We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
101
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsren toiletriesolive oilshare tipshuge walk in showerarmona islandpeace and tranquilityrainfall showerfriend's homeyour disposalread a bookboutique hotellocal beachesbeach towelsgardens are beautifulprivate terraceget away from it allthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 111 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2018 via mobile

Following an aborted trip to Fazenda Nova in March due to the Beast from the East (v2.0) - we finally arrived at this luxury retreat for 9 nights in May. The snow in March was a blessing in disguise as the weather in May was perfect and the wild flowers in the Algarve were at their best.
Hallie was great at the time and regularly kept in touch whilst we attempted to leave Bristol Airport - and ultimately agreed to hold our deposit for a further trip in a few weeks once it became clear that we wouldn’t make it.
Turning to the hotel, we stayed in room 11 which is one of the new suites with a private terrace. A beautiful well appointed room with huge wardrobes which hid all of our stuff!
Very clean and contemporary but with eclectic touches and very stylish overall - indeed throughout the hotel.
We also loved the vinyl room and spent a few hours there spinning some 80’s tunes on the decks!
Of particular note is the fantastic team that Hallie has working at Fazenda Nova. Special mention to the very patient Diego (I’m a fussy vegetarian!), Gabriella and Veronica.
After 9 nights there we almost felt like part of the family and that’s a credit to Hallie and her team.
Finally we had some lovely trips out to Seville (just over an hour and a half away); St Vincent’s Lighthouse (most south westerly point of Europe) which was superb to include a private tour of the lighthouse itself; Armona Island (boat from Olhão) and close by Tavira which is a very pretty town with good restaurants (recommend Aquasul).

Highly recommended for couples.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018

Simply one of the most special places I have ever stayed. The rooms are lovely, the staff is superb and the food is excellent. But what really sets this apart is the wonderful grounds and places to just be and watch the birds and the sunsets. A very peaceful special place.

Room Tip: I would spring for a room outside the main building. Worth every penny.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 818mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in an apartment room for 8 nights in late April and early May 18. The apartment, house and gardens were very well appointed and the staff exceptionally helpful. The inclusive breakfast was superb. For us the main let down was the in-house chef. We eat dinner twice at the house and both times (fish and steak) the food was under-cooked. The steak had to be sent back twice! We booked via Mr and Mrs Smith, but based on our experience with them (a long story) we would recommend booking direct with Fazenda Nova.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Wardsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Comfortable rooms, relaxing atmosphere, great food and welcoming, friendly staff. Within an easy drive of fabulous beaches and historic sites. A heated, salt pool and ample sun beds abound. The rooms are thoughtful and quirky but very modern and spacious. It's also a working farm producing herbs, vegetable and olive oil. A 1000 record vinyl collection at your disposal ... do yourself a favour.

Room Tip: They're all grreat but the garden rooms have secluded outside areas to sit. The hotel is very quite and peacful.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_anselmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Me and my boyfriend stayed here over the Easter weekend we'd had a long drive down from Lisbon and arriving here was like stepping into tranquility. The country house is so stylishly decorated and has a really comfortable relaxed feel. The staff were so kind and made us lunch outside of their normal serving hours when we arrived. The gardens are beautiful and large enough for far more guests than the hotel allows so you never feel like you're on top of anyone else staying there and can find peace and quiet in the surroundings. I would highly recommend staying here - it's close enough to all of the beautiful Rio Formosa beaches so exploring is easy, in the height of summer it would be even better.

Room Tip: Most rooms have their own gardens we were in a loft suite which was gorgeous but didn't have it's own garden.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews