We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel don't look any where else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Brilliant hotel don't look any where else!”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Fantastic modern hotel with very helpful and friendly staff that we're always pleased to see us. Smashing people. Very clean room. Typical euro breakfast but lots of it and very good. Very quiet bearing in mind the location. Every thing you need is mins away. If you want a quality low cost break then stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulliney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    571
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
151
554
111
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel location was ideal for exploring both the old and new town.The rooms are not large but are well equipped for all your needs.The slippers and bathrobes are a nice extra touch.The hotel staff are very courteous and helpful and are multilingual.If you need any information about places to visit or transportation the staff on reception are excellent.The breakfast buffet is wholesome from cereals and toast to fruit or scrambled egg , tea coffee and fruit juice, you wont need to eat until late afternoon.If i go back to this beautiful city i will definetely be staying at the hotel Bern.If you get the 90k bus from the airport ( 2 euros) get off at stop No 6 mere pst you are no more than 200 metres from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

V friendly and extremely helpful staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable. Very clean. Breakfast was fulsome: diverse buffet selection including continental meats, cheese, fish, herring. Minutes from old town, so it is conveniently situated. Clean, comfortable rooms with ensuite wetroom

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Hotel Bern is located on Aia just outside the walls of the old town. The town square is 5 mins walk away. Turn left as you leave the hotel and then turn right when you see the walls and gate and that will bring you straight up through a lovely shopping street and the main tourist square. Going the other direction into the more modern part of the city brings you to the Coca-Cola cinema which has lots of English language films.
The rooms are tidy but possibly slightly smaller if you are staying for a longer time. We stayed 4 days and it was perfect.
4 days was plenty for the city and we also took a ferry trip to Helsinki on the LindaLine fast ferry from Linnahall port. (take two lefts after leaving hotel and walk along main road until you see big steps on a big concrete building across the road from the big chimney. Walk up over the steps or around the left of this building and the port is behind - you can buy tickets there also)
The shower had good pressure and hot water. There is a mini bar but it is expensive. There is a hairdryer and good wifi everywhere. Beds are very comfortable and a good quiet night sleep every night even though we were at the front of the hotel.
There is an elevator but the stairs are probably quicker!
Breakfast is served on level 0 underground. It is a good filling continental breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausages and meatballs with the usual bread, cheese, tomato & peppers etc and cereals and tea coffee.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. We needed a plug adapter as I forgot to bring the proper 2 pin round adapter but reception loaned us one. They also booked our airport taxi too (around €8 for a 10-15 min ride).
All in all I would stay again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

WE have stayed at Hotel Bern about an year ago last time and stayed there again this weekend. Hotel managed to suprise us with better standards than last time.
This hotel has a modern small hotel concept, rooms are smallish but well-equipped - there are also a minibar/fridge, bathrobes, slippers, make-up mirrow, small items that normally belong to 5* hotel. Style is modern without any luxury that shows up.
Breakfast is very good; smallish breakfast room but everything served is tasty and fresh. Warm (!) baquettes and croissants, fresh veggies besides the normal buffet style breakfast buffet. The warm dishes though were moderate, meatballs in stead of bacon or ham but that was still good enough.
Very helpfull staf in the reception, we followed us how detailed info was geven to some firsts timers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

With the Old town at the end of the road, the tour bus stop round the corner it is a fantastic location. Room was clean, modern bathroom and very comfy, reception offered a kettle for the room. All the staff we came into contact with were very well informed,friendly and spoke excellent english.
The breakfast buffet was more than ample and the overall price of the hotel great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a very good hotel for the price you pay. The staff are very helpful and efficient, the rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is more than sufficient. It is very close to the old town and in a very quiet and perfectly safe location.

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights and the hotel was very respectful of our privacy the whole stay, we never saw a chambermaid once but the room was always cleaned efficiently and the reception staff were always friendly.

Just a small note that there's no tea or coffee in the room but there are plenty of good coffee shops in Tallinn to explore.

Thank you Hotel Bern, we had a great time in Tallinn!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2thebLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.5 km away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
340 reviews
1.5 km away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
805 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing