We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveller rating
1,384
378
66
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,384
378
66
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstchaikovsky restaurantelemis toiletriesold townnew wingvene streetturn down serviceperfect locationsmall poolluxury hotelthe main squaresauna and steam roompillow menubeautiful hotelspa facilitiestown hall squareexecutive roomchristmas market
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

It is about 100 meters away from the center of the old city.Clean and Internet speed id very good. The staff was kind and warm. We learned that the building was used as a post office in the previous years but as a hotel it is very well renovated. The name of the hotel is coming from the history of the building. There is two part in the hotel: the old building and the new one. We stayed at the old part. The rooms were large, and had high ceiling.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Serdar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Here’s the thing: I strongly dislike writing negative reviews. We LOVE to travel, and out philosophy has always been that any unpleasantness we encounter in our journey only serves to contrast the highlights. But I just couldn’t let this one slide, friends; this stay was too bizarre.

The hotel is lovely, undoubtedly, and the location is fantastic: everything you want or need in Old Town is just steps from the front door. I was delighted with the Elemis bath products and the soft beds, but that’s where the delight ended. We booked three rooms for four adults and two children, and the staff were kind enough to ensure that two of the rooms were next door to each other for ease of childcare. Unfortunately, the next-door rooms were small. As in, add two adults (who are both rather small) with two large suitcases (we were traveling for over a month) and we were literally stumbling over each other to get dressed each morning. We are accustomed to the quaint/cozy rooms we’ve encountered all over Europe, but when one person must stay in bed until the other is in the shower in order to move freely, the room doesn’t feel like a luxury boutique hotel, it feels like a closet. In addition, although the windows in both rooms faced the courtyard (more on that later) they were both obstructed so that there was little natural light and no view. Also, one of my biggest hotel pet-peeves: cheap, weak hairdryers.... you know, the kind with the coiled cords that are usually permanently mounted to the wall in cheap motels. Ugh, hate ‘em. To be fair, the third room (which was down the hall and around the corner) was a decent size with a pleasant view toward the sea.

Then there’s the concierge. One of the adults in our party asked for a coffee shop, and was sent to a high-end restaurant. We asked for a place to take our kids to dinner, they suggested a high-end restaurant. Twice. I get it, the concierge generally gets kickbacks from local businesses, but don’t try to send a family with 3 & 6 year-old kids to a restaurant with a live pianist, crystal stemware, and a menu that consists of tiny, beautiful dishes decorated with caviar and artful radishes. [side-note: we went to that beautiful restaurant WITHOUT the kids and it was wonderful, but NOT “family friendly”].

Anyway, the concierge offenses are trivial, and the small room size is workable (not like we’re spending much time in the rooms anyway, right?) So why the poor review? That would be from the BLARING music from a hotel-sanctioned event in the courtyard (wedding? Not sure...) Anyway, as I stated earlier, two of our rooms faced the courtyard, and those rooms contained two very tired little girls. The music was so loud that we could hear it from several blocks away. It was so loud that it literally rattled the windows. It was so loud that people who were actually attending the party were sitting in the lobby to “take a break from the volume”. There was absolutely no chance our kids could sleep through the racket. The (very frazzled) concierge apologized profusely and assured us the music would end shortly. It ended at 11:15, after my kids (and presumably everyone else with a courtyard room) had been kept awake for hours. We informed the front desk that we would not be paying for the two courtyard rooms for the evening, and they were gracious and understanding and even more apologetic. Fine. But the next day at checkout, all they offered were more sycophantic apologies as they presented us with a full-charge bill and told us we’d have to email the management with our complaints, all while our miserable, sleep-deprived toddler wailed at our feet.

I get it: Hotels host parties. Sometimes those parties are loud. I’m sure there were other people who were out past 11 and had no issues with the noise. But a hotel has a responsibility to ensure a pleasant stay for all guests, not just offer empty apologies.

I’m short, Telegraaf is a pretty building in the most touristy part of town. But if the rooms are cramped, the service is specious, and the promises are empty, exactly what part of this “Luxury Hotel” is luxurious??

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank RoamingRadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018

We stay 3 nights in this hotel. It was an extraordinary stay:
Location - centrally located, within walking distance to every interesting place. Surrounded by many restaurants and coffee shops.
Rooms - the rooms are nice, very comfortable, and large. We have been upgraded for free. The only problematic point is that the blindfolds on the windows does not really block sufficiently the day light. We manage to have good sleep but its something that easily can be repaired.
Price - we booked directly through the hotel site, and found that they have a special price for guests above 62 years! So a room that was suppose to cost us ~ 570Euro, costs us 469 only! (both without breakfast). Not having breakfast it the hotel is not a big issue at a price of one and less, we get excellent breakfast in surrounded coffee shops!
Service - amazing friendly and cooperative staff.
It is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adomvatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Kristi Valing, head concierge, made this visit memorable. The Tchaikovsky restaurant was over the top with enthusiastic, professional presentation of excellent food.”A little bit of humor, love and salt” says the chef. A wonderful place from which to explore Tallinn.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rkarl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the heart of Talinn. Close to all the sights. Service was great - concierge had brilliant restaurant recommendations every night and they offered us complimentary breakfast on our last morning there when we had an early flight.
Rooms were cosy and very clean. Would definitely recommend staying here to family and friends and would happily stat here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews