We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We have just returned from a 5 day break in Tallinn and really enjoyed ourselves. Hotel Bern is a moderately priced hotel, clean and comfortable. Our room didn't have a view but had everything we needed, including dressing gowns and slippers which are usually only found in much more expensive hotels. The hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts are of a good quality, - cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, scrambled eggs, croissants etc. The location is excellent!! Just a short walk away from the Old Town, 150 yards from the start of the Hop On / Hop Off bus, a supermarket just across the road for wine and beer! A short walk in the other direction for a good range of restaurants. We really enjoyed Vapioni (Italian Restaurant) so much so that I'm going to write another review!

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 and when it rained it was quite loud on the balcony - try a second floor room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimandFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    578
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
153
556
112
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Good - the location right on doorstep of old town. The staff could not do enough. Their car park was full so arranged with another to park out car. Bad - the beds. They were like campbeds.
We stayed at four hotels while in Estonia and this was probably third choice. The rooms are clean and decorated ok . My husband says I should be a hotel inspector as we have stayed in lots of hotels and I know as soon as I walk in if it's what I like. This hotel was small no proper bar or restaurant. Breakfast for Estonia was not too bad but don't expect an English fry up! On the whole average for the price!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Getmeoutofhere12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davie florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Recently spent several nights at Hotel Bern in Tallin. We , of course, had utilized the reviews in TripAdvisor to help select where we stayed. As always the reviews were "spot on" and very helpful.
Arrived at Hotel Bern approx noon and were checked in early by Sven. He was extremely helpful, cheery and eager to be of assistance. He provided us with great insight as to our plans to see the city and where to dine.
The Hotel is located right on the edge of the Old town and very close to other areas of the city that we wished to explore. The Hotel is very updated and the facilities are new .The room was bright and cheerful and rather large by European standards. Bathroom was quite modern and very clean. Bed was very comfortable and we slept well.
After our first day of exploring we returned and were greeted by Marijksa at the desk. She, like Sven, was very pleasant and eager to help. She provided us a bucket of ice for some champagne we had purchased ( it was our Anniversary ) and also provided some tips as to what to see and where to go. When we entered the room we were quite elated to see that Sven and Marijska had a split of champagne and flute glasses with a Happy Anniversary card waiting on the desk. A very thoughtful act !!!!
Breakfast was quite good and had scrambled eggs in addition to the usual cereals, breads, fruits , yogurts etc. The breakfast staff were cheerful and efficient.
This is a very economical Hotel located in a section of town that is convenient to both old town and City Center. We certainly will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flagrubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A nice hotel if you are looking for a base for exploring the area. No amenities really, small bar in reception area. Quiet location. Small bedrooms. Predictable breakfast with no variation. Clean and safe.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hotel is idealy situated for using the the cheap buses to and from the airport. A five minute walk takes you ito the old city with a further five minutes taking you right into the main Town Hall square. There's a supermarket across the street(closes at 10pm, so no noise at night) and the city's shops and restaurants are all within walking distance. A coffee maker would have been nice, but as they didn't say it was included we couldn't complain about a lack of one. Would reccommend the restaurant Kloostoi in Katerina Kaik for excellent reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RVACheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Not a single problem during our 2 night stay. Very quite. Not far at all from town and right next to a bar with brilliant food and an all you can drink beer buffet. 4 hours for €10!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrchips80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hotel Bern had a great location, just a couple of minutes' walk from the old town, and near a supermarket. Breakfast was good and the room was nice and clean.

We didn't have a problem at all with noise from the street - or from the disco opposite our room, even though we were there on a Saturday night. The air conditioning unit kept making loud clicking noises at 6.30am every day even though it was switched off, which was annoying but that probably just affected our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemmab060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.5 km away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.5 km away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing