We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
178
63
11
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
63
11
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingcarob breadrolling hillshonesty barperfect place to get awayoff the beaten trackswimming poolorange and lemon treesfresh local produceexcellent hospitalityget away from it allrural locationa lovely place to staynearest towneach morninglovely poolgreat hosts
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 264 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2017

Booked for 11 of us to stay for a hen-do and can say that it was all absolutely perfect. The views are breathtaking (pictures definitely don't do it justice), the rooms were ideal as we could all stay close together, AC was a positive as the weather was an absolute delight, the food was incredible and the staff were so welcoming and hospitable.
The pool area was lovely and close to the bar and the sangria!! Joao and Francisco have really hit the nail on the head with Herdade da Corte as it is so peaceful and stress free, but also easy to get to Tavira if you're looking for a bit of a buzz and only 20 euros in a taxi if you haven't rented a car. Beatriz and Paulo and everyone else made the stay so enjoyable, always willing to have a chat with a big smile on their faces! Joao was so helpful throughout the whole booking process and always willing to give any information needed - absolute hero. Will definitely be coming back when in need of beautiful food and wine, beautiful views and some peace of mind! 100% recommended! The only thing I would recommend would be some food to be available at lunch times, but when we asked for some bread and olives they were more than happy to provide them! All in all it was perfect and the bride-to-be left with a smile on her face - mission accomplished!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jegoddard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

I booked this place thinking that it could be a great location far from the confusion but though not so much that we could still go to the seaside without trouble. Indeed this is quite the case even though it is difficult to arrive as the indications given by Google are not at all accurate!! Once you get to the place ask the team there for further information on the best road to reach them! However the location in my opinione is not worth the price. For such a high price I was expecting more!
Rooms could be better in terms of furniture and care for details but what was more disappointing was the lack of noise insulation - we could clearly hear what people were saying in the other rooms!! The second big disappointment was the breakfast. I was expecting to have a much more wide variety of things to choose from! More fresh fruit and not only already prepared, more bread types, better selection of yoghurt and cereals... I was expecting more! Something really good was the freshly squeezed orange juice everyday!!
The other thing not so good is the fact that some rooms are 900 m away from the main location and you do need the car. That's not so convenient.
Dinner in the "eira" outside when it is not so cold is quite nice!
João e Francisco are very nice people and caring for their guests! However not enough to change this review to a positive one unfortunately.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank monikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

This lovely property is set in the hills outside Tavira, where you can enjoy peace and quiet. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not your place. If you are looking for a place to enjoy nature in a lovely inn, offering a clean, comfortable setting away from the hustle, bustle of the city - this is it. Set among hills of cork, olive & fruit trees, you can enjoy breakfast or dinner on their raised outdoor deck and enjoy the clean air and variety of birds. They have a lovely, sparkling pool and sunbathing chairs that we usually had all to ourselves. Our apartment (in the annex a short distance away from the main building) was immaculate and well-maintained. We had some trouble with our rental car, and it ended up having to be towed away, but the manager on duty was kind enough to call the rental agency, and arrange for them to come out and take us to the nearest airport for a replacement car. He wasted a half hour of his time taking care of this, and we surely appreciated his help, as we do not speak Portuguese. These people are kind and sensitive to their guests needs. We highly recommended the property and the innkeepers.

Room Tip: Rooms available in the main building, and apartments in the annex
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagabondTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay if you wish to escape the crowds. Accommodation is split over 2 sites some 700m apart and believe me you won't want to walk it.
My only concern was that all staff leave site between 11pm to 7.30 am, there are no emergency facilities and mobile signal is poor at best so there is a degree of vulnerability.
I would imagine that this hotel is beautiful in spring so I might have to test the theory!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Location is super if you love being in the countryside. Enjoyed the stay. Staff are friendly and very helpful.
These are things that struck us but maybe we are a little odd!
The main hotel is about a km away on a windy road if you are without a car. It is not staffed at night so being locked out of your room at 2am proved to be exciting.
There is no kettle or coffee/tea facilities in the rooms. There is a fridge however. You have to share clothes dryers. The outlook from the front faces the road which maybe was built later so that wasn't the idea. They are hardly any cars but a stark reminder that you are not cut off from the world! Rooms are comfy but a little haphazardly furnished eg: no bedside table but had a tv! If you are foodie, suggest you miss the dinners.
Whole place could be made nicer with a bit more thought, some real flowers, plants and more local products.

Room Tip: If you have a car, choose the suites/rooms a km away but see points in review.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews