We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs spruce up and staff training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The hotel is in a great location but could do with a refurb - it's a bit 1980's in the reception area and some parts need repair - broken balcony in our room/lights not working etc.

Clean & does the job.

The staff were really surly and not terribly helpful but they did a fair job.

Breakfast was good - though again the service was a bit hit and miss.

The suite was enormous - huge bed/ sofa bed & enough room for a party!

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking the square or main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BadgerFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

The perfect hotel to stay if you are visiting Riga. Located as centrally as possible, in the middle of the old town. Get out of the front door and then you're in the middle of Riga's vibrant nightlife. And yet it's not noisy there.

The hotel is very high standard. Big, great room. Very clean. Daily cleaning. Helpful and friendly staff. Only improvement potential is the breakfast, which was boring and small.

This hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLMOslo_Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Pleasantly surprised - the room was spacious and a very good desk for work! All staff was helpful and truly forthcoming - thank you!
As I work, I would love double power outlets and not only single as when travelling on business one need electricity to more devices at any one time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagfinnAMork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

First you need to know that Riga is a noisy place and a bit of a party town. Certainly this hotel gets quite a lot of the noise too.
Now you can get around that, but to go to the next level, things should be working. The safe still doesn't work despite asking, and several parts of the barrier between the outside barrier beyond the window, and certain death, are missing !
The room itself, a large room on a corner with double aspect windows was fine.
Two breakfast cereals had chocolate in, which for some of you would be a welcomed thing, but not for me I'm afraid. And a truly great place would have found me a room even when I appeared an hour and a half before check in time, and not stick to the letter of the law.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

My second stay at this hotel in a couple of months. This was definitely my last. Sad to say, but the service has dropped significantly since April. The so-called 5-stars they give themselves does not make up to the standard you will find at any 2-starred hotel.

Welcomed by the front desk trying to trick me to paying in cash only (they said the card reader didn't work - it did), a heavily stained bed sheet (see pic) which that they didn't change, and a receptionist arguing that the sauna is not complimentary even if my room folder states that it's "free of charge for all guests staying at the hotel".

Apparently customers have nothing to say here. Breakfast staff served me cappuccino 3 days in a row during my last stay, but when asking for a cup this time, they answered impolitely that they've never served this.

Do not fall for the employees tricks here, at least I'm not staying at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reisedreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately we are here for 10 days, and I'll tell you that the hotel does not correspond to 5 stars, I would give this hotel 3 stars. I will say why, there are no foreign languages ​​in the TV, there is no news in English BBC and EURONEWS. Only Russian and Latvian. Much that I noticed an example when we returned back to the Hotel by 12am, then the lights are off in the corridors, all the lights are turned off for the night, I noticed the girls who clean the rooms, it's very audible how they swear at not pleasant words. Well in our room the glass near the tables is broken. The ceiling on top of the lamp does not look so sure if it does not fall. Well, we had a friend then he has in the room, even a phone to call to the reception, does not work. TV does not work. Where is the boss of this hotel, and why is there no order.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank BOhh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The day we were checking in they said that credit cards cannot be accepted due to some technical issues. That was the very first "surprise" and that was not it. We had no cash with us. I asked the lobby whether it's possible to pay later, cause first we wanted to get some rest after the flight. They replied that it's not in their policy and we have to pay before checking in. So to receive the key to the hotel room that we have already booked, we had to find cash in a city we've never visited before. When we finally got into our room first thing that didn't work was the safe-box, which they finally fixed after my calls to the lobby but still it was too complicated to use. Then we found out that the fridge (which was also a mini-bar) is not working at all, I mean totally. The idea of cooling our champagne was ruined. Again I had to call to the lobby. Few minutes later porter arrived to examine the fridge. His offer was to bring me some Ice in a bucket, which he could not find later by the way. I suppose the fridge has not been working for ages in this "Royal" Hotel.
During our 2 day stay in this horrible place I heard from my neighbors that their fridges are not working as well and the electronic keys to their room malfunction (they literally had to ask the lobby 3 times to get inside of their room).
The day we were checking out I asked the lobby call for a taxi to transfer us to the airport. What arrived was not a regular taxi with any taxi sings. It was a black Mercedes Benz which cost us 20 Eur. The driver was their worker which is obvious.
Worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank big i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.4 km away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#18 of 110 in Riga
261 reviews
0.1 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 110 in Riga
802 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 110 in Riga
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Gallery Park Hotel & Spa, a Chateaux & Hotels Collection
0.3 km away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
0.9 km away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 110 in Riga
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Square Hotel & Suites

Address: Kalku iela 3a, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Riga
#18 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#41 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming five star Royal Square Hotel & Suites is situated in the main street of the Old Town of Riga with the convenience of an international airport just 15 km away. Is ideally located for those who want to relax, explore or do business.Facilities and services meet the needs of today’s traveler - the rooms are spacious and bright, fully furnished in European style with a private sauna and natural fireplace in suites.The fine dining restaurant Desiderata, where you can taste gourmet menu, will be at your service. The Royal Square Hotel & Suites your home in Riga with comfort in heart of Riga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Square Hotel Riga
Royal Square Hotel And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing