We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome luxury hotel”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Awesome luxury hotel with a spa and a great lounge, if you opt to that. Helpful staff and stylish place all-around. The spa was really nice with a pool where you could swim and a nice sauna and a steam room.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank Mika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Mika,

Thank you for staying in Swissôtel Tallinn and sharing your experience! It is so lovely to read that you were pleased with your stay here! It is also great to read that you took some time to visit our Pürovel Spa & Sport. Surely seems like you had a lovely stay and we do hope you´ll decide to revisit us in the nearest future!

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Service was excellent and attentive this time around. Only comment is that there are not enough staff on reception after midnight so if you get behind the Lufthansa crew then you're in for a long wait!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank C6773UMmartinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great feedback! We are sincerely grateful for your nice feedback and very useful comments. We will surely keep in mind your suggestions for improvement and will share your kind compliments with the team. Thank you again for the feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Tallinn soon enough!

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I have stayed in Swissotel Tallinn perhaps 6-7 times over the course of several years, and am very familiar with the other hotels in this city too.

Swissotel is a 5-star hotel located some 5 min drive from the airport. It's a little outside the touristic areas, which is usually the old city. Next to the hotel you'll find the department store Stockmann, and Viru shopping center is some 10 mins away.

The rooms are large and the higher floor you are in, the better views. The decor leans towards dark shades which, in my opinion, gives this hotel a more luxurious feel to it. The beds are massive and bathrooms very large. Most rooms don't have a bathtub, but there is a big shower. Bathroom walls are partially glass - I think it can be an issue for those who are very private and travel with someone.

The hotel has a gym and a spa area, which are both very well maintained. The service in the facilities is also excellent.

The lobby bar, where I usually enjoy a couple of glasses of wine during my stay, offers a selection of drinks as well as food and cakes. But be aware that the food apparently is prepared in another floor (probably where the breakfast is served), which means that it can take a few moments until you get it. But the service is excellent and staff speak several languages.

The breakfast in this hotel is fantastic, yet very expensive (around 25 euros). But you can order special coffees such as cafe latte, or omelettes, which is a nice touch.

The hotel has a spa, which I have never tried. The prices seem steep for Estonia. Instead, I get my spa treatments at CitySpa, which is only some minutes by foot. And offers excellent quality for the money in top notch facilities. Highly recommended!

What is worth knowing is that generally in Estonia, customer service culture is still very much developing. Going the extra mile for customers is not part of their culture, but I would very much like to see that hotels such as Swissotel make an effort to do something extra for their customers. It can be small things such as welcoming a regular customer back with a small handwritten note, a complimentary upgrade if there is availability or similar - not big things, but something a that guest relations manager has the power to do. I was happy to see Hilton open in Tallinn as this will hopefully increase the pressure to really hold on to customers and focus more on service. More competition means that Swissotel will need to ramp up their service game to stay at the top.

Hot tip: The sky bar serves great drinks and offers fantastic views over the entire city - sometimes all the way to Helsinki! But the bar is often very busy, so getting your drinks can take a while.

Room Tip: Harbour view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Johanna,

Thank you for staying in Swissôtel Tallinn and taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are truly glad to read that our breakfast and the guest rooms have met to manage your expectations. Hopefully, you'll have a chance to visit our Pürovel Spa & Sport someday as well. We appreciate your loyalty and already look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Stayed two nights and everything went well. Only set back is that the gym opens at 9am on weekends which in my opinion is too late. Especially also since the breakfast ends at 10.30. Breakfast is a great hotel breakfast. Wouldn't say the best, but it has all the essentials. Room was beautiful with a nice view over Tallinn and effective air-conditioning. Location is good, a short walk from the old town. Staff is really professional.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to get the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Philip,

Thank you very much for your positive words towards our staff and hotel! It is very important to us and it makes us extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We would like to thank you for your kind words towards our guest room - the views from our hotel are indeed amazing. We are sincerely grateful for your very useful comments about the gym opening hours. We will surely keep in mind your suggestions for improvement and will share your kind comments with the team. Thank you again for the feedback and hopefully we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Tallinn soon enough!

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This is a standard business hotel, wouldn't argue better than the rest of them. The location is about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the tourist office (middle of the town) if you know the route. Not too many dining options directly by the hotel (unless you want to eat in a mall), so you walk into old town. It's not a bad hotel, just your standard run of the mill business hotel. The only thing that stands out, though negatively, the maids kept on moving my stuff around even taking my shower gel out of the shower, and they didn't like I had a dirty clothes bag on the floor next to my luggage so they kept moving it into the luggage. A little tidying is "nice" but moving everything around and putting things in drawers makes it difficult for me to find (and potentially even forget). I mainly choose this place for the A/C given I went in July, but Tallinn isn't really hot in the first place (and the A/C really didn't work all that well). In short, compared to other places nearby that are about 1/3rd cheaper - I would try one of these instead. (oh and people keep saying this is a 5 star hotel, not sure how though).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweet27sweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Good location but very rude staff. All used bathroom amenities in my room. Even complementary water bottle they don't provide. Asking me to drink from tap water in the bathroom. Idiotic hotel and staff. Between, I have travelled the world and have had much better experiences everywhere. This is not even close to a 5 star hotel in terms of service

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with swissotel.com
Thank varsha30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, it is very important for us. We provide complimentary water bottles only in our Executive rooms and our suites. In Advantage rooms, we do have minibars, where our costumers can get a bottle of water and pay for it later. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay and hopefully, we can welcome you back to Swissôtel Tallinn soon enough!

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Definitely one of the best hotel I've ever stayed in.
What makes the hotel better than most 5* are the little details like the same materials (granite floors, glass mosaic tiles etc...) being used throughout the hotel and providing a cohesive high end look.
A bathrobe and slippers are also provided in all lockers in the gym and spa.

Although only located a short walking distance from the Old Town and its tourist attractions, the hotel is so comfortable that we stayed in a lot, and used the great amenities including indoor pool, steam room, and spa.

Our own bathroom was fitted with a bath tub and separate shower. The room itself was pretty large and after upgrading pillows, we slept well on the super king size bed.
I highly recommend paying extra for a room with harbour view. Alternatively, great views can also be enjoyed from the Horisont restaurant on the 30th floor, together with fine dining and cocktails.

Finally, here is a money-saving tip: get your own taxi from and to the hotel - at €10 max, it costs much less than organising transfers through the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78Chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words, it means a lot to us! We are glad to hear that the overall opinion of the hotel was good and that you enjoyed our Pürovel Spa & Sport facilities and the view from our restaurant Horisont. We are grateful for your positive comments and recommendations for other travellers, just to be careful that you won't get the fake taxi - there are many around the city and will cost much more than real taxi. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Tallinn again!

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
727 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,573 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,444 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $172 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing