We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantstic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantstic hotel”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the hotel Bern during a trip to Estonia and then Russia. I wholeheartedly recommend the Bern. From the minute we arrived the service and attention to detail was fantastic. The lovely chap on reception welcomed us and was incredibly friendly, we arrived during Estonian Restaurant week and he booked us three fantastic restaurants which were taking part in the offer. Our room at the Bern was stylish and spotless. The Bern offers bathrobes and slippers in the room which hotels we stayed in for double or triple the price neglected to. It is central but on a quiet st and offers a fabulous buffet breakfast. I would also recommend the restaurant Balthazar and the amazing Opera House where we saw Swan Lake for a fracton of the cost it would have been in the Uk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junefrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    571
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
151
554
111
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had two rooms here for a city break with two couples when visiting Tallinn. This hotel is in a great location five minutes from the old town and it is a quiet hotel with clean tidy Room and bathrooms.

We asked for twin rooms on arrival and these were offered to us instead of doubles and I requested extra pillows and these we offered. All in all a pleasant stay in a great city. Continental breakfast European style and was pleasant during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidleeNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

we enjoyed our 3 night stay just after christmas. location is good: two minute walk from the Old Town walls, 5-10 mins from the Town Square. if your budget doesn't stretch to the minibar in the room there's a supermarket opposite: useful for stocking up on snacks & beer. staff are polite and very helpful. room small but very comfortable. good quality flat screen tv with lots of channels - kept our 5yr old occupied. breakfast was basic, but fresh and there was plenty of choice.

great value to be had here, can happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Like many buildings in Tallin this hotel has a metal roof so the top floor rooms can be a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very modern and good value hotel. Room is small-ish but with all the amenities you need. Good breakfast and friendly staff/service. Along a quiet street near supermarket, pubs and restaurants and two minutes from the gates to the Old Town. All in all a very good choice for sure and affordable price as well!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed in Hotel Bern for 3 nights as it appeared to be the best value hotel. The hotel is located just outside the city walls of the old town. It is about a 5 minute walk to the main square. The street on which the hotel is located is a little run down, however we did not experience anything which made us uncomfortable. Rooms were very small but clean, and the decor was a little strange (an odd choice of yellow paint), this doesnt bother us on a city break as we spent very little time in the room. Bathroom was 'wet room' style and shower had good pressure (this is always important to me, hate a weak shower!). Breakfast was good with a choice of meats, cheese, fruit and breads. I would stay here again, I don't think it is worth the extra money to stay a few metres inside the city walls. This hotel is a perfect base for exploring Tallinn's old town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crndfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

After a short journey from the airport we arrived at Hotel Bern. The hotel is OK but this is what you expect from a budget hotel. The check in was good with a very polite helpful gentleman on reception. We were given a room on the top floor but the room was very small and had no windows for fresh air - We asked to change which very kindly the hotel moved us to a room with a window.

Breakfast is the big let down at the hotel and we only actually had it on the 1st morning of our 3 night stay. A choice of toast, wet scrambled egg and cold meat balls of some kind....The choice was the same every day...

I would probably give this hotel 3.5/5 rather than 3.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedroseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The Hotel Bern is superbly positioned for the old town in Tallinn, an ideal base for our recent visit to the christmas markets.

Around a 15 minute cab ride from the airport (€6), we were very pleased with the service we received from the reception staff.

The room, although small was more than adequate as the room is purely a base for an action packed city break and my wife was pleased items such as a hair dryer were in the room, along with bath robe and slippers! (The fact that they have a hair dryer is a bonus as Easy Jet don't take to kindly to bags over 10kg!).

Our bathroom consisted of a shower and wc, in a 'wet room' format. Again it was small but built more for covenience than comfort.

The reviews on the breakfast were positive but sadly we didn't really find it to be of a high standard. It's ultimately a basic continental breakfast, with limited choice but as it's included I guess you can't grumble too much.

The bed was very comfortable, with an unusual duvet that split into two, enabling me to kick off my cover and the wife to keep snug! I might invest in one of these for our own bed!!

Sadly, it would appear our room (314) was at the hub of the heating pipes and this was clicking and banging all night during our 3 night stay. In hindsight we should have asked to move but with us being out of the hotel for the vast majority of the day, it never really seemed the right time.

It's not the Ritz but it's a reasonable hotel in a desirable location for the old town. The staff are very helpful and offer the highest level of customer service, so I can fully understand the high ratings that this hotel has received.

Tallinn is beautiful (in places), there is little beyond the old town and whilst it was very enjoyable we would probably not return.

Room Tip: Avoid 214/216 - 314/316 as they are clearly located in the midst of the main central heating system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattnchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.5 km away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
340 reviews
1.5 km away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
805 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing