We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant lodging experience, try this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Superb location, great breakfast, clean and comfortable room, good value, outstanding service from kind, helpful staff, we loved Tallinn and Hotel Bern. Just outside the Old Town Wall, short walk to tram for Karoig and KUMU, close to two lovely parks (don't miss Canute Garden around the block). Stayed in 2nd floor room with wife and son (12), clean, comfortable and functional. Front desk staff, Sven and colleagues were wonderful, helping with directions, booking rental car. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familia_Canela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Well, the hotel is nicely located not far from the old town itself. It has a supermarket right on the other side of street, with the usual clients visiting it in the late hours of the weekend. Like it or not... There also seems to be a night club right next to the hotel, but i didn't hear any noise, so maybe its not open anymore ?

The hotel itself is really okay, the staff is really nice and friendly and helped me with a lot of problems, that sadly occured, without mourning. Things to note are the following: The rooms are small and not to cozy, there are a lot of things lacking, that you may want to for a longer stay (such as a safe on the room or a bigger closet for your clothes), a better bathroom (didn't like the shower which is prone to flooding your room). The corridors within the hotel also remind you very well of communist times :)

Breakfast was good, with an okay selection and good quality of what was offered. Only the coffee was really not to good. Breakfast staff also seemed to be a bit indifferent to whats going on.

All in all i would rate this as a good 3 star experience, but certainly not 4 stars. Keep that in mind while booking !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we found this very reasonably priced hotel close to transportation and all Tallinn main attractions......not fancy, but clean with a friendly, helpful staff and ample breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurolady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel is well located, just outside the old town walls. It is set back from the road, so there is no street noise. Our room was very quiet, simply but tastefully furnished and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was compact, but not too small and well appointed. Breakfast was good. However, the best thing about this lovely hotel was the wonderful staff. They were friendly, attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Overall, a very pleasant stay. We warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed here with my daughter in early August for four nights. Location great, not 15 minutes from Old Town (as in other review) but less than 5 minutes walk. Staff great, especially Maarja, very helpful with recommendations. No noise from the bar next door. Breakfast was fine. Found the computer in the meeting room OK and not too slow. We kept some of luggage here for three nights while we went to Helsinki which was agreat help. Room fine and very clean. A great quiet lttle place, ideal fro popping back to in the afternoons for a couple of hours before going out in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichByName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Great value small hotel with excellent staff. The Bern is a real find close to the old town and just a ten minute walk fron the ferry terminal. Excellent reception team who were most helpful with tourist info. And when we asked for a take away breakfast as we were getting the 0730 ferry to Helsinki, could not have been better. Our room clean, had all we needed. Sure this is not five star, but the service was and the rates are exceptional. So five star rating from me overall and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

In booking the Hotel Bern - despite the solid tripadvisor rating - I tempered my expectations because of the low price and the not-especially-appealing pictures on the hotel's own website. Fortunately, I was very pleasantly surprised at arrival. This is a really lovely hotel with exceptionally helpful staff. The hotel/room decor is modern and sleek - it's well maintained. My room was a good size with two twin beds, a small desk, an armoire (with hanging and shelved sections), and a wall-mounted TV. My bathroom was a little small (but not tiny). More importantly it was very clean. No bath - just a shower without a proper stall (only a shower curtain) which means the water does get onto the rest of the bathroom floor but it drains/dries quickly enough so I didn't find this a problem. The hotel is set back from the street so the rooms are very quiet. The beds quite comfortable. The breakfast offering is fine (nothing special). But overall the hotel is an unbelievable value. I would happily stay here again - even at a much higher price point.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentflyer22153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
0.1 km away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
374 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.4 km away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
1.2 km away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: $75 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing