We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No weak positions in menu ”

Dome Fish Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 1,177 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: US$23 - US$70
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our cosy yet chic Dome Fish Restaurant has established its reputation with delicious fish cuisine. The fish we serve here is delivered mostly by small local fisheries and even fishermen themselves. Thus, once a week there's a special delivery from Pāvilosta – a small fishing town on the western coast some 200 km from Riga. In addition to the fish dishes, the menu at Dome offers a selection of fine meat and vegetable dishes that are lovingly and imaginatively prepared by our chef Kristaps Silis who was trained at the world’s most famous restaurant “NOMA” in Copenhagen, as well as with the Tom Aikens restaurant in London. One of the secrets to a delicious and healthy meal is the fact that most of the ingredients have been harvested locally, which guarantees their freshness. In the warmer months of the year - April to October - we offer seating on our rooftop terrace where exciting dishes are prepared by our chefs right before your eyes on the special GreenEgg grill.
Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

Went there to celebrate my birthday with group of friends. Tried most of the positions available (post-covid times, so menu was quite short) and not a single one was weak or underwhelming. "That was delicious even for me, non-fish lover" - said one of my friends. Great experience and lovely, proficient service.

Date of visit: August 2020
13  Thank 20cooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 598 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2020 via mobile

March 4, 2020: Enticed by some write-ups about DOME being the go-to place for fish dishes in Riga, we had to check it out. The menu was solidly “FishProud” and it was hard to make a specific choice. Hence, we opted for the Degustation Menu (Euro55/pax) which consisted of a complimentary amuse-bouche (delish! to the eye and palate), 4 fish mains and dessert. Every fish dish (mackerel, catfish, halibut, corbina) was perfectly executed – moist, milky flaky and flavored exquisitely. The server, Eddi, was knowledgeable and described each dish with precision. It helped us appreciate the nuanced flavors attending a particular fish. We decided not to do a wine pairing and opted for prosecco, Chablis and an Austrian white. It well beautifully with the meal. The dessert – onion bacon flavored gelato- was a brave move by the chef but I think I would have preferred a citrus-y gelato to cleanse the palate. Bravo! though to the white chocolate covered sorbet popsicle decked with nitrogen frozen crispy ants. It was creative, bold and delicious! Overall, it was a delicious, freshest of freshest fish and ingredients , bold and adventurous culinary experience. Dome Fish Restaurant rocks in Riga!

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank richingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2020

It was a meeting with the friends. Democratic environment, not too spacious but elegant place of tasty fish and seafood.
There are austrian white wines in menu. I ordered fish soup and scallops. Everything was tasty. I like modern touch of cooking.
Chefs compliments, selfbaked bread and special creamy butter were very good as well.Part of Relais & Chateaux hotel.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank LATEXPERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

The space has beautiful furniture which fits with the decorations and gives an overall feeling of a seafood restaurant in a port city.
The service was excellent; very varied wine options, but only one vegetarian option.
The deserts were incredible! both the presentations, as well as the taste.
it's worth trying it!

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CristinaAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

Dome is a small gourmet level fish restaurant, close to the Dome cathedral in Riga. Their service is professional and discreet and the whole ambiance is preparing the guest to enjoy especially delicious meal. The menu offers plenty of alternatives for starters and main courses. Due to the cold February weather we opted for hot fish soup for starter and sea bass as well as monk fish for main courses. Maybe the weather had something to do woth it, but the fish soup was one of the best we ever had. It was tasty and adequately spicy and contained nice pieces of fish and shellfish. Excellent starter for the occasion. Also the main courses were well prepared and tasty and portions were served nicely decorated from well warmed up plates. Specially the lobster sauce, which was served with the sea bass, was excellent. As dessert we chose apple tart with various additives and this was really fresh chrispy and a perfect way to finish the meal. Dome was a really pleasant experience and worth recommendation.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank Laneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Dome Fish Restaurant also viewed

 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Dome Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.