We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,269)
Filter reviews
1,269 results
Traveller rating
330
593
264
60
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
593
264
60
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river pool view roman bridge sister hotel buffet breakfast bar prices large hotel bed and breakfast basis town centre reception staff lovely hotel third floor room safe golf trip tourist train salt pans evening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,269 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rooms here were nice, but quite generic. Rooms and hotel are new and nice and clean. Large pool and likely a good place for kids. Lots of tour buses seem to use this hotel. Good location. We stayed one night at the end of a cycling trip, but if we were staying longer and coming to the town again we would look for something more boutique.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Vila Gale Tavira.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

What to say that we enjoyed. We are in are 70s.
We went B&B, Hotel was fine, but bar is a little dismal, a large beer is about 4 euros, a club sandwich 9 euros.
Tavira seems to be changing into Tapas and Pasteleria cafe’s. For lunch or tea, try Pronto de Comer, it’s basic but good, he will show you what’s in the bain-marie’s, try the Beef with Mushrooms and Rice small, large, portions real trad food and it’s 50 yds from the Hotel.
Walk around the back of the Hotel for the Market experience, lots of locals, tapas cafes fresh food, roast chestnuts, and a big Flea Market on Sat morning.
Shopping, back of the Hotel and a 20min walk over the bridge, or taxi via reception @ 4 euro’s, taxis park outside for return, great shopping Plaza lots of different things lots of food outlets and a cinema.
Try the free bus to Villa Gale Albacore, check with reception for times, church, Tuna museum, Big pool, lots of sun beds, little beach, water taxi to the sand bar.
Beach, via the 2 euro ferry, 200 yds from Hotel, sun beds and a parasol, 12 euros, wonderful beach, and a little cruise.
Try Olhao or Villa Real, via the train, ten min walk to the station.
Taxis are easy and reasonably cheap, reception will book for you.
WiFi was good in the room, it’s free, take your laptop and a hdmi cable, plug in, select source, an you can watch you tube movies.
Hope it’s of some use.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LesH585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel and area facilities , every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé Tavira.

Kind regards

Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018

Vila Gale is one of the best hotels in Tavira. Right downtown, great walking distance to everything. It does not have the typical downtown feel. Its not on a busy street and in general we liked this location. Tavira is an quiet town that easy to walk around. Many people who come here are past customers. They like it so much they come back as they know what to expect. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room tip: A view of the pool is good.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322randallb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Guest,
The comments that you have left us are the result of a lot of commitment from our fabulous Team of work. We want to exceed customer expectations and we are very pleased that the service and product are to your liking.
Thank you for your wonderdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
looking forward to welcome you again
kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

October is definitely the month for older people (not sure what it's like earlier in the year).

Pro's
- fantastic pool area (large pool and loads of loungers)
- great breakfast buffet
- very clean
- welcoming / helpful reception staff
- brilliant location (only a 5min walk to main shops/ferry to beach
- given a towel for the pool/beach

Cons
- breakfast time can get busy and tables aren't cleared very quickly for waiting customers
- bar area and restaurant in need of refurb. VERY drab and depressing
- bar staff very grumpy
- bar closes at 12pm
- entertainment/atmosphere in bar dreadful unless you're aged 100!
- have to pay for safe in room

Would I recommend - yes but mostly due to the location.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear Client,
For Vila Galé the comments of all our clients are of vital importance, because it is these comments that help us to obtain the constant improvement of our services.
That being said, and although they highlight the positive notes about our Staff and our rooms, we will not fail to analyze the rest.
Hoping to be able to welcome you again in Vila Galé Tavira, or in any other Vila Galé Always Near You,
We look forward to your visit.
Best regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

We had such a lovely week in this hotel - nice friendly staff all round the hotel. Beware that water in the fridge is not complimentary though. Ours was left on our table not the fridge so luckily we had the money refunded by an understanding member of staff when we explained.
Our room was clean with comfortable beds but unfortunately was next to a very loud banging door. We weren't sure if a service door or just older people getting up very early but it banged constantly from 5.30/6am - not ideal when hotel stays are all about rest and getting a good lie-in. It woke us up every morning hours before our 4-yr-old daughter did and we had asked for a quiet room.
Overall a great place with nice food (we ate a la carte) but bring ear plugs.
The facilities for children were also quiet old and tired when the rest of the hotel seemed well kept. Not a lot of children there though. Mostly pensioners on bus tours in October so I think we were out of season for the activities.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DickTurpin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, every comment that we receive allow us to constantly improve our standards and service.
We took good notice of all your comments, and took all the measures to correct them.
We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews