it to go on for more than one night and last as long as it did then the hotel staff either doesn't care or doesn't know what is going on in their hotel. Both are not good and would lead me to recommend that people look elsewhere to stay if this is common thing among reviewers. We also had some issues with the breakfast service on one of the three mornings. Myself and others had to continually ask for items to be replenished. We were at breakfast a hour before it was over and it was not busy.

Outside of this bad experience the hotel has nice basic rooms that make it pretty decent value. The negative being cheap can bring in a bad crowd. The two rooms we stayed in were clean, showers worked properly, and the wi-fi was generally pretty good. The hotel is next to the Passenger Ferry Terminal D which is very convenient if you are taking a ferry to Helsinki like we did. Despite being across the street we rarely heard any noise from the ferries. It was only other loud guests that we noticed. It is also about a 15 minute walk to the Old Town area which is really nice and enjoyable. On this trip we visited Vilnius, Riga, and Tallinn. I probably enjoyed Tallinn’s Old Town area the best with Riga's being a close second.

My final thoughts on this rather long review for me is that I would be cautious about booking even though it does have some major positives working in its favor such as being inexpensive and that it is conveniently located. The only reason that I didn't rate it lower was because they didn't hesitate to move us to another room and even placed an apology gift basket in our room on our last night.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is a group of teenagers staying on your floor then ask to be moved to a differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 km away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#31 of 86 in Tallinn
514 reviews
0.8 km away
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#38 of 86 in Tallinn
627 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
966 reviews
2.1 km away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
783 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Seaport Hotel

Property: Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Address: Uus-Sadama 23, Tallinn 10120, Estonia (Formerly City Hotel Portus)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tallinn Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tallinn Seaport Hotel (ex City Hotel Portus) is located next to the D-terminal of the Port of Tallinn. Seaport Hotel corresponds to the level of a three-star hotel and is the perfect choice for those who value reasonable prices and would like to stay near the Tallinn's Old Town. Hotel has 107 rooms decorated in joyful colors and featuring warm, environmentally-friendly cork floors. All guest rooms are equipped with air-conditioner, flat-screen TV, direct-dial telephone, shower and WC, hair dryer, high-speed wireless access. Superior Double or Twin rooms are extra spacious and feature a comfortable sofa. Family rooms contain two standard rooms with a connecting door. In the morning, Cafe serves the hotel guests a delicious buffet-breakfast. In the summer, guests can enjoy their food and drinks out on a terrace. There are modern seminar and event rooms with the high-quality equipment on the 5th floor of Tallinn Seaport Hotel. Rooms can accommodate up to 150 people. At the cozy sauna of Tallinn Seaport Hotel guests can enjoy Finnish-type sauna, steam bathing and relax in a modern Jacuzzi.The sauna is located on the penthouse floor of the hotel, offering a wonderful view of the Old Town of Tallinn. Parking in front of the hotel is free of charge in case of availability. You may also park at the garage located on the 0 floor of the hotel (extra charge), the garage holds 9 cars with maximum height of 1,7m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tallinn Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing