We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”
Review of Avitar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avitar Hotel
Ranked #72 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Convenient in a main-street, 25 mins walt to the old town. We chose it because we went to a dentist halfway to the city centre. Various and good breakfast. Comfortable beds. Serviceminded personell. We had a room at the back, so we didn't hear anything from the traffic outside... So remember to ask for a room at the back :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors and in the back to avoid trafficnoise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GarthElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avitar Hotel R, Guest Relations Manager at Avitar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2014

Dear GarthElvis,

Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us such a great feedback!

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Let's face it hotel reviews come down to price at the end of the day - here I'm just giving my honest opinion so you can review for yourself!

First it's 2.5km to the centre of old town about 30mins depending speed of walk!
Second very thin walls you can hear everything
Third very loud and rude Russian people who don't care about guests shouting and banging doors in early hours, told reception they said phone down and report (who wants to start using phone at early hours) I was already woke up anyway!
Fourth very small breakfast area I couldn't eat somedays because it was full so I had to go and buy at centre.

Good points
First supermarket across road
Second back rooms good to avoid road noise
Third clean budget hotel
Fourth nice staff
Fith good wifi
Sixth free parking (if needed)
Seventh proper double bed and room cleaned everyday
Eight good shower.

Would I stay again ??
No dont think so Would book early For good price next time and stay in old town as its very nice place will visit again one day!
first to remote because bit far walking everyday (but you can use bus) but I don't like busses to crammed and maybe language barrier??
Second rude guests to noisy
I stayed in June weather 25c everyday Paid £115 (good price) expedia or booking.com for 5 days - to be honest some hostels were more than that with shared bathrooms and bedrooms at least this was private, guess would be good for couple of days. All in all guests and distance only downside. Riga very nice well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tont01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel is quite far from the center. It is located in a fairly busy street, so traffic noise at night is annoying. The room was clean but small and definitely not the latest equipment. The menu for breakfast was sufficient. The quality of the hotel is adequate at low cost. For a short stay it is sufficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 101studin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We traveled with friends in November.
Hotel was good located with free parking. Rooms were small but clean.
Receptionist(boy) who work at night was very frienly and helpful.
Hotel in his catecory is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We got off the coach from Tallin at Radisson Blu hotel, which is close enough to the Riga old town. It took us 20+ minutes to get to Avitar. Staff was friendly and helpful. Though facing the main street, we weren't disturbed by the traffic at all. Breakfast was also ok.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank terryt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beds were tiny, breakfast was awful unless u like hot dogs with scrambled egg with pasta in it, location is about 5km from city would not stay here again we see much nicer hotels in the city of Riga but avoid the avitar

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren_briggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Medium hotel, parking is suitalble. Simple, but clean room, clean bathroom. Breakfast is enough. Good hotel for 1 night stay, a bit far from the center. The girl in reception was very nice. Waitresses in restorant were included in they personal conversations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
3.2 km away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#57 of 112 in Riga
464 reviews
3 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#48 of 112 in Riga
198 reviews
1.9 km away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#62 of 112 in Riga
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Skanste
Hotel Skanste
#104 of 112 in Riga
101 reviews
1.5 km away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#44 of 112 in Riga
606 reviews
1.6 km away
Mosaic Hotel
Mosaic Hotel
#54 of 112 in Riga
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avitar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avitar Hotel

Address: Krishjana Valdemara iela 127, Riga 1013, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: $30 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avitar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avitar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avitar Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing