We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fazenda Nova Country House
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Myself and my husband stayed at this gorgeous hotel for three nights. I have no faults of this hotel, the rooms were amazing, attention to every detail, the shower splendid, the garden gorgeous, over looking the olive trees. The list is endless. The staff are really friendly and are always happy to give advice on the local area, be it beaches, restaurants etc. as soon as you enter through the gates you really do feel a sense of calm. Fazenda Nova is quite a way off the beaten track (which we loved, it was so quiet and peaceful) but you do really need a car to get around. If you are looking for a hotel, where you can curl up and read a book to nothing but the sound of birds, this is the place for you, we loved it!

Room Tip: Garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank H0llyd20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015

First and foremost the country house is beautifully set on a working farm where Hallie and Tim make their own olive oil...amazing. The house is an eclectic mix of modern and rustic. I seriously wanted to move in. We got in at 11:30pm on a Thursday night and Diego came out to greet us. He immediately poured us both drinks and gave us a tour of the hotel. He was seriously so nice and welcoming. We stayed in room 2, which was attached to the main house. The breakfast was great... fresh fruit, pastries, the best yogurt ever (per my husband), cheese, and meats. The next day Diego gave us a list of places to see and local recommendations. That night we came back for a bbq at the hotel, which was really nice! After dinner they lit us a fire in our personal fire pit and we just hung out and drank wine outside of our room. So perfect! The next day we went out shopping and ate lunch at a place that Aline recommended in Olhao, which was awesome and took a ferry to small beach. Overall, our stay was seriously the best! The property is beautiful, the owners are awesome and the staff are genuinely the nicest! Huge thanks to Hallie, Tim, Diego, and Aline! You have us dreaming about our next visit to Fazenda Nova.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Tim and Hallie, and their team, have created something special at Fazenda Nova: an oasis of calm in a wonderfully quiet and peaceful location. You feel right at home from the first moment and everything is at your fingertips. The service by Diego and Aline (and the others) is impeccable - they're always there but never really visible or intrusive. First class.

The Fazenda has such a relaxed vibe that once the gates shut, you feel in a different world. For people who really want to chill out and focus on the simple things in life, or on each other, this is a fantastic place.

The suites are spacious and very nicely decorated, the beds are gorgeous. Everything is simple yet super elegant with clean lines, no clutter and wonderful materials. The food is gorgeous too. We had a few dinners at the Fazenda and everything we tried was very tasty, with nice combinations of cuisines and selection of wines. The breakfast is awesome and I would recommend the barbeque on Friday evening.

The area around Tavira is much different to the other side of the Algarve which is much more touristy. The Eastern Algarve is a little sleepier, more local and much more calm. The Fazenda team will have great recommendations for you what to do and where to go during the day (or at night). The beaches are unspoilt and only a short drive away. I'd also recommend a day trip to Seville which is about 1.5 hours away.

The Fazenda oozes class and charm yet is simple and very friendly. The place is gorgeous, the setting serene but the people make it a home. If you're thinking of going to the Algarve I highly recommend spending a few days or more at Fazenda Nova - you'll have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We (myself and some girl friends) chose this short break to "get away from it all" and staying at Fazenda Nova was absolutely fantastic. What Hallie and Tim have created is a small piece of luxury in this mad world that we live in. The attention to detail of the design, the informal approach to everything, from it's great food, superb ambience and excellent team just wanting to make your stay the best possible, is achieved in spades. If you stay you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Garden rooms have their own fire pit outside overlooking acres of olive trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

The only aspect of my trip to Algarve in april was the weather. It was not good, even raining from time to time. But that did not ruin my stay in Fazenda Nova. The room we had was just stunning and spacious, and very quiet at night. We could hear the birds in the morning as we woke up. The bed was of high quality which I consider of major importance in any hotel or B&B. So was the shower, the second most relevant item in any room. The Fazenda is quite small but carefully designed and attracts couples mostly which certainly guarantees a relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast lunch and dinner were of high quality and swiftly served with a ever present smile by the staff. The pool is just to cool off I suppose since it is not very big. But it will do. It needs a bit of paint, but that was the only flaw I could find. The area is very rural and you cannot just walk out the door. Biking is possible, but I felt the driving of the locals was more than enough reason not to try. The garden of Fazenda is large and full of magnificent plants and flowers. It is a wonderful place to relax and read a book or two.

A whole different story compared to the west of the Algarve, which is completely destroyed by cheap mass tourism. I just hope it can remain as it is.

Room Tip: Try a garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ELREY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

There is nothing to beat the hands on commitment of talented and enthusiastic owners. A lovely spot and convenient location - above all a single minded vision to create something special. Great locally inspired food and very friendly and efficient staff - on rails. Only tiny gripe was that out room was a bit gloomy - although on a baking hot day (ours was not) that might be a good thing!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

First impressions of this beautiful and calming property are of the attention given to every aspect of the buildings, gardens, rooms, furnishing and, last but not least, the friendly and attentive service. A tall order for a first impression but it delivers from the moment the gates are opened, you drive through the olive, fruit and almond orchards, are welcomed and walk into the main reception room for a drink.
The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable and it was lovely to be able to relax either in the garden outside the room or in the extensive grounds surrounding the hotel.
The continental breakfast comprised of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, meats and cheeses and dinner was offered on most evenings. All of our meals featured local dishes and local produce and were really enjoyable but of course there are also some great restaurants and cafes nearby notably those serving locally caught fish.
Hollie and Tim are to be congratulated on creating such a beautiful haven and if I have one regret it is that I had insufficient time to explore the vinyl record library!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
4.2 km away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
539 reviews
9.1 km away
Pousada Convento Tavira
3.5 km away
Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,145 reviews
25.1 km away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
317 reviews
9.2 km away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#1 of 7 in Olhao
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fazenda Nova Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fazenda Nova Country House

Address: Rua Santo Estevao, Tavira 8800-386, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Tavira
Price Range: $347 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fazenda Nova Is A Luxury Ten Suite Boutique Hideaway In The Heart Of The Eastern Algarve Countryside Near Tavira. This Is The Authentic Algarve Of Rolling Countryside, Of Salt Pans, Of Small Bustling Towns And Characterful Fishing Ports And A Wide Range Of Beaches That Form Part Of The Unesco-protected Ria Formosa Coastline As It Sweeps Down To Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Fazenda Nova Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing