We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Latvian National Opera
from US$34.60
More Info
from US$57.70
More Info
from US$207.80
More Info
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
371
169
23
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
169
23
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swan lake la traviata beautiful building don giovanni great seats box office sleeping beauty wonderful performance madame butterfly interval drinks peer gynt front row main hall visited riga guided tour old town ballet
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 570 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Saw the National Opera on the boat (was having the boat ride along the canal). Went there on foot and it was an elegant building.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Quack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

Latvian National Opera another must see, during the visit of Riga. Located next to city canal, also with a beautiful park in front of the building, this house opera is a great monument of architecture constructed first as German Theatre. Beautiful building with great acoustics, a wonderful place for opera, ballet and other music performances.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank SafirAlbastru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

One of the most beautiful places in Riga. Brings you back in time with its vibe. Locals say that it looks even better from the inside.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank ivo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

If you have time during your visit to Riga, make sure you try to catch a performance at the beautiful Latvian National Opera!
I have been here for a few performances now, however on my last visit I was lucky enough to get one of the last tickets to see Swan Lake!
Visit the website before you're visit to see what is being shown on the dates you visit.
I would advise booking tickets before you're trip if it is a big performance such as Swan lake or Madama Butterfly as they always sell out.
The Website can be tricky to purchase tickets so I normally get my hotel to book them for me.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank nataliejoyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

The opera house is set in lovely gardens to the front and the city canal goes down one side and the building itself looks really impressive.Inside the opera house is absolutely beautiful with very ornate plaster work on the ceilings and balconies.We got tickets to see a performance of the opera Carmen and the tickets were very good value at 12 Euro each for decent seats on the first balcony.As for the show itself,this was a bit of a let down as this was the first opera I have been to see so did some research on line at home to get the story,but unfortunately the show was a modern interpretation and not what I expected to see,the orchestra was excellent and the singing was O.K. but the show was a bit of a let down,it was a very long opera with two intervals and we had seen enough by the second interval and decided to leave and we were not the only ones,Overall a beautiful building in lovely grounds but we chose the wrong show.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank scubacol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews